List Mgmt. 2023 List Management thread

Mod notice after Mr Bob did a lot of annoying work in moving days of posts out of here. As we are heading into offseason, this thread is for 2023 list management only. Getting upset on previous trades can be taken to the vent thread. Lets keep this thread on track in the part of the year it's actually relevant

It’s already obvious that one of Darcy or Jackson has to leave.
It’s obviously not going to be jackson for several reasons we are all well aware of.
Darcy goes on the trade table as a “pre-agent” this year and we try get a top 10 pick for him.
Use the trade currency to either draft a decent forward or trade one in.

People won’t like this but it’s becoming increasingly evident at this early stage that it has to happen. The good of the club comes first
I think you are right but that
is a bloody nightmare tbh and who is going to trade for him. So we've maybe upgraded the ruck position for the cost of two first rounders and a second rounder, whoever did this should be sacked.

It's also not like people weren't warning of this eventuality prior to the trade.

I'm sure teams would give it based on his 2021 form. And then I'm sure whatver team he went to he would reach his 2021 form again.
I know its only 2 games but both Darcy and Jackson have looked shocking. May end up having to offload Darcy 😵

Jackson is the most frustrating because all he needs to do to not be shocking is hold the ball for half a second longer when he gets both hands to it. It's not like he's not getting in the right positions or he's not getting his hands to it. He's doing the hard part but ****ing up the easiest part of taking a mark.

And Darcy seems to have no connection with our mids anymore. Absolutely dominating hitouts both games but he taps them straight down the throat of the opposition players.

Jackson is the most frustrating because all he needs to do to not be shocking is hold the ball for half a second longer when he gets both hands to it. It's not like he's not getting in the right positions or he's not getting his hands to it. He's doing the hard part but ******* up the easiest part of taking a mark.

And Darcy seems to have no connection with our mids anymore. Absolutely dominating hitouts both games but he taps them straight down the throat of the opposition players.
Agreed with all of that. Jeez unless Jackson improves like crazy we have a 900k contract for the next 7 years. He gonna be eaten alive in this town 😅

Jackson is the most frustrating because all he needs to do to not be shocking is hold the ball for half a second longer when he gets both hands to it. It's not like he's not getting in the right positions or he's not getting his hands to it. He's doing the hard part but ******* up the easiest part of taking a mark.

Those issues could be things that shift fairly quickly with some quality time with coaches at training and some more game time.

Key things though. Fixing them could make a massive difference to the way we operate as a team.

Just came on to suggest we look at trading Darcy if he doesn't pull his big soft fingers out, but can see I'm not alone. Knobel is going to be a ripper I reckon, so we'll be able to do it this year or next.

It’s already obvious that one of Darcy or Jackson has to leave.
It’s obviously not going to be jackson for several reasons we are all well aware of.
Darcy goes on the trade table as a “pre-agent” this year and we try get a top 10 pick for him.
Use the trade currency to either draft a decent forward or trade one in.

People won’t like this but it’s becoming increasingly evident at this early stage that it has to happen. The good of the club comes first

This is it.

I understand that posters first reaction is to pile on the players, but I think it is more likely a coaching problem. There's not a lot of functional dynamic in the pairing.

I think you are right but that
is a bloody nightmare tbh and who is going to trade for him. So we've maybe upgraded the ruck position for the cost of two first rounders and a second rounder, whoever did this should be sacked.

It's also not like people weren't warning of this eventuality prior to the trade.
There a numerous articles and video of David Walls talking Jackson up.

I understand that posters first reaction is to pile on the players, but I think it is more likely a coaching problem. There's not a lot of functional dynamic in the pairing.
The thing is I really don’t think it’s all that far from working. If Darcy can start getting his hit outs to advantage again and Jackson can hold onto his marks for half a second longer then they’d work fine together.

We actually look most effective when Darcy rucks and Jackson roves - this should be our centre bounce setup, get Jackson to barrel around and smash players in close, also gives Darcy time to move in. Jackson is mobile enough to get to where he needs to be from there.

This whole period smacks of something not working as planned, and now we're struggling to fit the pieces together whilst maintaining our balance and structures, which in turn has impacted the players' knowledge of where they know (or trust) their teammates will be - the latter allows for fast fluid play, and without it, well just watch our last two games.

To quote Ross - "It's never as bad... etc", and a few posters have been bang on; Jackson isn't a million miles away, Darcy neither. If only those two (let alone the rest of the team) had held 50% of their marks, we win both games. In a way it's good they didn't as it highlights the structural issues we've created with the trade and repositioning of players. This is going to take a while to fix, but it is fixable. We're also a young team, and I think Ras and Johnson solve our 'too small' mid-problem over the next season or so. Honestly still think we're in OK shape for a 2025 run. This year's going to be painful though by the looks.

We actually look most effective when Darcy rucks and Jackson roves - this should be our centre bounce setup, get Jackson to barrel around and smash players in close, also gives Darcy time to move in. Jackson is mobile enough to get to where he needs to be from there.

This whole period smacks of something not working as planned, and now we're struggling to fit the pieces together whilst maintaining our balance and structures, which in turn has impacted the players' knowledge of where they know (or trust) their teammates will be - the latter allows for fast fluid play, and without it, well just watch our last two games.

To quote Ross - "It's never as bad... etc", and a few posters have been bang on; Jackson isn't a million miles away, Darcy neither. If only those two (let alone the rest of the team) had held 50% of their marks, we win both games. In a way it's good they didn't as it highlights the structural issues we've created with the trade and repositioning of players. This is going to take a while to fix, but it is fixable. We're also a young team, and I think Ras and Johnson solve our 'too small' mid-problem over the next season or so. Honestly still think we're in OK shape for a 2025 run. This year's going to be painful though by the looks.
Two rucks on over 1.2 million.

5 inside mids.

No talented forwards. What planning?

Switta brings that point of difference with his pace. Can our midfield issues be as simple as no Carr and Corey has no idea?
Carr was the coach when our midfield got wiped out last year. Our defence made our mids look ok last year. Bit more leaky this year. Our structure around the ball is a fair bit worse this year though.

Two rucks on over 1.2 million.

5 inside mids.

No talented forwards. What planning?

Yep this is the problem with the list. I'm resisting the urge to say I told you (not you) so but we have 3, maybe 4 actually good forwards on the entire list and we just mortgaged the future on the least important position on an AFL list.

I'd get on board the trade Darcy bandwagon but I'm not even sure Jackson can ruck 80% of a game.

Absolutely this, every time we are on track for a continual rise up the ladder we
lose someone off field.
We then look internally instead of poaching, advertising to fill the vacant position.
You look at our assistant coaches and not one of them will ever be in the top
job.
Our club is always losing talent to other teams, eventually there is a changing
of the guard, new blood, repeat cycle.
Have a look around the league and see what other clubs assistants credentials
are like.
I really feel for Corey, thrown into the midfield role, but the baptism of fire will
maybe lead to changes, and this will be the springboard for us long term.
It’s obvious to everyone that follows footy that we are Slow. Too similar.
That includes decision making with ball in hand. That midfield setup is vanilla.
First thing is you add pace, quality ball users and some mongrel to balance
the team out.
I think we can turn it around, maybe like Port did last year.
We have to forget about finals for now, get back to work and play the kids.

Absolutely this, every time we are on track for a continual rise up the ladder we
lose someone off field.
We then look internally instead of poaching, advertising to fill the vacant position.
You look at our assistant coaches and not one of them will ever be in the top
job.
Our club is always losing talent to other teams, eventually there is a changing
of the guard, new blood, repeat cycle.
Have a look around the league and see what other clubs assistants credentials
are like.
I really feel for Corey, thrown into the midfield role, but the baptism of fire will
maybe lead to changes, and this will be the springboard for us long term.
It’s obvious to everyone that follows footy that we are Slow. Too similar.
That includes decision making with ball in hand. That midfield setup is vanilla.
First thing is you add pace, quality ball users and some mongrel to balance
the team out.
I think we can turn it around, maybe like Port did last year.
We have to forget about finals for now, get back to work and play the kids.
Agree. Plus our reaction time around the whole ground when the ball hits the ground. The ball is already gone before our guys even react.

Would people here trade Sean Darcy for Logan Mcdonald in a straight swap if it could happen? 😅

Nah not impressed with Logan. The only forwards worth trading for atm are Pickett and Naughton. But before we even consider that I would like to see Treacy granted 6 games in a row to show what's he's got for our sake and the club's sake.

Mmmm im with you on Treacy. Personally dont think we could afford either of those from a Contract point and trade point.

**** any talk of trading for anyone.

We're already going to gift Melbourne a top 10 pick. Christ, it could even be top 5!

Are people keen to repeat the experience?

I thought Collingwood were going to be the first club ****ed by future pick trading but it turns out it is us.

* any talk of trading for anyone.

We're already going to gift Melbourne a top 10 pick. Christ, it could even be top 5!

Are people keen to repeat the experience?

I thought Collingwood were going to be the first club ****ed by future pick trading but it turns out it is us.
Think its the only way forward trading. Cant keep bringing in kids when your close to the window