Preview 2023 Rd 18 Carlton vs Port Adelaide Saturday July 15 4:35PM @ Marvel Stadium

Team is in …

IN: Tom De Koning
OUT: Matthew Kennedy (knee), Lewis Young

After starting last weekend as sub, George Hewett has been elevated into the 22

Backs:Brodie KempJacob WeiteringNic Newman
Half-backs:Jordan BoydMitch McGovernAdam Saad
Centreline:Blake AcresPatrick CrippsSam Walsh
Half-forwards:Lachie FogartyCharlie CurnowMatthew Owies
Forwards:David CuninghamHarry McKayJack Martin
Followers:Tom De KoningAdam CerraSam Docherty
Interchange:Alex CincottaMatthew CottrellGeorge Hewett
Jack Silvagni
Emergencies:Paddy DowOllie HollandsCaleb Marchbank
Jesse Motlop

I don’t see Dow playing at any level this weekend , clubs are very cautious with concussion injuries, likely they hold him back a week.
I think S Durdin only just got back from a hamstring injury, so he and Marchy both have limited match fitness. Maybe You to go back and bring TDK or Pitt back if fit.
For MK’s replacement, I hope they bring in Carrol or Binns, would be nice to see a developing player get a chance, Hewitt best 22 when in form, but he’s not this year so they should play someone else

A look at what's to come.

Melbourne (40): Bris, Ade, Rich, NM (Tas), Car, Haw, Syd (SCG).
.........................5/7 at the 'G. Decent chance to win in all 7, but 3-4 iffy. Range: 3-7 wins (52-68). Predict: 5 wins, 2 losses. (60)
Essendon (36): Gee (Gee), WBU, Syd, WCE, NM, GWS (GS), Col (MCG).
.........................2 probable losses, but otherwise good run. Range: 2-6 wins (44-60). Predict: 4 wins, 3 losses (52)
St Kilda (36): GCS (HBS), NM, Haw, Car, Rich, Gee, Bris (Gabba).
.........................2 interstate trips, but remainder at Marvel. Range: 2-6 wins (44-60). Predict: 4 wins, 3 losses (52)
W Bulldogs (36): Syd (SCG), Ess, GWS (Mars), Rich, Haw (Tas), WCE, Gee (Gee).
.........................Bit of traveling to do, but most winnable. Range: 2-7 wins (44-64). Predict: 4 wins, 3 losses (52)
Geelong (34): Ess, Bris (Gabba), Freo, Port, Coll (MCG), StK (Marv), WBU.
.........................Toughish run, with top 3 to come, though 4 home games. Range: 1-6 wins (38-58). Predict: 3 wins, 4 losses (46)
Adelaide (32): GWS, Mel (MCG), PA, Suns, Bris (Gabba), Syd, WCE (OS).
.........................Enough home games to come. Range: 4-5 wins (48-52). Predict: 4 wins, 3 losses. (48)
GWS (32): Ade (Ade), Suns (ACT), WBU (Mars), Syd, PA (Ade), Ess, Car (Marv).
.........................No gimme games. Range: 0-4 wins (32-48). Predict: 2 wins, 5 losses. (40)
Carlton (30): PA (Marv), WCE (Marv), Coll (MCG), StK (Marv), Melb (MCG), Suns (HBS), GWS (Marv).
.........................Range: 2-6 wins (38-54). Predict: 4 wins, 3 losses. (46)
Richmond (30): WCE (OS), Haw, Melb, WBU (Marv), StK (Marv), NM, PA (Ade).
.........................Not a bad run - bottom 3 to play. Range: 3-6 wins (42-54). Predict: 4 wins, 3 losses (46)

By this, 5 wins from the remaining 7 matches (total 12.5 wins) is a decent chance of snatching 8th spot. 4 wins is unlikely.

Do the ladder predictor you’ll find that 13 gets you in,some games would need to be upsets for 12 1/2 and that can happen but I did one today and have us finishing 9th.

He's been back for two games, both of which he has sat out at least a quarter, but I think he'll be match fit enough if McGovern is going to sit out a week due to bruising in his quad.

This sounds like a wonderful defence of him, except there's not really any evidence to support your position, either in his statistical output, or that of the kinds of players he was matched up on, and he offered even less offensive output than last week.

Then there's his 50% kicking efficiency, including one instance where he tried to go for a short run, barely made it up to his team mate, and sprayed the kick as he could barely keep his balance. He's out of gas at the moment, and he's not alone.

In your mind, what role and opponents do you see him playing against Port, and what do you think his current output would result in for the match? Would he manage a job for us, would he thoroughly beat his opponent, or would he continue on his current downward form trend as his fitness continues to fail him?

They both ended their careers as rebounding defenders that played against small forwards. You're sitting here telling me about Matthew Hogg, but did you just tune out the proceeding 24 years?

Seeing as you've dodged the question, I'm going to ask you again: why do you have so little respect for Adam Saad?

He's in the selection mix, along with the other 2 outside runners, so I put him in the pile. They all played similarly against Coburg, and we'll need run at the end of the match.

Did you watch the game, or are you having a tantrum upon the mentioning of O'Brien like 90% of people on this forum, including people who claim to be industry professionals?

Stomp harder as you remonstrate: it's your foot that will feel it, not mine.
There’s no tantrum here, Jim. Pretty calm and ambivalent bout it all, hardly foot stomping and remonstrating, and definitely not claiming to be an industry professional, an expert or anything more than a supporter.

If anything the way you’re reacting seems a bit over the top. You alright?

I didn’t watch the whole game, but saw a decent amount of it.

I’ve just lost confidence in him. Thought he was making some positive strides last year but my opinion has changed over the course of this season.

Went to the ressies game and seriously everyone played well.. was like watching us play a high school team .. I actually thought coburg were gutsy with how small and raw they looked .. I could have played well on Saturday if I was wearing a baggers jumper.
I want Dow to play but can’t see it happening.

Hewitt for Kennedy
Tdk for McGovern

Young to go back and cincotta as sub
Young has to stay well clear of Weitering. Weitering has found his form again since Young has been moved out.

He's been back for two games, both of which he has sat out at least a quarter, but I think he'll be match fit enough if McGovern is going to sit out a week due to bruising in his quad.

This sounds like a wonderful defence of him, except there's not really any evidence to support your position, either in his statistical output, or that of the kinds of players he was matched up on, and he offered even less offensive output than last week.

Then there's his 50% kicking efficiency, including one instance where he tried to go for a short run, barely made it up to his team mate, and sprayed the kick as he could barely keep his balance. He's out of gas at the moment, and he's not alone.

In your mind, what role and opponents do you see him playing against Port, and what do you think his current output would result in for the match? Would he manage a job for us, would he thoroughly beat his opponent, or would he continue on his current downward form trend as his fitness continues to fail him?

They both ended their careers as rebounding defenders that played against small forwards. You're sitting here telling me about Matthew Hogg, but did you just tune out the proceeding 24 years?

Seeing as you've dodged the question, I'm going to ask you again: why do you have so little respect for Adam Saad?

He's in the selection mix, along with the other 2 outside runners, so I put him in the pile. They all played similarly against Coburg, and we'll need run at the end of the match.

Did you watch the game, or are you having a tantrum upon the mentioning of O'Brien like 90% of people on this forum, including people who claim to be industry professionals?

Stomp harder as you remonstrate: it's your foot that will feel it, not mine.
You're arguing with people who saw Boyd manage the one out spoil. Singular events define someone's whole game here!

I come in piece folks!

Have really enjoyed watching Carlton over the past month.

I reckon your mob will get up this weekend. McKay and Curnow will expose us big time with McKenzie out.

Do Carlton generally play better at the G or Marvel?

Port have won 9 in a row Marvel but I expect that to come to end this wknd.

I come in piece folks!

Have really enjoyed watching Carlton over the past month.

I reckon your mob will get up this weekend. McKay and Curnow will expose us big time with McKenzie out.

Do Carlton generally play better at the G or Marvel?

Port have won 9 in a row Marvel but I expect that to come to end this wknd.
We’ve only played there 4 times this year with our only win being North and losses to the Dogs, Saints and Lions.

Definitely not a happy hunting ground for us

If Boyd is considered a possible out, then statistically Kemp, Cincotta and Martin are also possible outs as they statistically didn't contribute any more than Boyd - and for those still wondering, I don't actually mean this... All 4 are keepers...
Go look at all of their stats, and check their highlights if you want... you'll notice that the others contributed more in terms of intercepts, ground ball gets, spoils, goals, score involvements, goal assists, F50 tackles, etc.

I'm not talking about dream team stats, I'm talking about total statistical output and their impact on the performance of others both team mate and opponent. Boyd looked cooked out there, and we've failed to acknowledge things like this - to our detriment - for years now. They'll give him light duties this week, but he looks like he needs to miss a game.
There’s no tantrum here, Jim. Pretty calm and ambivalent bout it all, hardly foot stomping and remonstrating, and definitely not claiming to be an industry professional, an expert or anything more than a supporter.

If anything the way you’re reacting seems a bit over the top. You alright?

I didn’t watch the whole game, but saw a decent amount of it.

I’ve just lost confidence in him. Thought he was making some positive strides last year but my opinion has changed over the course of this season.
Your original reply to me was 'why even bother suggestion O'Brien'.

Why even reply? It's an opinion, you don't agree, there are far politer and simpler ways to offer that... or you can just move on.

Last edited by a moderator:
Kennedy no chance to get up you’d think

Gov doesn’t heal up real well so don’t think he gets to the line off a six day break and a flight home

Hopefully TKD is fit and we can slot Young into defence (hopefully the run in the ruck has given him some confidence)

Kennedy’s spot up for grabs…Hewitt first in line, they won’t pick Dow off a concussion

Ed will be sub…you just know he will

Go look at all of their stats, and check their highlights if you want... you'll notice that the others contributed more in terms of intercepts, ground ball gets, spoils, goals, score involvements, goal assists, F50 tackles, etc.

I'm not talking about dream team stats, I'm talking about total statistical output and their impact on the performance of others both team mate and opponent. Boyd looked cooked out there, and we've failed to acknowledge things like this - to our detriment - for years now. They'll give him light duties this week, but he looks like he needs to miss a game.

Your original reply to me was 'why even bother suggestion O'Brien'.

Grammar withstanding, why even reply? It's an opinion, you don't agree, there are far politer and simpler ways to offer that... or you can just move on.
So would your idea be for him to just have a week off with no footy (rested) and then come back into the side the following week. Or do you want him back in the VFL because you think he is not playing his role/someone else should come in?