Preview 2023 Rd 18 Carlton vs Port Adelaide Saturday July 15 4:35PM @ Marvel Stadium

Team is in …

IN: Tom De Koning
OUT: Matthew Kennedy (knee), Lewis Young

After starting last weekend as sub, George Hewett has been elevated into the 22

Backs:Brodie KempJacob WeiteringNic Newman
Half-backs:Jordan BoydMitch McGovernAdam Saad
Centreline:Blake AcresPatrick CrippsSam Walsh
Half-forwards:Lachie FogartyCharlie CurnowMatthew Owies
Forwards:David CuninghamHarry McKayJack Martin
Followers:Tom De KoningAdam CerraSam Docherty
Interchange:Alex CincottaMatthew CottrellGeorge Hewett
Jack Silvagni
Emergencies:Paddy DowOllie HollandsCaleb Marchbank
Jesse Motlop

Do the ladder predictor you’ll find that 13 gets you in,some games would need to be upsets for 12 1/2 and that can happen but I did one today and have us finishing 9th.

Way too many combinations to make that determination yet.

Example:

1688994622131.png

Here we've got 11 teams finishing with 13 wins, right down to 14th spot. Yes, a few unlikely results, but nothing outrageously so. I'm sure I could do another example where 10 or 11 wins gets in.

There's just way too many games to go to know for sure, and a whole lot of teams from about 4th through to 12th or so that don't have a lot to separate them.

So would your idea be for him to just have a week off with no footy (rested) and then come back into the side the following week. Or do you want him back in the VFL because you think he is not playing his role/someone else should come in?
Week off, subject to a match review for both Boyd and his replacement (likely Cowan).

They both ended their careers as rebounding defenders that played against small forwards. You're sitting here telling me about Matthew Hogg, but did you just tune out the proceeding 24 years?
While true for Skinny, he’s remembered as a forward. As for Hoops, he played his last three years as a forward. Just because you write something with an air of authority doesn’t make it true.

Jim, this persistence to omit/rest Boyd is somewhat confusing

Personally, I saw him as a lock at the start year if fit and nothing I have seen recently suggests otherwise

What am I missing
If we need to rest blokes who have played 2 games since their last rest then we have serious problems.

He’s not getting rested. Or dropped. Or anything.

He's been back for two games, both of which he has sat out at least a quarter, but I think he'll be match fit enough if McGovern is going to sit out a week due to bruising in his quad.

This sounds like a wonderful defence of him, except there's not really any evidence to support your position, either in his statistical output, or that of the kinds of players he was matched up on, and he offered even less offensive output than last week.

Then there's his 50% kicking efficiency, including one instance where he tried to go for a short run, barely made it up to his team mate, and sprayed the kick as he could barely keep his balance. He's out of gas at the moment, and he's not alone.

In your mind, what role and opponents do you see him playing against Port, and what do you think his current output would result in for the match? Would he manage a job for us, would he thoroughly beat his opponent, or would he continue on his current downward form trend as his fitness continues to fail him?

They both ended their careers as rebounding defenders that played against small forwards. You're sitting here telling me about Matthew Hogg, but did you just tune out the proceeding 24 years?

Seeing as you've dodged the question, I'm going to ask you again: why do you have so little respect for Adam Saad?

He's in the selection mix, along with the other 2 outside runners, so I put him in the pile. They all played similarly against Coburg, and we'll need run at the end of the match.

Did you watch the game, or are you having a tantrum upon the mentioning of O'Brien like 90% of people on this forum, including people who claim to be industry professionals?

Stomp harder as you remonstrate: it's your foot that will feel it, not mine.
LOB is zero percent chance of playing this week and Boyd zero percent chance of being dropped or rested.

I’d be surprised if Boyd isn’t giving the coaches exactly what they’re asking for.

We’ve conceded 150 in our last 3 games, our defence is settled and on fire right now. I’d only be changing things based on injury
Small forwards are just torching our backs…..wait hang on….No they aren’t…

Example:

View attachment 1734732

Here we've got 11 teams finishing with 13 wins, right down to 14th spot. Yes, a few unlikely results, but nothing outrageously so. I'm sure I could do another example where 10 or 11 wins gets in.

There's just way too many games to go to know for sure, and a whole lot of teams from about 4th through to 12th or so that don't have a lot to separate them.

If we beat Port and the Eagles we will be in the 8 at the end of Round 19. (5 through 10 play against each other so they all can’t win)

However if we want to be in the 8 at the end of Round 24 we will have to win 6 out of our next 7. There’s a chance that 5 wins is enough but more likely we miss out if we end up with 12.5. The goal has to be 13.5 and it will likely come down to our home game against the Giants.

Example:

View attachment 1734732

Our best chance is to hunt down Adelaide & Geelong, both are vulnerable IMO if we can get 5 or 6 more wins with some tricky games to come for them both.

Kennedy no chance to get up you’d think

Gov doesn’t heal up real well so don’t think he gets to the line off a six day break and a flight home

Hopefully TKD is fit and we can slot Young into defence (hopefully the run in the ruck has given him some confidence)

Kennedy’s spot up for grabs…Hewitt first in line, they won’t pick Dow off a concussion

Ed will be sub…you just know he will

You wouldn’t think in such a big game they’d play a Binns or Carroll.Hewett the obvious choice.

If we beat Port and the Eagles we will be in the 8 at the end of Round 19. (5 through 10 play against each other so they all can’t win)

However if we want to be in the 8 at the end of Round 24 we will have to win 6 out of our next 7. There’s a chance that 5 wins is enough but more likely we miss out if we end up with 12.5. The goal has to be 13.5 and it will likely come down to our home game against the Giants.

To win 6 of our last 7 I think is a bridge too far,5 at our best is more realistic but that depends on which Carlton turns up.

There is only 1 Carlton now.

The good strong hard working Carlton.

I can’t say I’ve seen this sort of resolve in our team as a whole for a long long while. They are 100% switched on and focussed.

Port are red hot but beatable.

Our record has been good, three big wins in a row however those were over 16th, 14th and 13th placed sides. This is a game against 2nd so it's a huge test.

Beating those weak sides, we've had a few players out, you can get away with having a few players out against weak teams but not against top sides, we need all, or at least most of our crew on board.

Kennedy and McGovern are potential outs. Big ones IMO. Both playing very very good football. TDK has to come in.

If Kennedy misses there's Dow and Hewett so we have options there. The other option is to bring in Cowan and shift Docherty into the middle.

If McGovern misses Cowan is in excellent form if we want to go small but we most likely want to go tall and like for like which is Marchbank who has quietly had a run of games in the VFL. We could also chose Young if we want to go with a taller defender.

As for omissions. A ruck or two will likely come back in so someone is going out for that. Thought Hewett in his half game looked very ordinary so perhaps another onball alternative is on the cards, IMO I think he's better off in the VFL playing full games until he delivers a better output.

Even with injuries there is no way I would go with Ed or Hewett. There are better alternatives IMO. Both just can't run and that is counterproductive to the footy we are trying to play.

Waiting on injuries but potential team could be this if injured players don't get up. I still have hope they will. Which would mean just TDK comes in.

Kemp Weitering Newman
Saad Marchbank Boyd
Acres Cripps Cottrell
Cuningham Silvagni Owies
Martin McKay Curnow
DeKoning Walsh Cerra
Cincotta Docherty Dow Fogarty
Cowan

Not fond of bringing in players like Dow against top sides, we have done it to him in his last two full games he's played but we need the right players in and we need to keep the speed of the team up.

There is only 1 Carlton now.

The good strong hard working Carlton.

I can’t say I’ve seen this sort of resolve in our team as a whole for a long long while. They are 100% switched on and focussed.
AG, My sentiment exactly.
They have a full heaf of sail.
If we can knock off Port, who are apparently a little banged up at the moment. Eagles is a given.
Then I think Collingwood a due for a let down. And what better team to let them down, but the Blues.
Watch the Media go full crazy.

AG, My sentiment exactly.
They have a full heaf of sail.
If we can knock off Port, who are apparently a little banged up at the moment. Eagles is a given.
Then I think Collingwood a due for a let down. And what better team to let them down, but the Blues.
Watch the Media go full crazy.
Our game against the filth should be a cracker if we continue the way we are currently playing. Reckon the players would also be looking forward to that game.

Media will have us as flag favourites if we beat port/filth and make the 8 :cool:

I’ve got us getting with 12.5 wins

Nervous The Big Bang Theory GIF

Bombers in an elimination final