Preview 2023 Rd 18 Carlton vs Port Adelaide Saturday July 15 4:35PM @ Marvel Stadium

Team is in …

IN: Tom De Koning
OUT: Matthew Kennedy (knee), Lewis Young

After starting last weekend as sub, George Hewett has been elevated into the 22

Backs:Brodie KempJacob WeiteringNic Newman
Half-backs:Jordan BoydMitch McGovernAdam Saad
Centreline:Blake AcresPatrick CrippsSam Walsh
Half-forwards:Lachie FogartyCharlie CurnowMatthew Owies
Forwards:David CuninghamHarry McKayJack Martin
Followers:Tom De KoningAdam CerraSam Docherty
Interchange:Alex CincottaMatthew CottrellGeorge Hewett
Jack Silvagni
Emergencies:Paddy DowOllie HollandsCaleb Marchbank
Jesse Motlop

They have the pies after us at AO.

If I were Ken Hinkley, I'd be engineering a loss to Carlton this week to get the Port boys fired up for the Pies the week after.

Its the only sane course of action for them if you think about it :think::p
This has my full support. Easy out for them if they lose, too. From a Port pov, you'd rather lose against us and be fired up for the top of table clash than spend their final credits beating us then getting pumped by the filth.

Most excited I've been for a game since Round 10 last year.

Hoping for the following changes if the likely outs do occur:
  • Binns in for Kennedy. Allows us to rotate Walsh, Docherty, and Cuningham on the ball a bit more. Binns has been excellent in the VFL and gives us another mid/wing/forward rotation.
  • Marchbank in for McGovern. Like for like somewhat. Marchy can play lockdown while Kemp provides the rebound we'll miss in Gov's absence.
  • De Koning in for Cincotta. This only happens if TDK is absolutely cherry ripe for Saturday. This move releases Young to play on one of the Port talls. Sink's very stiff to miss out but we're carrying 8 backmen and he's the most expendable at this moment in time.

They're due for a loss surely.

And we are coming in with a wet sail!

in fact we are coming home with a wet sail...

we have nothing to lose for the rest of the year, as far as I am concerned i've ridden it off. the fact this is now in our hands again off the back of the 9 weeks of deplorable footy we dished up goes to show how even this competition is from 5th to 15th - there's bugger all in it, don't listen to any pundits tell you otherwise - 15 of the 18 teams are capable of playing finals and the ladder proves it.

just need to bring what we've been bringing the last 3 games and we are up to our neck in every game we play including against port, pies and dees. we have the weapons to worry all of them. just need to stay focused every game and run and gun like we have been and we are in this year no doubt about it.

How many games has Marchbank now played in the VFL? Seems like he’s had enough for match fitness not to be an issue

Has played 2 on the trot after not playing for at least 3 weeks.

Had 6 possessions against the Bullants and 22 against Coburg. Not sure if he was still on the ground in the last quarter when we gave up 7 in a row.

We need some height in defence to play on Dickson, Marshall and Finlayson. Marchbank or Durdin need to play is Gov is out and TDK doesn't play
Finlayson is a bigger threat than Dixon. Finlayson has been playing out of his skin of late. Dixon's only running on 2 cyclinders atm.

Lol Boyd isn't getting rested
why even bother suggestion O'Brien
I want you both to know that I'm reading these posts in the voice of an angry 12 year old who got their first taste of power on the internet. Hopefully I don't need to explain how I would further respond

Boyd tracking to be our best small defender since Matthew Hogg. Someone is just fishing here.
He was categorically our worst player yesterday, and he was regularly showing the same signs of fatigue as Kennedy throughout the match. We need to rotate some players above and beyond covering for injury, which I did mean to cover in my original post.

We spent too many petrol tickets yesterday, and it's a 6-day interstate turnaround. Incredibly important to rotate just to be competitive, and thinking ahead to the rest of the fixture, instead of a game that we're still likely to lose, and that will not make a dent in the teams that are in the same band of performance as us, like Melbourne, GWS & St Kilda.

Go back and watch the last 15 minutes of the game, and see how out of gas we were. Go back and watch Boyd failing to register a single inside 50, nor more than one rebound 50, or one spoil. This is one of two games that we are unlikely to win, but that we should be at least put out a properly fit football side for.

But you know what the weirdest thing about your statement - which yet another one line jab at my posts without any real explanation - is? The total lack of respect this comment shows to Adam Saad's defensive work, and then to a lesser extent the disrespect shown to the following players:

• Andrew McKay
  • Kade Simpson
  • Zach Tuohy
  • Ciaran Byrne
  • Ryan Houlihan
  • Matthew Lappin

Just wow

A look at what's to come.

Melbourne (40): Bris, Ade, Rich, NM (Tas), Car, Haw, Syd (SCG).
.........................5/7 at the 'G. Decent chance to win in all 7, but 3-4 iffy. Range: 3-7 wins (52-68). Predict: 5 wins, 2 losses. (60)
Essendon (36): Gee (Gee), WBU, Syd, WCE, NM, GWS (GS), Col (MCG).
.........................2 probable losses, but otherwise good run. Range: 2-6 wins (44-60). Predict: 4 wins, 3 losses (52)
St Kilda (36): GCS (HBS), NM, Haw, Car, Rich, Gee, Bris (Gabba).
.........................2 interstate trips, but remainder at Marvel. Range: 2-6 wins (44-60). Predict: 4 wins, 3 losses (52)
W Bulldogs (36): Syd (SCG), Ess, GWS (Mars), Rich, Haw (Tas), WCE, Gee (Gee).
.........................Bit of traveling to do, but most winnable. Range: 2-7 wins (44-64). Predict: 4 wins, 3 losses (52)
Geelong (34): Ess, Bris (Gabba), Freo, Port, Coll (MCG), StK (Marv), WBU.
.........................Toughish run, with top 3 to come, though 4 home games. Range: 1-6 wins (38-58). Predict: 3 wins, 4 losses (46)
Adelaide (32): GWS, Mel (MCG), PA, Suns, Bris (Gabba), Syd, WCE (OS).
.........................Enough home games to come. Range: 4-5 wins (48-52). Predict: 4 wins, 3 losses. (48)
GWS (32): Ade (Ade), Suns (ACT), WBU (Mars), Syd, PA (Ade), Ess, Car (Marv).
.........................No gimme games. Range: 0-4 wins (32-48). Predict: 2 wins, 5 losses. (40)
Carlton (30): PA (Marv), WCE (Marv), Coll (MCG), StK (Marv), Melb (MCG), Suns (HBS), GWS (Marv).
.........................Range: 2-6 wins (38-54). Predict: 4 wins, 3 losses. (46)
Richmond (30): WCE (OS), Haw, Melb, WBU (Marv), StK (Marv), NM, PA (Ade).
.........................Not a bad run - bottom 3 to play. Range: 3-6 wins (42-54). Predict: 4 wins, 3 losses (46)

By this, 5 wins from the remaining 7 matches (total 12.5 wins) is a decent chance of snatching 8th spot. 4 wins is unlikely.

Most excited I've been for a game since Round 10 last year.

Hoping for the following changes if the likely outs do occur:
  • Binns in for Kennedy. Allows us to rotate Walsh, Docherty, and Cuningham on the ball a bit more. Binns has been excellent in the VFL and gives us another mid/wing/forward rotation.
  • Marchbank in for McGovern. Like for like somewhat. Marchy can play lockdown while Kemp provides the rebound we'll miss in Gov's absence.
  • De Koning in for Cincotta. This only happens if TDK is absolutely cherry ripe for Saturday. This move releases Young to play on one of the Port talls. Sink's very stiff to miss out but we're carrying 8 backmen and he's the most expendable at this moment in time.

I doubt Voss and the match committee would be thinking about debuting Binns in such a big game against a real quality opposition.
I wouldn't be straying from the formula we've used over the last 3 games so the changes should be as close to like-for-like as possible.
If Kennedy misses then Hewett comes in to play the same role.
If Gov misses then Marchbank comes in to play the same role.
If TDK is fit then one of Young and Sos drop out of the 22.

I want you both to know that I'm reading these posts in the voice of an angry 12 year old who got their first taste of power on the internet. Hopefully I don't need to explain how I would further respond

He was categorically our worst player yesterday, and he was regularly showing the same signs of fatigue as Kennedy throughout the match. We need to rotate some players above and beyond covering for injury, which I did mean to cover in my original post.

We spent too many petrol tickets yesterday, and it's a 6-day interstate turnaround. Incredibly important to rotate just to be competitive, and thinking ahead to the rest of the fixture, instead of a game that we're still likely to lose, and that will not make a dent in the teams that are in the same band of performance as us, like Melbourne, GWS & St Kilda.

Go back and watch the last 15 minutes of the game, and see how out of gas we were. Go back and watch Boyd failing to register a single inside 50, nor more than one rebound 50, or one spoil. This is one of two games that we are unlikely to win, but that we should be at least put out a properly fit football side for.

But you know what the weirdest thing about your statement - which yet another one line jab at my posts without any real explanation - is? The total lack of respect this comment shows to Adam Saad's defensive work, and then to a lesser extent the disrespect shown to the following players:

• Andrew McKay
  • Kade Simpson
  • Zach Tuohy
  • Ciaran Byrne
  • Ryan Houlihan
  • Matthew Lappin

Just wow
You clearly have no idea whatsoever what role Boyd is expected to play.
He was fantastic yesterday.
And this is the first time I’ve ever seen Ryan Houlihan and Matthew Lappin mentioned as small defenders.
The absurdity of your reality must be a fun place to live.

• Andrew McKay
  • Kade Simpson
  • Zach Tuohy
  • Ciaran Byrne
  • Ryan Houlihan
  • Matthew Lappin

Just wow
Come on, Jim. How far down the pecking order is he now? He’s hardly banging the door down with consistent performances in the reserves each week. What makes you think he’s a legitimate option to be promoted into a team that’s got a 172 point differential over the past 3 games?

Also if it helps putting on a character voice when you read aloud, then good for you.

Went to the ressies game and seriously everyone played well.. was like watching us play a high school team .. I actually thought coburg were gutsy with how small and raw they looked .. I could have played well on Saturday if I was wearing a baggers jumper.
I want Dow to play but can’t see it happening.

Hewitt for Kennedy
Tdk for McGovern

Young to go back and cincotta as sub

Went to the ressies game and seriously everyone played well.. was like watching us play a high school team .. I actually thought coburg were gutsy with how small and raw they looked .. I could have played well on Saturday if I was wearing a baggers jumper.
I want Dow to play but can’t see it happening.

Hewitt for Kennedy
Tdk for McGovern

Young to go back and cincotta as sub
Bold strategy to play with 21 and a sub.

You’ve got Hewett and Cincotta swapping between the 22 and sub, Kennedy and Gov out but only TDK coming in.

Out: Kennedy, Gov
In: TDK, ?

Bold strategy to play with 21 and a sub.

You’ve got Hewett and Cincotta swapping between the 22 and sub, Kennedy and Gov out but only TDK coming in.

Out: Kennedy, Gov
In: TDK, ?
Oh yeah sorry mate .. umm play another runner I reckon I assume curnow and Hewitt will play .. voss loves those 2

How many games has Marchbank now played in the VFL? Seems like he’s had enough for match fitness not to be an issue
He's been back for two games, both of which he has sat out at least a quarter, but I think he'll be match fit enough if McGovern is going to sit out a week due to bruising in his quad.
You clearly have no idea whatsoever what role Boyd is expected to play.
He was fantastic yesterday.
This sounds like a wonderful defence of him, except there's not really any evidence to support your position, either in his statistical output, or that of the kinds of players he was matched up on, and he offered even less offensive output than last week.

Then there's his 50% kicking efficiency, including one instance where he tried to go for a short run, barely made it up to his team mate, and sprayed the kick as he could barely keep his balance. He's out of gas at the moment, and he's not alone.

In your mind, what role and opponents do you see him playing against Port, and what do you think his current output would result in for the match? Would he manage a job for us, would he thoroughly beat his opponent, or would he continue on his current downward form trend as his fitness continues to fail him?
And this is the first time I’ve ever seen Ryan Houlihan and Matthew Lappin mentioned as small defenders.
The absurdity of your reality must be a fun place to live.
They both ended their careers as rebounding defenders that played against small forwards. You're sitting here telling me about Matthew Hogg, but did you just tune out the proceeding 24 years?

Seeing as you've dodged the question, I'm going to ask you again: why do you have so little respect for Adam Saad?
Come on, Jim. How far down the pecking order is he now? He’s hardly banging the door down with consistent performances in the reserves each week. What makes you think he’s a legitimate option to be promoted into a team that’s got a 172 point differential over the past 3 games?

Also if it helps putting on a character voice when you read aloud, then good for you.
He's in the selection mix, along with the other 2 outside runners, so I put him in the pile. They all played similarly against Coburg, and we'll need run at the end of the match.

Did you watch the game, or are you having a tantrum upon the mentioning of O'Brien like 90% of people on this forum, including people who claim to be industry professionals?

Stomp harder as you remonstrate: it's your foot that will feel it, not mine.

All sorts of possibilities for team this week.
McGovern - will he or won't he play? (I'm guessing not).
Pitto and TDK - are either ready to go (I'd hazard a guess on one being available)
If either Pitto or TDK are available - what will be Young's or JSOS's roles?
Will someone like Binns, Cowan, Hollands, or even Carroll be a possibility (I liked an earlier suggestion that if Binns was to come in, Doch can be part of midfield rotation).
Marchbank- is he ready to go, and could he come in as a McGovern replacement if Gov is unavailable?
Dow, Ed, Hewett - how many posts will be put by people saying the same thing they've said 100 times before?
So many options and possibilities - but MC has done a pretty good job the past three weeks, as also players, coaches.
I felt confident with the GC, Hawks and Freo games, although margins were higher than I expected. This will be a great game.