Review 2023 National Draft Review Thread II [McKercher, Z.Duursma, Goad, W.Dawson, Hardeman, Maley]

Really have no idea what to expect next year. Goldy gone I'm not sure is a massive issue, in that he wasn't near the player he once was, but on the flip side the entire squad knew how to play with him but the current ruck options won't have that benefit (plus have their own issues). I think it will be a stylistic adjustment more than anything.

Then we have Larkey being the Lone Ranger down forward. Again.

Last of all the defence will be without Logue (for half a season) and Mckay. Say what you will about Mckay's weaknesses but at least initially the replacements for those two won't be up to a great standard.

IMO this year will be a tale of two halves. Rough first half with new players, old champs gone, and a couple of positional issues. Then a stronger second half as things start to gel, Logue returns, and the draftess start having solid cameos off the back of good VFL conditioning.

What that looks like in terms of wins and losses I dunno, but I'd be expecting our percentage in the second half of the year to be drastically higher than what we finished on in the last few.
I think the loss of Goldie is bigger than we'd like to think it is. He might have been getting on in years, but he still had a big enough engine to carry most of the ruck load on his own. We need to find a way to compensate for his loss by improving as a clearance team. I think Wardlaw can make a big difference at least around the centre square if he stays healthy for most of our games.

I'm hopeful that Duursma can provide a second genuine marking and goal kicking threat in our attack to complement Larkey. Perhaps I'm expecting too much too soon from him, but he has X-factor written all over him with his skillset.

The loss of general experience will be felt, but with our draw I think we should be able to manage 6-8 wins. If we can reduce conceding goals by 1 or 2 per game, that alone will make a huge difference. I think that will come down to structures that need to be drilled into the team. I'm confident that we have improved our ball retention ability coming off HB through the players we have drafted and recruited, which should reduce turnovers putting the defence under immediate pressure again. As you've noted, the 2nd half of the season should be much better than the 1st half. 2024 will be our transition year.

Caruso's a gem. GWS are lucky to have him.

Clubs like Richmond, GWS and Collingwood are ahead of the game regarding drafting for their brand of football. It's something you see in American sports that's starting to become more of a thing in Aussie Rules.
I feel like that's biting Richmond now. They were trying to play more conservative possession footy this year and since all they've listed since 2017 is manic running types with below average skills it went very poorly for them. They got three flags from drafting for type so naturally it's not regrettable but unless Yze wants to play the old Richmond way that doesn't really work in 2023 then he will need to spend years changing the list profile.

I think the loss of Goldie is bigger than we'd like to think it is. He might have been getting on in years, but he still had a big enough engine to carry most of the ruck load on his own. We need to find a way to compensate for his loss by improving as a clearance team. I think Wardlaw can make a big difference at least around the centre square if he stays healthy for most of our games.

I'm hopeful that Duursma can provide a second genuine marking and goal kicking threat in our attack to complement Larkey. Perhaps I'm expecting too much too soon from him, but he has X-factor written all over him with his skillset.

The loss of general experience will be felt, but with our draw I think we should be able to manage 6-8 wins. If we can reduce conceding goals by 1 or 2 per game, that alone will make a huge difference. I think that will come down to structures that need to be drilled into the team. I'm confident that we have improved our ball retention ability coming off HB through the players we have drafted and recruited, which should reduce turnovers putting the defence under immediate pressure again. As you've noted, the 2nd half of the season should be much better than the 1st half. 2024 will be our transition year.
Goldy's really the only veteran whose departure hurts us though imo. If Cunners had had any interest in doing a full pre-season and going around again he'd be a weapon, but it is what it is and we've long since stopped relying on him. Ziebell had already been pushed out. I think the improvement that comes from young players developing will far outweigh what we've lost.

I'm not sure how to categorise Ben McKay but he's a hard one to judge too. As good as he is of an intercept mark, he never gelled with the new gameplan and if we can replace him next year with key defenders who do, that'll be at least neutral.

Goldy's really the only veteran whose departure hurts us though imo. If Cunners had had any interest in doing a full pre-season and going around again he'd be a weapon, but it is what it is and we've long since stopped relying on him. Ziebell had already been pushed out. I think the improvement that comes from young players developing will far outweigh what we've lost.

I'm not sure how to categorise Ben McKay but he's a hard one to judge too. As good as he is of an intercept mark, he never gelled with the new game plan and if we can replace him next year with key defenders who do, that'll be at least neutral.
The game would have gone past Cunners next season, he struggled this season, he got out at the perfect time.

The defence is one of worst I’ve ever seen. U can have a great big boat, but if it’s got 3-4 holes in it, it ain’t going to be much use
The defence can and will improve in time, like in that great Clint Eastwood movie; KELLY'S HEROES, where oddball says to the driver of the tank, Moriarty, HAVE A LITTLE BIT OF FAITH BABY. Also that defence this year, nearly and should have beaten Sydney and several more teams, you would think with that defence , Sydney would have destroyed us, but they didn't, they only won in the last minutes of the game and that was because of the interchange error! One last thing, if you have a great big boat and its got 3--4 holes in it, you patch it up to an extent to get you where you want to go, and then you make it better, a lot better so there will never be holes in that boat again, and when its the finished product you show it to everyone!

Tell him he’s dreaming. I see all the r6-10 as loseable. Don’t think we will be much good until second half of season. Hope you are right and I’m wrong.
We’ll need the whole year to find our team and play good footy.

5 wins tops.

One of Dawson /Dawson / Pinky / Biggie will need to lock themselves in as a mainstay in that backline.

Free / Xerri / CJ / Maley - two of these will need to prove themselves to be AFL competent.

Comben - could fit in somewhere but who knows where.

Matthew Broderick Jewish GIF

Biggest issue is key defender. We wmreally don't have anyone McKay's size to play on the monsters of the AFL
Drafting one isn’t going to fill the McKay hole. We’ve recruited Dawson who hopefully will be long term. Drafting Curtin or any other 18 year old KPD would literally make zero difference next year. We’ve also picked up others via MSD, Trade and DFA who will help in the meantime.

McKay was despised by majority of the playing group. We got ridic overs for him. Time to move on.

Caruso's a gem. GWS are lucky to have him.

Clubs like Richmond, GWS and Collingwood are ahead of the game regarding drafting for their brand of football. It's something you see in American sports that's starting to become more of a thing in Aussie Rules.
I know Phoenix wasn’t really rated on here predraft, but we were reportedly heavily linked, which is pleasing in terms of our talent order if you rate Caruso. Clearly looking for similar things.

Good teams don’t rely on one or two defenders to stop their man - it’s team defence , all working as a unit.
Look at crows no name defence that did very well
Just need role players with a good balance
Yes but who's the leader in defense, the one that tells others where to go, where to be, who to go on, when to drop back...that person is worth more then any draft pick!

Probably corr till Logue gets back

Sheeze and Scott could assist as well

Putting the mayo on it a bit there…

He had and still has a lot of close friendships at North.
Exactly. Psicosis only hearing / believing a certain perspective. Even his response of “he may have a few” indicates this. :stern look

Thinking outside the box a bit here, but is there any particular reason Shiels couldn't be reinvented as a defender and do that?

The midfield is looking pretty chockers (and so is the forward line, at least for medium sized blokes); it would be a waste to have him in the VFL for most of the year.

Drafting one isn’t going to fill the McKay hole. We’ve recruited Dawson who hopefully will be long term. Drafting Curtin or any other 18 year old KPD would literally make zero difference next year. We’ve also picked up others via MSD, Trade and DFA who will help in the meantime.

McKay was despised by majority of the playing group. We got ridic overs for him. Time to move on.
Despised why?

Yes you are dead right he does still have plenty of GOOD friends there. Not sure were all this is coming from. Like all clubs not everyone gets on but he certainly is not despised by many there.
I shared in my post where it’s coming from. Feel free to believe otherwise, just passing on what I was told.

“Worst team mate I’ve ever had”

He may have a few, but was told as recently as last week by a departed player that is accurate from their perspective.
Despised is a strong word. Did it only start this season when he checked out at training etc?

Previous years I never heard there was any issue other than the winning trifecta of being a little thick, a little arrogant, and his errors rarely being his own fault. Which sounds bad, but at least with the first two is pretty par for the course.

Review 2023 National Draft Review Thread II [McKercher, Z.Duursma, Goad, W.Dawson, Hardeman, Maley]