Preview 2023 Rd 19 Carlton vs West Coast Saturday July 22 2:10PM @ Marvel Stadium

Team is in …

*EDIT - UPDATE:

IN: Lachie Cowan, Ed Curnow, Ollie Hollands, Josh Honey
OUT: Jordan Boyd (suspension), Adam Cerra (hamstring), Patrick Cripps (cork), Harry McKay (knee), Jack Martin (calf tightness.

Backs:Alex CincottaJacob WeiteringNic Newman
Half-backs:Brodie KempMitch McGovernAdam Saad
Centreline:Sam WalshOliver HollandsSam Docherty
Half-forwards:Lachie FogartyJosh HoneyJesse Motlop
Forwards:Jack SilvagniCharlie CurnowDavid Cuningham
Followers:Tom De KoningGeorge HewettBlake Acres
Interchange:Matthew CottrellLachie CowanEd Curnow
Paddy Dow
Emergencies:Jaxon BinnsZac FisherCaleb Marchbank
Lewis Young

I'd love Kemp playing the other end and want it for him long term but that change has to come over the off season for someone who's only played 15 games. Lest we Weits him and ruin his confidence short term
There is that. But Weits came in as a backman. Kemp had experience in multiple positions. We have more options to cover him down back than we do to cover H.

This could get unbelievably ugly and that's going to be fun but we still need to turn up and not do what St Kilda did to them the other week and nearly lose.

Just go hard at them with as much leg speed as we have and run rungs around them.

Probably consider Corey Durdin. Love to see him in our team now we are playing good fast free flowing footy. Think he will kill it.

Cowan big possibility.

Don't know about Owies.

Would happily go with a smaller forward line again rather than replace McKay with Young or DeKoning.

This could get unbelievably ugly and that's going to be fun but we still need to turn up and not do what St Kilda did to them the other week and nearly lose.

Just go hard at them with as much leg speed as we have and run rungs around them.

Probably consider Corey Durdin. Love to see him in our team now we are playing good fast free flowing footy. Think he will kill it.

Cowan big possibility.

Don't know about Owies.

Would happily go with a smaller forward line again rather than replace McKay with Young or DeKoning.
I think we’ve found out that we aren’t optimal with more than one low possession small forward.

Fogarty, Martin and Cuningham are our three dynamic forwards now.

Motlop, Owies and Durdin should now be competing for the one forward pocket spot.

Yeah nah, no flirting with form for mine, full gas from now to round 24. No guts no glory.

what she said yes GIF by TipsyElves.com

3-4 changes max and only for those who really could benefit with a rest. No need to unnecessarily flirt with form too much.

Harry out. Boyd likely suspended. Those are probably two forced changes. Cowan comes in for Boyd if he’s suspended. Young probably comes in for Harry but I think I’d prefer to give Lemmey a run in this one so he can get a taste and has a bit more confidence to attack a big preseason.

Maybe one of Martin or Cuningham could get a rest. They have shown how crucial they are for us and how much they change our forward potency. We could look to manage their workload after such extensive injury histories.

Saad looked very sore with that ankle. A few people mentioning Cerra but I didn’t see him get injured.. what happened there?

I love Kemp but agree he needs to be reigned in a bit.
His attack on the ball and specifically his closing speed in a contest are massive ticks, but he loses his feet too often and takes the dangerous option a little too often. I think he deserves some leeway as this is a relatively new role for him, and the point of difference he has as a KPD means we need to put up with the occasional error.

Agree. Reckon Kempy has been a massive positive for us this year.

Two things he needs to work on if he’s playing that position.
kicking (particularly under pressure).
keep his feet. Goes to ground far too easily.

That said he’s been a real find.

kemp has started showing some confidence in his position. We need to leave him alone. I’d prefer to just play one of other forwards from the VFL - lemmey Okeefe
Lemmey and O'Keefe have loads of potential but are years away from playing seniors.
Kemp is a quality swingman who I would trust at either end. Reckon he is actually better up forward, but time will tell no doubt.

Exactly. We need to keep the focus and momentum. We cannot afford any down turns in any of our games, including a WC side close to full strength.
Say it agian - "West Coast are close to full strength now"!!!
Yes and Ill add these points:
  • EVERY opponent must be respected
  • We have much to work on still. I'd like to see us play tempo footy or keepings off (whatever you want to call it) when the opponent gets a bit of a run. Yesterday, we constantly kicked it to the wing from FB or long down the line to contests. It ended up being forced out for a thrown and PA with the clearance domination period got it I50 many times and scored a few goals and missed many as well. If not for the wayward kicking, we would have let them get a real look at closing the gap. Sure we maintained the gap and went away with it but I would like to see this string added to the bow. It will add to our unpredictability.

Lemmey, who has potential, should not be gifted a game because it’s West Coast.

We also all thought Gov wouldn’t get up, but he did and had a blinder. So I wouldn’t be mothballing anyone unless, like Owies, they are injured.

We also have cohesion for the first time in a year. Why fiddle with that.

So, assuming Cez and Saad are niggles only, bring in Young/Pitto and bring in Cowan (who has played with far more dare in the VFL).

Keep it simple.