List Mgmt. 2023 Draft & Trade Hypotheticals

Key Trade & Draft Dates
Key Dates:

Trade Period, October 6–18
  • Restricted & Unrestricted Free Agency Period: Friday, October 6, 9am – Friday October 13, 5pm (bid matching ends Monday October 16, 5pm)
  • Trade Period (1), picks & players: Monday, October 9, 9am – Wednesday October 18, 7.30pm
Quiet Period, October 19–November 20
  • Trade Period (2), picks only: Monday, October 23, 9am – Friday November 10, 5pm
  • List Lodgement 1*: Tuesday, October 31, 2pm
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (1): Wednesday, November 1, 9am – Wednesday November 8, 5pm
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (2): Friday, November 10, 9am–5pm
  • List Lodgement 2*: Tuesday, November 14, 2pm
Draft Period, November 20–22
  • Round 1 of the National Draft: Monday, November 20, time and venue TBA
  • Trade Period (3), picks only: Tuesday, November 21, 5.45pm–6.30pm
  • Round 2–end of the National Draft: Tuesday, November 21, 7pm until completion
  • Rookie Promotions: Tuesday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (3): Tuesday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • List Lodgement 3*: Wednesday, November 22, 10am (optional; required for those participating in the PSD)
  • Pre-Season Draft: Wednesday, November 22, 3pm
  • Rookie Draft: Wednesday, November 22, 3.20pm
  • Final List Lodgement*: Thursday, November 23, 4pm
* List lodgement dates are yet to be made public, so are approximate based on past history and the requirements of the AFL Rules. When lists are lodged, the number of players on the list must not exceed maximum list sizes. At the same time, clubs must provide the AFL with estimates of total player payments in the current and following year, which must prove the club is not and will not exceed the salary cap. (AFL Rules 5.3, 6.1, 6.8, 7.2, 7.9)

Interesting that the "experts" rate JJ as a good get for us. I wonder if they are correct, or if they don't know much about our existing list, or both. I certainly hope that he turns out to be a good fit and a best 22 player.
In the Dee’s premiership year, he had around 6 or 7 strong games in a row averaging over 20 touches, and kicking a few goals. If he can regain that form, he’s in our best 22, otherwise he’ll be a solid depth player.

😂 you have no idea who tried to sell who off

Most likely we offered a 1 year deal and he went to see if he could get a better deal and there weren’t many, if any takers.

True. Just guessing 🤔

Still I reckon Wicks merited more than a near derisory one year contract.

In the Dee’s premiership year, he had around 6 or 7 strong games in a row averaging over 20 touches, and kicking a few goals. If he can regain that form, he’s in our best 22, otherwise he’ll be a solid depth player.
If he is in our best 22 then great. He makes our side better. If not he is depth for injuries or setbacks, he makes our side better. If he does not make our best side he is supporting our VFL side. He is still making our side better.

Both 31 next year.
Both missing important game time at this stage of their careers.
Both a year older than at their old club where they finished unable to play senior footy.

Sure, they'll play senior footy, but don't get your hopes up that they'll be in good nick until the end of 2025, not to mention Adams with a further year on his contract.
Grundy & Jordan are great pick ups but Adams from Collingwood stinks of Scott Russell the sequel.
There is a reason the Pies moved him out of the middle.
They won the flag. That's the bench mark.
If he wasn't injured he plays. What's more, when he went to the mids in the Qualifying Final he was the spark

On CPH2471 using BigFooty.com mobile app

I wouldn't have thought so.

If anything I'd have thought what they'd be discussing is the very opposite of a ceiling. They'd be trying to find the very best player they can. Pretty hard to do that if you're looking at them through the lens of what they won't be, rather than what they could be.

I think fans could do with adopting the same mentality. There is so much talk of players ceilings on here it puts a DIY plastering page on the Bunnings site to shame.
There is so much potential on our list. But you have to get more than potential out of them. They have to mature from potential to proven.

In saying that each player has a range of talents they bring to the field. They also have susceptibilities. Those need to be fixed. There are players who don't have much to improve, like Gulden. He is a freak. But others, Fox's handball, Lloyd & Rampe panic kick out of defence, McInerney's decision making, Harry's inability to kick short, Amartey's concentration close to & dropped dollies. But they all have great traits too. Ones that win you games.

On CPH2471 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Cleary will go higher than expected. Both he & McKercher (who bulldogs will hope to get with their 1st) were the prime movers at critical moments for the Allies. Both have leadership potential. Bulldogs would be very happy with a haul of McKercher, Croft & Cleary.
JUH imo will move on for $'s and profile.

Dogs interviewed him for about 2 hrs I'm told. So if a bid comes it might be from them.

The King! posted this earlier in the thread, but I'll post it again

"Player peak occurs around age 27." obviously ymmv

Cleary will go higher than expected. Both he & McKercher (who bulldogs will hope to get with their 1st) were the prime movers at critical moments for the Allies. Both have leadership potential. Bulldogs would be very happy with a haul of McKercher, Croft & Cleary.

He isn't in Twomey's top 30 so he could easily be a late second or early third round selection.

O’Sullivan ranked 10. Is there any chance whatsoever that he can slide down to our pick? I like Schoenmaker & ZZ Top, but looks like O’Sullivan is rated higher?
O'Sullivan is much closer to AFL ready than Abbott or Schoenmaker and probably ZZ. His body is more mature and he is playing more like an AFL player, hence his higher rating. He is unlikely to slide as far as our pick and we are unlikely to be able to trade up.

Dogs will have to do some pick shuffling to be able to take a crack. Doubt very much we will pass and I'm sure they know it.

True. Just guessing 🤔

Still I reckon Wicks merited more than a near derisory one year contract.

I’m not sure he earned a multi year deal

He does a lot of the unrewarded stuff up forward, but he just doesn’t kick enough goals, he needs to do both

If he can step up in 24 then sure, but at the moment he’s occupies a position we need an upgrade in, hence the drafting of Kon

has not got the attacking tools. As Jo the Cameraman would say. “Can’t get his mitts on the ball and can’t dispose of it when he does”.

12 months ago I called Rowy’s ceiling as B Grade. I saw nothing in 2023 to change my view. He does tackle well enough, but is that enough? To progress we must move beyond sub par mids.

I see him as a useful depth player void of elite skills.

Folks need to remember we were one of the worst clearance mobs in 2023. Rowy was our poster boy.

The palpable excitement we experienced when Gus had a bit of time in the mids really showed our very low bar.

imo, to stay on a list Rowy needs to develop some useful tricks beyond pure negation.

Paul Bevan is a premiership player

I’m not sure he earned a multi year deal

He does a lot of the unrewarded stuff up forward, but he just doesn’t kick enough goals, he needs to do both

If he can step up in 24 then sure, but at the moment he’s occupies a position we need an upgrade in, hence the drafting of Kon

Konnie has a long way to go before he is ready for the ones.

Understandable really. I mean it isn't like we did anything in the trade period. Didn't bring in any important players that I can think of.
They're talking to their audience. A Melbourne radio station is not going to prioritise a Sydney team over a Melbourne team. It's the same on Fox footy. I've now just come to accept it as it is.

I’m not bagging Cleary as he’ll certainly be on an afl list next year, and hopefully he will have a fine career in the red and white, but, players of his style without standout traits generally don’t attract early draft bids

There’s been a lot of similar style players in recent years who haven’t been able to take the step up to AFL

Again I’m not having a dig at Cleary, all I’m saying is that I would be surprised if there is a bid for him in the top 30.