List Mgmt. 2023 Draft & Trade Hypotheticals

Key Trade & Draft Dates
Key Dates:

Trade Period, October 6–18
  • Restricted & Unrestricted Free Agency Period: Friday, October 6, 9am – Friday October 13, 5pm (bid matching ends Monday October 16, 5pm)
  • Trade Period (1), picks & players: Monday, October 9, 9am – Wednesday October 18, 7.30pm
Quiet Period, October 19–November 20
  • Trade Period (2), picks only: Monday, October 23, 9am – Friday November 10, 5pm
  • List Lodgement 1*: Tuesday, October 31, 2pm
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (1): Wednesday, November 1, 9am – Wednesday November 8, 5pm
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (2): Friday, November 10, 9am–5pm
  • List Lodgement 2*: Tuesday, November 14, 2pm
Draft Period, November 20–22
  • Round 1 of the National Draft: Monday, November 20, time and venue TBA
  • Trade Period (3), picks only: Tuesday, November 21, 5.45pm–6.30pm
  • Round 2–end of the National Draft: Tuesday, November 21, 7pm until completion
  • Rookie Promotions: Tuesday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (3): Tuesday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • List Lodgement 3*: Wednesday, November 22, 10am (optional; required for those participating in the PSD)
  • Pre-Season Draft: Wednesday, November 22, 3pm
  • Rookie Draft: Wednesday, November 22, 3.20pm
  • Final List Lodgement*: Thursday, November 23, 4pm
* List lodgement dates are yet to be made public, so are approximate based on past history and the requirements of the AFL Rules. When lists are lodged, the number of players on the list must not exceed maximum list sizes. At the same time, clubs must provide the AFL with estimates of total player payments in the current and following year, which must prove the club is not and will not exceed the salary cap. (AFL Rules 5.3, 6.1, 6.8, 7.2, 7.9)

For what it's worth, I was about to argue that Ladhams has been in the system longer than TDK but then looked it up and discovered that they were both in the 2017 draft. Furthermore, TDK went at pick 30 while Ladhams was a rookie pick. That torpedoed anything I was about to argue

Ladhams really isn't old (25) which is nowhere near the peak for a ruckman.

If he can get his head screwed on right he will be a great player for quite a long time.

For what it's worth, I was about to argue that Ladhams has been in the system longer than TDK but then looked it up and discovered that they were both in the 2017 draft. Furthermore, TDK went at pick 30 while Ladhams was a rookie pick. That torpedoed anything I was about to argue
Yup, Ladhams was 2016.

The rookie draft has usually been late in the year so has regularly been referred to as the following years draft.

I hate to be an armchair clinician but it seems to me that personality wise, Ladhams is the direct opposite of the laid back, laconic Sinclair. He seems troubled and I suspect he needs to feel supported by the coaches and player group to show his best.

I suspect that the fact the players got behind and supported him after last years final series, was a very important and positive move.

A few have said it but Naughton is the obvious target. The dogs have so many good young talks on thier list and will have to lose one or two at some point. Naughton fits as the one they would be most able to come in and replace some of the experience we'd be losing.

I hate to be an armchair clinician but it seems to me that personality wise, Ladhams is the direct opposite of the laid back, laconic Sinclair. He seems troubled and I suspect he needs to feel supported by the coaches and player group to show his best.

I suspect that the fact the players got behind and supported him after last years final series, was a very important and positive move.
There was an interview with Ladhams when he arrived at the Swans and he spoke quite well;

I said at the time;
Few stories of him enjoying the party life, shocker of a haircut and the tatts.
Let my prejudices get the better of me. I was expecting a bogan.
He actually spoke well and came across as a grounded guy.

I don't think he suffers from 'white line fever' but rather gets frustrated out on the field and loses his cool.
I can somewhat understand losing it against his old club, but getting suspended in the reserves for a totally needless and pointless action was just dumb.

TheMase suggested yesterday that Ladhams may have now spent some time with a sports psychologist and that if Ladhams "can keep that level of controlled aggression he will be a very good player for us".

The game against Carlton was a pleasing start.

There was an interview with Ladhams when he arrived at the Swans and he spoke quite well;

I said at the time;
Few stories of him enjoying the party life, shocker of a haircut and the tatts.
Let my prejudices get the better of me. I was expecting a bogan.
He actually spoke well and came across as a grounded guy.

I don't think he suffers from 'white line fever' but rather gets frustrated out on the field and loses his cool.
I can somewhat understand losing it against his old club, but getting suspended in the reserves for a totally needless and pointless action was just dumb.

TheMase suggested yesterday that Ladhams may have now spent some time with a sports psychologist and that if Ladhams "can keep that level of controlled aggression he will be a very good player for us".

The game against Carlton was a pleasing start.
In the port match interview, Gulden specifically said he loves playing with Ladhams. That is an endorsement.

A few have said it but Naughton is the obvious target. The dogs have so many good young talks on thier list and will have to lose one or two at some point. Naughton fits as the one they would be most able to come in and replace some of the experience we'd be losing.
Im a big fan of chasing Naughton.. His style of play is very different and complimentary to McDonald.
Footywire states that;
Ugle-Hagan, English and Naughton - contracted to 2024
Darcey and Bruce - 2023
Lobb - 2026
I would guess that Darcey and Ugle hagans next contracts are gonna be decent as a few clubs will chase them. English probably in the same boat. And Lobb is contracted for a few more years yet
So Lobb staying, and English will be in the ruck.
Only two of Naughton, Darcey and JUH can play forward - All will be very expensive in years to come.. can the dogs afford all three?

Im a big fan of chasing Naughton.. His style of play is very different and complimentary to McDonald.
Footywire states that;
Ugle-Hagan, English and Naughton - contracted to 2024
Darcey and Bruce - 2023
Lobb - 2026
I would guess that Darcey and Ugle hagans next contracts are gonna be decent as a few clubs will chase them. English probably in the same boat. And Lobb is contracted for a few more years yet
So Lobb staying, and English will be in the ruck.
Only two of Naughton, Darcey and JUH can play forward - All will be very expensive in years to come.. can the dogs afford all three?
We had them all in the some forward line against North Melbourne and it worked well. Tim English is the one to watch out for as his partner plays netball in Western Australia he comes out of contract in 2024

Naughton is the proven performer out of that group (Lobb???). Has been the cornerstone of their attack for some time. I reckon it would be dodgy for them to let him go.
English has been the most underperforming ruck in senior footy.
JUH and Darcy are still very young and need Naughton around them.
Bruce will be lucky to get another contract ($ the issue).
No doubt it's worth asking the question but I wouldn't expect a positive outcome.

Naughton is the proven performer out of that group (Lobb???). Has been the cornerstone of their attack for some time. I reckon it would be dodgy for them to let him go.
English has been the most underperforming ruck in senior footy.
JUH and Darcy are still very young and need Naughton around them.
Bruce will be lucky to get another contract ($ the issue).
No doubt it's worth asking the question but I wouldn't expect a positive outcome.
Simon Dalrymple drafted Naughton so wouldn’t surprise me if you guy’s have asked the question

Not sure I'd get too excited about how your forward line functioned against North. Pretty low bar. Give it a couple more games and see.

I think Naughton will be tough to target. I agree that Bulldogs are going to have their work cut out for them hanging on to all their good players but I wonder if JUH isn't viewed as the more expendable of the young KPPs. Also, Naughton would cost a motza. So while I'd be happy to get Naughton, I don't see it happening.