List Mgmt. 2023 List Management

No chance of happening but I think Noah Balta would be the perfect player to go with Weiters. He's tough 1 on 1 and plays an aggressive rebounding style, reminds me of Jones a fair bit but probably a bit less Helter Skelter. Reckon he'd be great in our set up.

Champion data had Fisher rated 7th best defender for the round. You don’t let talent walk you nurture it, he might have found his preferred position in the team.
Whilst a valid take, the counter to that would be that he's behind a number of players for that position, effectively making him expendable if moving him on strengthens the side overall.

Champion data had Fisher rated 7th best defender for the round. You don’t let talent walk you nurture it, he might have found his preferred position in the team.
I got the feeling from his post-match interview that he didn't like it in defense. Either that or he's already gone.

He just seemed pretty flat for a guy who had just starred in a 40pt turnaround.

The few times i have watched the VFL this year, Fish looks disinterested in being there. He has taken his shot and will be given an opportunity to cement a spot for the remainder of the season however would not surprise me if he already has something lined up for next year, same goes with Dow

I think the “silver lining” of our 8 losses in 9 games is that we all got a good look at the deficiencies in our list.

Cuningham has stood out on his return because he has pace and foot skills. We need more of these types on the list. And Hollands demonstrates that the top end of the draft allows a club to target their needs.

List management is important, and sometimes capable players have to leave. Hawthorn were good at it in their prime, getting reasonable returns for players like Hill and Anderson.

If the club decides guys like Dow, JSOS, and Fisher should go as part of a list improvement plan, then I am happy to be onboard. It will show a maturing as a club.

So the state of play is probably something like:

Retain

McGovern
Cuningham
Fogarty

Delist/Retire

Philp
E. Curnow
Honey
Plowman

Up in the air/ their call

Silvagni
Dow
Marchbank
Durdin

Everyone else is tied up.

Maybe Fish asks for that trade as well

On Pixel 7 using BigFooty.com mobile app

So the state of play is probably something like:

Retain

McGovern
Cuningham
Fogarty

Delist/Retire

Philp
E. Curnow
Honey
Plowman

Up in the air/ their call

Silvagni
Dow
Marchbank
Durdin

Everyone else is tied up.

Maybe Fish asks for that trade as well

On Pixel 7 using BigFooty.com mobile app
Looks about right, although I'd be surprised to see big Nigel still on the list. Love the big fella, but with our restructured defence, we now have a couple of back up KPD's in Durdin and Young running around in the magoo's - so one possibly squeezed out. Young contracted and gives us a little more flexibility, so I can see us parting ways with big Durds.

Marchy is the big question mark though. Obviously rated highly within the club, but those ****ing injuries!!! Kemp and Gov now play that similar role, with Cow coming through the ranks.

I'm thinking we'll probably look to move minimum 6-7 players on.
Philp (delist)
Ed (retire)
Honey (delist)
Plowman (delist)
S Durdin (delist)
Marchbank (possible delist)
Dow/JSOS (trade)

That gives us 2 spots for Cinc and HO'K, 1-2 for trade/FA, and 3 picks in the draft.

I still wouldn't mind retaining Philp on our VFL list similar to Parksy.

The list is finally at a place where list management calls are going to start becoming difficult. There are going to be decisions made that not everyone agrees with.

Out of contract-
Philp - delist
Honey - Delist
S Durdin - Delist
Plowman - Delist
JSOS - 2 years
McGovern - 2 years
Cunningham - 2 years
Fogarty? - 1 year
Marchbank - 1 year (option for 2nd if he stays on the park)
Dow - Would like us to keep him as depth, but will likely be a trade

Contracted players-
Fisher- is contracted until 2025 and I would keep him for another year at least.

O'Brien- Think we should have a discussion saying his opportunities are going to be limited and he's not in the future plans. Cottrell and Hollands have given him windburn they have gone past him that quick. Acres coming in and holding down one wing. Our backline is stacked for HBFs so Doc looks good on the wing too. No room for O'Brien. Move him on if we can facilitate a trade.

The list is finally at a place where list management calls are going to start becoming difficult. There are going to be decisions made that not everyone agrees with.

Out of contract-
Philp - delist
Honey - Delist
S Durdin - Delist
Plowman - Delist
JSOS - 2 years
McGovern - 2 years
Cunningham - 2 years
Fogarty? - 1 year
Marchbank - 1 year (option for 2nd if he stays on the park)
Dow - Would like us to keep him as depth, but will likely be a trade

Contracted players-
Fisher- is contracted until 2025 and I would keep him for another year at least.

O'Brien- Think we should have a discussion saying his opportunities are going to be limited and he's not in the future plans. Cottrell and Hollands have given him windburn they have gone past him that quick. Acres coming in and holding down one wing. Our backline is stacked for HBFs so Doc looks good on the wing too. No room for O'Brien. Move him on if we can facilitate a trade.
I suspect that the only trade we could do for LOB would involve us paying a fair chunk of his salary unfortunately. So if he was on $250k next year we might trade him for a future 4th (points for campo twins) and pay "100k of his salary.

I would be intrigued to know the internal rating of Lewis Young with list management decisions pending. Currently both he and Sam Durdin are depth KPD. Personally, I would not be restricting Harry Lemmey to forward development. To me he has played his best footy behind the ball as a chop out ruck. Can see a Liam Jones defender transition for bug Lem.

Assessing what we currently have will be quite critical.

If we are not “happy” that Young and/or Lemmey are long term KPD options, then for mine we must PRIORITISE drafting a KPD prospect in the off season. While we won’t get access to the premium key defender prospects in Curtin and O’Sullivan, there are some decent prospects likely to be late first rounders or later.

Next year we may be restricted to our father/son Camporeale boys and a couple of rookie elevations. Coupled to the fact that early ratings by draft watchers have the 2024 draft currently all but bereft of key position players and the coming compromised drafts for the Tassie tea, with all clubs undoubtedly jockeying to “future proof” their lists.

I can’t claim inside info as to why Lewy Young has regressed, but he is the very epitome of a confidence player. If he has been dented in that area, he may need a fresh start. With Nigel Durdin in the wings as cheap depth, we would be in good position to acquire generation next tall defender.

LY comes across on a 2yr deal, then gets another 3yrs (seemed excessive) & then drops away.

Needs to drop the hammer and assess his game for the improvement/s required.

Would be more than happy to keep Nigel & offload LY, though Young does offer a backup ruck option which is still required. His recent foray forward was a poor performance, which unfort showcased his AFL match day thinking.

Can't believe Kemp is 22....

I keep thinking he's 27 for some reason! He looks and plays like a more matured player!

Whilst a valid take, the counter to that would be that he's behind a number of players for that position, effectively making him expendable if moving him on strengthens the side overall.
See it a little differently, take Liam Jones for example. Had all the attributes to be a dominant forward but wasn’t cutting it. Sent down back and dominated in VFL and forced his way back into the team.
Fisher given the opportunity could force his way to the front of the queue. Still under contract I wouldn’t trade him for the sake of it, especially if we use his cap hit on a player like Gresham. Don’t see the valve.

I got the feeling from his post-match interview that he didn't like it in defense. Either that or he's already gone.

He just seemed pretty flat for a guy who had just starred in a 40pt turnaround.
Would be disappointed if that was the case, thought TDK was nearly gone until he realised this team is building and he needed to be apart of it.