List Mgmt. 2023 List Management

I think this is unfair - I've heard Weiters praise Young so that part is at least not true.

I do agree though that he is not best 22. Just like there is forwardline chemistry, the synergies between the backline is important too.

Young:

-as an individual defender is solid
...great length, height and decent speed
...reads the play well and takes a lot of intercept marks
...poor body work and doesn't have a strong enough lower body to hold his own in a wrestle

-as a team defender is average to poor
...will often get in the way in a pack mark situation preventing Weiters from doing his thing
...doesn't put on blocks
...doesn't communicate or work well with the other defenders

-with ball in hand is atrocious
...slow, like treacle slow
...poor decision maker
...poor kick

McGovern and to a lesser extent Kemp have much higher football IQs than Young. Young's sole benefit compared to those 2 is that his size is a better matchup when we face a team with 2 monsters (ala Geelong, Brisbane). Literally everything else Young makes us worse.
It might be a bit unfair, in particular re Weitering. It's something I've picked up on but I haven't gone back to corroborate it.

I agree with your assessment for the most part, though the cons far outweigh the pros, to the point where I believe playing him is detrimental to the team. Similar to Parks in that regard, though for different reasons. As harsh as it is, it's hard to carry players in a team defence who aren't predictable to their teammates and can't be relied on with ball in hand. It got to the point where teams would intentionally sag off Young from kick outs in the hope that we would kick it to him (which we regularly did, to my eternal frustration).

If there’s nothing between Fisher and Gresham, then Carlton wins a free draft pick. It’s that simple

There could be salary cap ramifications. If Fisher is on $350k and we have to offer Gresham $550k to ensure that StKilda don't match that's not a win. Obviously I only guessed these figures but they would have to be taken into account.

I think this is unfair - I've heard Weiters praise Young so that part is at least not true.

I do agree though that he is not best 22. Just like there is forwardline chemistry, the synergies between the backline is important too.

Young:

...poor body work and doesn't have a strong enough lower body to hold his own in a wrestle

...will often get in the way in a pack mark situation preventing Weiters from doing his thing
...doesn't put on blocks

...poor decision maker
...poor kick

McGovern and to a lesser extent Kemp have much higher football IQs than Young. Young's sole benefit compared to those 2 is that his size is a better matchup when we face a team with 2 monsters (ala Geelong, Brisbane). Literally everything else Young makes us worse.
You could argue that Youngs best position would be to play on the players that Weitering does, but obviously not as well. His best period was when Weitering was out last year. He'd be handy if Grundy plays this week for example (with Weitering on JVR) but there hasn't been one game from the last 7 where I thought that he'd have a good match up.

Yeah great point. I think if he's the main man he gives you 75% of the individual output Weiters does, without any of the leadership. And also his disposal is still poor.

Lewis Young has become a very interesting one for mine.

Would not surprise at all to see him moved on despite extending for three years earlier this season, he appears to have lost confidence and I don't think the MC want to risk playing him in the backline again. So it's either rebadge him as a ruck/forward (not sure that is really his go?) or perhaps facilitate a trade with another club that see his talent as a KPD (and he is definitely talented, just has lost a lot of confidence and also doesn't seem to fit well within our current defensive pattern).

Can see other clubs being interested and we might just be keen to free up a list spot.
What happens if Weitering gets injured, we don't have alot underneath him if this occurs.

l don't see this happening, we probably need to draft a young key position defender in this draft.

No such thing as never 🤣

He was contracted and signed an extension a year before that deal expired.

Breust has rejected rival club interest that we know about and I am certain many others have asked. I have no doubt we've asked the question at some stage.

Hawthorn loves him and he loves Hawthorn. I think it's really safe to say never.

Tend to agree with the draft being the most likely option. Ash Johnson has his moments, good overhead but not really bringing any heat to the defensive side of things so would probably be in and out of our side.
He's an odd one. Fan hype because of highlight reel moments and playing in a successful side makes the type look better.

Avid pies fans and some with connections never want him to play seniors again. 'headless chook' running patterns, 100% selfish forward craft and not actually skilled enough by foot to back it all up.

Prone to stupid moments like that one in the vfl where he got embarrassed trying to show boat.

Think he's out the league soon

He's an odd one. Fan hype because of highlight reel moments and playing in a successful side makes the type look better.

Avid pies fans and some with connections never want him to play seniors again. 'headless chook' running patterns, 100% selfish forward craft and not actually skilled enough by foot to back it all up.

Prone to stupid moments like that one in the vfl where he got embarrassed trying to show boat.

Collingwood signed him up until the end of 2025 lol

Would be surprised if he gets another contract beyond that, he has all hype, no substance to his game.

Young:

...doesn't put on blocks

...poor decision maker
...poor kick

IMHO, Young's biggest problem, is that he doesn't put enough hard physical pressure on his opponent, with no arm across the body or jostling to take the front position. Versus the Bummers, Peter Wright took all his marks, virtually uncontested and was the decisive match winner kicking 5 goals. As a team mate I'm sure Weitering and his co defenders can't trust him to play his role.

Not the sharpest tool in the shed either.

On the Young debate, what I have noticed is that there are two aspects to him. In any interaction with the ball coming inside def 50 in the air, if he can get a free run and jump at the ball he is quite good and I consider him AFL class. If the ball comes in and he is body on body, he is atrocious at holding his ground and loses those contests. In this latter interaction he is not an AFL class defender.

The above interactions typically are 50/50 but if you then add in his sideways kicking, holding the ball too long before disposal, and the occasional brain fade on pressure, and terrible on ground ball scrambles, he is backup for mine until he changes those aspects.

Happy he is there to cover injuries.

Young:

...doesn't put on blocks

...poor decision maker
...poor kick

Over to the coaches to drill in the requirements of an AFL defender to LY.

I would be intrigued to know the internal rating of Lewis Young with list management decisions pending. Currently both he and Sam Durdin are depth KPD. Personally, I would not be restricting Harry Lemmey to forward development. To me he has played his best footy behind the ball as a chop out ruck. Can see a Liam Jones defender transition for bug Lem.

Assessing what we currently have will be quite critical.

If we are not “happy” that Young and/or Lemmey are long term KPD options, then for mine we must PRIORITISE drafting a KPD prospect in the off season. While we won’t get access to the premium key defender prospects in Curtin and O’Sullivan, there are some decent prospects likely to be late first rounders or later.

Next year we may be restricted to our father/son Camporeale boys and a couple of rookie elevations. Coupled to the fact that early ratings by draft watchers have the 2024 draft currently all but bereft of key position players and the coming compromised drafts for the Tassie tea, with all clubs undoubtedly jockeying to “future proof” their lists.

I can’t claim inside info as to why Lewy Young has regressed, but he is the very epitome of a confidence player. If he has been dented in that area, he may need a fresh start. With Nigel Durdin in the wings as cheap depth, we would be in good position to acquire generation next tall defender.

Cal Twomey on Gettable today said negotiations with Gov had formally started.

CARLTON has opened discussions on a new deal for defender Mitch McGovern, with the former Crow keen to remain at the Blues.

McGovern is out of contract at the end of this year but negotiations have begun on an extension to lock him into the Blues beyond 2023.
His manager Andrew McDougall from Corporate Sports Australia confirmed talks had kicked off for a new contract.