hbf for ford? good size, good mark, we need more intercept defenders.I worry that the Duursma/Sheezel/George combo will be squeezing him out. Hopefully not.
Kayne Turner & Lachie Young..Has the club announced any train on players hoping to get in the list.
Hurry up and announce that someone has taken over jumper #28Kayne Turner & Lachie Young..
Team SuccessI think now that we have the players in the door the question now turns to couple of things…
1. What is success/pass mark this year for the club?
I have it as near double wins 6ish, more importantly is quality of performance. We have lost BC, McKay, Ziebell, Hall and let’s not forget the most important cog Kayne. Huge turnover year for us. Only reason I don’t say 6 minimum.
2. What’s each individuals goals this year?
Warlord deserves the question and I would assume over 16 games and polling well in rising star
Sheezel is to back up last year and take more of a leadership role
Mckertcher 16-22 games
Duursma 12-16 games maybe less given role and time needed to develop
KPP in draft Dawson and Goad. Develop in the VFL and put together some good form maybe push for games
Hardaman could look to play games early…
Anyone else?
My goals for the year is for us to get better so my wife stops with the "Why is your team so bad" question lol.Team Success
• Increase number wins; 6 - 8 is a reasonable expectation.
• Win some close games.
• Stay in games longer; last season we maxed out at about 2 good quarters a game. I'd like to see us to be consistently
in the majority games for at least 3/4 and hopefully for those games we win put in a solid 4 quarter performance.
• Continued trajectory of kicking more goals and allowing fewer opposition goals.
• Continue to see evidence of a definitive game plan.
Individual success, so much to consider, my wish list is…
• McKercher & Duursma to play 12 – 16+ games, Hardeman to play 6 – 8+ games, Dawson to debut towards the end of the season.
• Goad & Maley to develop in the VFL.
• Scott and Sheezel to continue on from last year.
• Wardlaw to play close to a full season, George to play 8 - 10+ games debut after the bye.
• Phillips & Powell to cement themselves as best 22
• LDU, TT, Zurhaar & Comben to have injury free years and play a full season.
• Goater, Archer & Bergman to be pushing for best 22
• Larkey to kick 80+ goals
• Pink & Dawson to be solid, consistent and reliable.
• Logue to return to his best.
• Eddie Ford to have a breakout year.
• Stephenson and Curtis to have a consistent year.
• Stephens to show us why he was a top 5 pick.
• CCJ to establish himself as consistent & reliable FWD/RUCK.
If my wishes come true then that shouldn't be a problem. And when my wife asks, “Did they win?” I can answer yes occasionally.My goals for the year is for us to get better so my wife stops with the "Why is your team so bad" question lol.
My daughter asks "When are we winning again!!!" the others is a Blues supporter with NFI whilst the wife walks though the door with "Don't tell me you lost again?"...at least me dog barks when we score a goal.If my wishes come true then that shouldn't be a problem. And when my wife asks, “Did they win?” I can answer yes occasionally.
My wife will stop telling me "to stop having a go at HER boys"...My goals for the year is for us to get better so my wife stops with the "Why is your team so bad" question lol.
If my wishes come true then that shouldn't be a problem. And when my wife asks, “Did they win?” I can answer yes occasionally.
The boss watches/comes to all the games, supports them unconditionally. Doesn't know what a Wayne Carey is though - bless her cotton socks.My daughter asks "When are we winning again!!!" the others is a Blues supporter with NFI whilst the wife walks though the door with "Don't tell me you lost again?"...at least me dog barks when we score a goal.
Young has signed with Carlton VFLKayne Turner & Lachie Young..
Not sure how formal this is as a rule but VFL clubs normally let players break their contracts if they get on an AFL listYoung has signed with Carlton VFL
You could make money out of a dog that’s been trained to bark when a team kicks a goal.My daughter asks "When are we winning again!!!" the others is a Blues supporter with NFI whilst the wife walks though the door with "Don't tell me you lost again?"...at least me dog barks when we score a goal.
Good post, I think what a lot of people are forgetting is that last game against Gold Coast in which we were expected to get beaten. I know people from a fair few clubs had the thinking of; it was a nothing game, Gold Coast didn't try, we got lucky and so what, it was down in Tassie. Well, people might want to tell Touk Miller that, win or lose his ferociousness at the ball is second to none, has that real eye of the tiger to get that pill, throw in Mattie Rowell, Noah Anderson and they would fair dinkum be very annoyed that was the case. So with a lot of people saying Gold Coast to play finals next year and the fact that they had all their stars playing while we had NO LDU, NO JYE SIMPKIN, THEY SHOULD HAVE TAKEN US TO THE CLEANERS, but guess what, after taking us apart in the first half and looking to win by 40 to 50 points, we came back, too not only win, but take apart that whole side and if that game had of gone 20 more minutes we would have annihilated them! Led by Will Phillips, Tommy Powell, Eddie Ford and others, that to me was nothing short of unbelievable! Seen some great wins over the last 20 years but with the stage of our list and where we are at, this win will be the very start of something special. Things in sport if you have the talent and the desire can change very quickly and confidence is one stat in any sport you won't see listed, but its one of the most important. We are coming and at the moment teams don't fear us but that narrative is going to change. As for wins next year well let me put it this way, this year we could have won several games but didn't because of the learning process and other things happening towards the end of the games, I'm seeing something like the baby bombers of 2000, love them or hate them that was one hell of a side and I think this one is going to be better.I think now that we have the players in the door the question now turns to couple of things…
1. What is success/pass mark this year for the club?
I have it as near double wins 6ish, more importantly is quality of performance. We have lost BC, McKay, Ziebell, Hall and let’s not forget the most important cog Kayne. Huge turnover year for us. Only reason I don’t say 6 minimum.
2. What’s each individuals goals this year?
Warlord deserves the question and I would assume over 16 games and polling well in rising star
Sheezel is to back up last year and take more of a leadership role
Mckertcher 16-22 games
Duursma 12-16 games maybe less given role and time needed to develop
KPP in draft Dawson and Goad. Develop in the VFL and put together some good form maybe push for games
Hardaman could look to play games early…
Anyone else?
I agree with you on the pessimism of some posters.If Curnow & McKay go down for the season…
If Daniher & Hipwood go down for the season…
If Cameron & Hawkins go down for the season…
Every single team has issues if they lose their two key forwards. We survived most of the year without Comben and given he's likely playing back he shouldn't even be in the conversation.
On a more positive note what if it clicks for CCJ? What if Duursma kicks 30 – 40 goals? What if Zurhaar has an injury free season? What if Brayden George plays 12+ games? What if Ford has a break out year? What if Taryn Thomas has an AA FWD/MID year? What if Stevo has a consistent year?
The pessimism on this board is insufferable at times.
Colby Zane and company are exactly the reason why it didn't matter that we won the last game against the Suns. PS we should be trying to win every game we play.I reckon it’s now over to Clarko as psychologist. If he can teach them the winning habits (all the way from training to game day and to those key moments when the game is in the balance) we could rapidly jump up even next season. The talent is there and as we’ve seen in the past, both at North and other clubs, with high end talent they can often perform almost from day 1, even though they are still far from hitting their peak. Sure, blokes like Goad, Dawson II etc will take time but Wardlaw, Sheezel, McKercher, Duursma, Hardeman, Goater, Thomas, LDU, Simpkin, Larkey, Scott, Stevo, Corr, Fisher, Stephens, Zurhaar, Ford, Phillips, Powell, Curtis - right there is 20 blokes who could easily get a game in the finals team so we have plenty to work with.
We could win 6 games and still finish bottom 2. Who’s going to fall?I think a pass is probably 6 wins, as you said. More than that is great, less than that is pretty disappointing, with 6 being the break point. Most of those will likely come in the second half of the year, though - our first month especially is brutal.
I half expect us to win 6 games and still be 17th, to be honest. I don't really see who falls behind us. Off the top of my head, maybe Richmond or the Bulldogs? Who do you think?We could win 6 games and still finish bottom 2. Who’s going to fall?
A blessing in disguise.The boss watches/comes to all the games, supports them unconditionally. Doesn't know what a Wayne Carey is though - bless her cotton socks.
Agree. We need to start raising our expectations.With the draw we have, anything less than eight wins is a fail.