List Mgmt. 2022 Trade & List Management Thread

Nope. Reckon his ceiling is higher than both of theirs. For one, he's already had 2 30 goal seasons. Black had 1 and Wood had none. Reckon it's also a bit disingenuous to call him inconsistent given he had a 15 game streak where he scored at least one goal every game. For the bottom side. During the worst run of form for any team in league history. Add to that the fact that we have * all else in the forward line, and we absolutely cannot afford to lose him. When we improve, he becomes a lock for 40 goals every season
I don’t think it’s disingenuous to call him inconsistent he is very hot and cold. Ps I actually hope he stays but I couldn’t help noticing the similarities.

Considering we re-signed him to a new deal I’d say we would say no.

Personally if we got a pick inside 30
For him I wouldn’t be able to say yes quick enough. Then I’d target Meek from Freo.
Why wouldn’t the people who are after X just go straight to Meek instead of overpaying us so we can upgrade our ruck stocks?

I’m tipping that’s exactly what will happen.

Outside of Grundy, the ruck merry go round will be centred around 2nd stringers like Lloyd Meek, Sam Hayes, and Jordan Sweet.

Seems like it'll be an unpopular opinion but I genuinely don't think Gunston is a best 22 player in our side for next year.

Curtis Larkey Zurhaar
Thomas CCJ/Comben JHF/Ford

If we draft Sheezel or another small/mid-size forward like Konstanty or Munkara, throw them into the mix.

I'm not playing him ahead of any of the guys listed above. He'll be 31 next season, has missed 6, 21 and 6 games in the last 3 seasons and applies very little defensive pressure.

No thanks.
Eddie Ford isn't fit to tie Gunston laces at the minute. I like Eddie, but to think he will come in next year and play good regular senior footy where he regularly kicks multiple goals is unlikely. That and Comben has played 2 games. I like him too, but he will play some good games and some bad games. Maybe even head down to the VFL for a spell.

If Comben doesn’t get up again next year, it would be reprehensible to have the same forward setup as this season and so much reliance on Comben staying fit.

Comben might be past his injury worries, but Gunston would come across as a Free Agent, would provide good support for all the forwards and is a substantial upgrade on Ziebells output this year.

Where is our insurance if Larkey goes down?

Without giving up any draft capital, it is a quick way to provide better list balance and time for the KPF draftees to develop underneath.

Larkey and Gunston are not close to playing the same role. Larkey is a genuine key forward who can compete in contested situations, either marking or getting it to ground. Gunston hasn't averaged 1 contested mark a game since 2016.

If we're wanting to address our key position forward stocks then we should do that, but expecting Gunston to fill that role would be a big mistake.

Gunston isn't coming to our club to be insurance.

Would not be relying on Comben. Sure he is talented but part of being an AFL player is durability which is not a strength so far for him. I would try and bring across a capable experienced forward to help teach and guide our young forwards for a year or two . Now we have a very capable coach I am sure he will work out something. How many delistings will be made will be interesting I would say between 5 to maybe even as high as 7.

there is a premiership forward only a free agent selection away and you worry about his negative impact on the youth around him...

it crowd moss GIF
Horrid argument.

Premiership defender Fletcher Roberts is only a late-selection away too.

Gunston brings running patterns and nous that he can teach the other lads...

There's nothing wrong with our running patterns or nous.

There's plenty wrong with our ball movement, particularly delivery inside 50m and ability to lock the ball in there.

The first issue can come a long way with a clear game-plan that the players can execute and key focus on skills over the pre-season.

The second issue isn't being fixed with a guy who laid 0 tackles in 6/16 games this season and has averaged 1.4 tackles in his last 2 seasons.

Mate, you're obviously much more qualified than I am to make judgements about selectability of players, so I'm curious:
1) CCJ as an actual key forward: how confident are you that he will ever make it?
2) Comben: needs a lot more conditioning etc and has been injury prone - do we really want to gamble another season without the insurance of a third key forward, particularly one whose actually proven themselves?
3) what is the downside of bringing in Gunston? We must be as close to hitting the floor of the salary cap of any team. Why not just replace any one of half a dozen OOC subpar medium forwards list spots with his?
4) I did a little research earlier in the year and found that most top 8 teams have 4 key forwards. If we classify CCJ as a key forward first and foremost, instead of a ruck, (which in itself is contrary to the NM marketing spiel when he came across) then we still only have 3. Surely it makes sense to add another key forward to the list? Surely he fits the bill of experience and proven work ethic that the club has been crying out for?
we need the experience down forward; especially with ziebel playing in the magoos for most of next year.
Gunston is easily a 1-3 goal a game player for us which'll be huge and offers some stability that we just dont have.
Even if he doesnt play every game then the leadership at training in the position will be helpful too.
Comben just isnt there yet and it seems like Ziebel is happy to crash tackle his own teammates atm as we saw in the GC game.

There's nothing wrong with our running patterns or nous.

There's plenty wrong with our ball movement, particularly delivery inside 50m and ability to lock the ball in there.

The first issue can come a long way with a clear game-plan that the players can execute and key focus on skills over the pre-season.

The second issue isn't being fixed with a guy who laid 0 tackles in 6/16 games this season and averaged 1.4 tackles in his last 2 seasons.
I never said we should 100% draft him
Our forward running patterns are horrid, we constantly run into each others areas and therefor never have the right space for our forwards to use their craft
We need a small forward who can stick a tackle as a high priority
Actually having a "game plan" will hopefully fix all of our issues

Souup

Lewis Melican

Thoughts?

Mate, you're obviously much more qualified than I am to make judgements about selectability of players, so I'm curious:
1) CCJ as an actual key forward: how confident are you that he will ever make it?
2) Comben: needs a lot more conditioning etc and has been injury prone - do we really want to gamble another season without the insurance of a third key forward, particularly one whose actually proven themselves?
3) what is the downside of bringing in Gunston? We must be as close to hitting the floor of the salary cap of any team. Why not just replace any one of half a dozen OOC subpar medium forwards list spots with his?
4) I did a little research earlier in the year and found that most top 8 teams have 4 key forwards. If we classify CCJ as a key forward first and foremost, instead of a ruck, (which in itself is contrary to the NM marketing spiel when he came across) then we still only have 3. Surely it makes sense to add another key forward to the list? Surely he fits the bill of experience and proven work ethic that the club has been crying out for?

1) I really like CCJ. He had 4/8 senior games in 2021 where he kicked 2 or more goals for Richmond, playing the same role he did for us this year. Only difference is this year he played for statistically one of the worst of all time.
2) I agree that we need depth with key forwards, but Gunston is not a key forward, so we need to look elsewhere.
3) He's well past his best and will probably want at least a 2-year contract on decent money. I don't think the risk of him on a 2-year contract is worth it and I wouldn't have him in our best 22.
4) Same as 2 - he's not a key forward.

Unpopular?

To say Gunston wouldn't be best 22 at the NMFC in 2023 is borderline delusional.

If you were saying he may take games from a younger player like Ford and that could be detrimental to Ford's longer term development - sure. That's an issue with recruiting any 30 plus player.

But not only would Gunston be best 22 next year for us - he would be our most effective forward by the length of the Flemington straight.
Correct in every respect. But you would think a team with a hole and more advanced than us is probably more likely sadly.

1) I really like CCJ. He had 4/8 senior games in 2021 where he kicked 2 or more goals for Richmond, playing the same role he did for us this year. Only difference is this year he played for statistically one of the worst of all time.
2) I agree that we need depth with key forwards, but Gunston is not a key forward, so we need to look elsewhere.
3) He's well past his best and will probably want at least a 2-year contract on decent money. I don't think the risk of him on a 2-year contract is worth it and I wouldn't have him in our best 22.
4) Same as 2 - he's not a key forward.
Appreciate that response mate.
Can you just clarify what you mean when you say Gunston isn't a key forward? Do you mean he's not tall enough, or he doesn't have enough goal kicking prowess, or is he lacking in some aspect athletically?