Preview 2023 Elimination Final - Carlton vs Sydney Friday 8th Sept 7.50PM @ MCG

Team is in …

IN: Patrick Cripps, Sam Docherty, Marc Pittonet
OUT: Paddy Dow, Corey Durdin, Zac Fisher, Ollie Hollands

After starting the last game as sub, Caleb Marchbank has been elevated into the starting 22.

Backs:Brodie KempJacob WeiteringNic Newman
Half-backs:Alex CincottaMitch McGovernAdam Saad
Centreline:Blake AcresPatrick CrippsSam Docherty
Half-forwards:Jack MartinHarry McKayDavid Cuningham
Forwards:Lachie FogartyCharlie CurnowMatthew Owies
Followers:Marc PittonetAdam CerraSam Walsh
Interchange:Matthew CottrellTom De KoningGeorge Hewett
Caleb Marchbank
Emergencies:Paddy DowZac FisherOllie Hollands
Jesse Motlop

He's kicked 60 goals as a small forward so clearly belongs in the team.

He's captained his club from finishing 16th last year to making the finals this year, set an example and pretty much won a couple of games off his own boot.

The only real opposition was Moore who is hardly inspiring and bontempelli who has captained a supposed top 4 list to missing the finals.

I get that people have pre conceptions about Toby. Based on this year's form and this year's leadership in my eyes he deserved to be the all australian captain.
Preconceptions what?

He's a terrible role model.....

Baggers!!!

Where can we meet, and have a brew b4 it and have a Bagger March of the True Believers to the 'G'? Is it Y&J's? Perce's old pub in Flinders St? Somewhere in Richmond? Or maybe The Royal Oak and then en masse onto a tram down Nicho ? Maybe it's in Lygon, a little 'Lygon St Limbo'? I feel there needs to be a Call To Arms to all Baggers?????
Percy's is now a vegetarian gastro pub called 'the green man's arms'

Royal Oak in Nicholson is full of hipsters.

Great Northern is still a great pub to watch footy in but a long way from the G

Random thought…..could Marchy play the JSOS role?
Similar size, more athletic, better mark, probably not the same footy smarts, but could it be worth a try?
As others have mentioned, I think it’s detrimental to TDK when he has to share the duties with Pitto.

Would of been good to try him there v GWS

Can’t see us trying that in a final…

Preconceptions what?

He's a terrible role model.....
Agreed.

Toby is an amazing footballer. But he is a thug on the field and his attempt to stitch up Weitering was really poor form. Would love him in my side, he would never be the captain though.

I know the AFL is trying to whitewash him to boost interest in GWS in Syd but doesn't mean I have to buy it.

Percy's is now a vegetarian gastro pub called 'the green man's arms'

Royal Oak in Nicholson is full of hipsters.

Great Northern is still a great pub to watch footy in but a long way from the G
Percy is now in the North Fitzroy Arms. Not far from the Brunswick St tram. Get off at St Vinnie's hospital and walk to the G via the Fitzroy Gardens.

Can you imagine how our Champion Captain is feeling.........

All these years and in less than a week he will be finally playing his first final.
If anybody was made for September....

Nobody deserves it more and odds on he RIPS IT APART.:muscle:

He will be breathing fire and pole axing any fool that gets in his way.

I feel like we really should have made finals in 2022, especially for our champion captain, but for some reason I can't recall what happened and my therapist says I've blocked it out or something, probably a lie.

Percy is now in the North Fitzroy Arms. Not far from the Brunswick St tram. Get off at St Vinnie's hospital and walk to the G via the Fitzroy Gardens.
now, but "percy's" to me is still the old elgin hotel on the corner of lygon and elgin - i haven't been to the north Fitzroy arms since before the take over, how is it?

I’d go to war with Toby. Close to the best player in the comp.
When we were at our most successful, he’d be just one of the rat pack that we built our premiership teams on.
To pretend otherwise is hypocritical.

Still as dumb as dogshit

No one will ever or should ever care about GWS and GC. Shitty, soulless clubs with absolutely s**t club songs.

Everyone has to start somewhere. I hope eventually they get properly established and build up a solid, loyal, multi-generational fanbase. Traditions don't get created overnight.

And I reckon the Giants song is pretty good!

now, but "percy's" to me is still the old elgin hotel on the corner of lygon and elgin - i haven't been to the north Fitzroy arms since before the take over, how is it?
Good. Keeps it old school in the front bar. Has pretty good meals in the dining area. Casual and friendly.

That 70S Show Lol GIF by Peacock

Boyd, Kemp, Saad
Newman, McGovern, Weitering
Acres, Cerra, Docherty
Martin, McKay, Cuningham
Motlop, Curnow, Owies

De Koning, Cripps, Walsh

Hewett, Fogarty, Cottrell, Pittonet

Sub: Dow

EMG: Fisher, Hollands

Much harder to pick than I anticipated.

The lack of tall forward threats makes Marchbank a pretty straightforward omission for Boyd. Fisher loses his spot on account of defensive lapses.

Suspect Acres will be good to go, and Docherty comes in for Hollands who has struggled for impact over the last two rounds.

Would prefer a TDK/Silvagni ruck pairing, but can't risk an underdone player in finals. Kennedy doesn't get up for the same reason.

Really have to back in our forward line pressure - it has got us this far.

Cottrell over Dow for flexibility - may need to clamp down on a Gulden or Warner if they get off the leash. Our centre clearance work will want to be sharper than the last two weeks.

Dow a fairly obvious sub. Could make an argument for Fisher.

AFL's mock team ...

In: Jesse Motlop, Patrick Cripps, Sam Docherty, Marc Pittonet
Out:
Ollie Hollands, Corey Durdin, Caleb Marchbank, David Cuningham, Alex Cincotta

B: Mitch McGovern, Jacob Weitering, Nic Newman
HB:
Zac Fisher, Brodie Kemp, Adam Saad
C:
Blake Acres, Adam Cerra, Sam Docherty
HF:
Jack Martin, Harry McKay, Matt Cottrell
F:
Jesse Motlop, Charlie Curnow, Matt Owies
FOLL:
Tom De Koning, Patrick Cripps, Sam Walsh
I/C:
Paddy Dow, Lachie Fogarty, Marc Pittonet, George Hewett

EMG:
Matt Kennedy, Corey Durdin, David Cuningham, Alex Cincotta

Everyone has to start somewhere. I hope eventually they get properly established and build up a solid, loyal, multi-generational fanbase. Traditions don't get created overnight.

And I reckon the Giants song is pretty good!
Demetriou is an arrogant flog and he just wanted to boost his ego by starting two new clubs for no other reason but to make himself look good imo.

G.C at least has a few thousand genuine members and they are mainly expatriate Victorians.

Giants on the other hand, will never take hold. Just so stupid to start an AFL club in that part of Sydney, most of their members are cats and dogs.