Autopsy 2023 Rd 22 Blues win a thriller. Finals closer.

Who played well for the Blues in Round 22 vs the Dees?

He was massive big George
Our players are playing like they’re possessed.

The power of the mind is fascinating.

Every week players from all 18 teams would say after a game that they gave 100%. But we can clearly identify genuine 100%.

There has to be a mastermind behind our change in mindset 8 weeks ago.

Would Love to know who/how/what caused the change in our players mindset.

Re-watched the last quarter today. Pittonet was simply huge in it, without many stats.

Gawn was trying to get physical ascendancy in each ruck contest and Pitto simply wouldn’t let him. Prevented them from getting any space outside of the stoppage.

It was a huge under-the-radar performance.
I thought the same. Not a lot of disposals and HO numbers totally in Gawn’s favor but Pitt did a job with his physicality. Shouldn’t be underestimated. Thought Gawn had little influence.

Every week players from all 18 teams would say after a game that they gave 100%. But we can clearly identify genuine 100%.

Reckon it was all the people who called talkback radio and berated them all and the coaches as well and demanded a clean out.

I don’t think negative feedback would cause the sort of improvement we’ve seen.

Imo, it’s more likely to be some sort of an inspirational talk.

Someone internally has hit a key note and they’ve bought into it massively.

I don’t think negative feedback would cause the sort of improvement we’ve seen.

Imo, it’s more likely to be some sort of an inspirational talk.

Someone internally has hit a key note and they’ve bought into it massively.
Na I reckon for sure had to be the bucket of s**t supporters/members who were spitting on and spouting abuse at our players at every game in our slump. You know the same ones now that post all over social media about how amazing we are Had to be. There’s no other reasonable excuse.
But to be serious for a minute mate. I think it was more like the guys have said that they’ve simplified it all got together and just stuff it boys let’s go do what we’re good at and if we win we win. Turns out it works. Realisation is an amazing thing especially when I’m a team environment that realisation happens together.

Na I reckon for sure had to be the bucket of s**t supporters/members who were spitting on and spouting abuse at our players at every game in our slump. You know the same ones now that post all over social media about how amazing we are Had to be. There’s no other reasonable excuse.
But to be serious for a minute mate. I think it was more like the guys have said that they’ve simplified it all got together and just stuff it boys let’s go do what we’re good at and if we win we win. Turns out it works. Realisation is an amazing thing especially when I’m a team environment that realisation happens together.
You had me there 😂

We were very lucky in that last 2 minutes. Set up poorly and some horrid decision making. Certainly didn't look like a side that was prepared for it well enough.
We should have had much more scoreboard pressure from the first qtr with our f50 dominance.

We did miss the composure from Walsh and Cerra, but you have to admit - with 30% of our starting 22 out who have had game consistency over the past couple of years, to be replaced by “fringe” players, it could be understandable that in the situation of a game of that magnitude that they were panicking and hacking out.

It was a gutsy win and many big ticks for our system.

Hmmm that's a very narrow minded opinion. The hardest part is getting into a position where you can actually mark it. Do that on a consistent basis and the marks will come.
Is it really narrow minded? He's kicked 6 goals in 2023, 4 last year and is largely non-effective as a forward. When he ranks high in score involvements and score launches that all comes about from him being in the ruck. He is a ruckman. The only reason he plays forward is because Voss is obsessed with 2 ruck systems so he's trying so hard to mould TDK into a forward.

Let me put it this way. 95% of people want Harry back because Charlie is getting double/triple teamed. Who has been the other key forward with Harry out? TDK. If TDK is effective up forward then why is charlie still getting every defender on him? Its because TDK isn't a dangerous forward. And that's not necessarily his fault because he isn't a forward, same with grundy.

Ed Curnow's farm. It's a magical place that will go down in folklore if we go on with this.

I like how the media has focused on the Marchbank touch on the line which denied Melbourne the win.

Not a single mention about the two times Petracca threw the ball which resulted in goals. First was that 10 metre blatant throw over his head which got them their first goal. The other was the Hollands tackle which he threw to Langdon which resulted in goal to Neil-Bullen.
...and not a peep about the free kick which should have gone to Marchbank on the line against Van Rooyen.

the 'touch' would not have mattered if the field umpire did his job.

...and not a peep about the free kick which should have gone to Marchbank on the line against Van Rooyen.

the 'touch' would not have mattered if the fied umpire did his job.
Absolutely!!

Marchy was mugged on the goal line.

I know players get away with some pretty big shepards to get the ball across the line, but Van Rooyen made a beeline for Marchbank ignored the ball completely, grabbed him by the arm and around the waist and dragged him to the ground.

Marchbank had a realistic chance to mark that ball and therefore the free should have been paid.

It’s only something small but I noticed several times against Gawn, Tom punching Gawns arms off of him when Gawn tried to engage at a ruck contest.

Tom is still a nearly player, but he has improved so many parts of his game this year, that I feel it’s only a matter of time.
Once he sticks the marks he keeps threatening to take, he'll get all the praise he deserves

Watched those last 2 minutes again today - few things I picked up that I missed in there
  • The heat was immense & our guys did all they could literally all they could until the last scrap on the wing when the siren went.
  • Blake launching full body at Trac's boot on that last kick for goal
  • TDK somehow got a fist on the ball over Gawn in a pack of 20
  • You'd rather the deliberate on the wing & go again than get pinged in their forward line.
  • Just needed a Harry or a SOS or Charlie up the line to clunk one
  • Hewett b@lls of steel calm AF & turned his back on the Melbourne goals
  • Newy......PLS don't clear to the centre again in those types of games LOL
  • Ball touched Calebs right forearm that was being held no way in FK he touched it with his left
  • Goal umpire was literally 1 x metre in front of them looking RIGHT there, you need to back him in on the call
  • Trac needs to train getting more penetration on his kicks instead of cooking on TikTok
Blues win
As an aside, instagram fed me one of these the other day. It’s so bad, like borderline Chicken Tonight stuff. Are people so enamoured by footballers that they will watch them do anything, even if they have nfi what they are doing? There are so many good cooking feeds on social media

Wonderful player though…

Is it really narrow minded? He's kicked 6 goals in 2023, 4 last year and is largely non-effective as a forward. When he ranks high in score involvements and score launches that all comes about from him being in the ruck. He is a ruckman. The only reason he plays forward is because Voss is obsessed with 2 ruck systems so he's trying so hard to mould TDK into a forward.

Let me put it this way. 95% of people want Harry back because Charlie is getting double/triple teamed. Who has been the other key forward with Harry out? TDK. If TDK is effective up forward then why is charlie still getting every defender on him? Its because TDK isn't a dangerous forward. And that's not necessarily his fault because he isn't a forward, same with grundy.

Could've sworn TDK played ruck for a large portion of the game. His 6 goals is actually not a bad return for someone that hasn't played much senior footy let alone as a forward. Also, he took a mark inside 50m and scored a very important goal for us at the start of the last quarter. Also nearly marked one late in the game.

Could've sworn TDK played ruck for a large portion of the game. His 6 goals is actually not a bad return for someone that hasn't played much senior footy let alone as a forward. Also, he took a mark inside 50m and scored a very important goal for us at the start of the third quarter. Also nearly marked one late in the game.
It's only a matter of time before he starts clunking those marks I reckon..

As an aside, instagram fed me one of these the other day. It’s so bad, like borderline Chicken Tonight stuff. Are people so enamoured by footballers that they will watch them do anything, even if they have nfi what they are doing? There are so many good cooking feeds on social media

Wonderful player though…
Could not agree more :tearsofjoy::tearsofjoy::tearsofjoy: I think it's more aimed at the younger kids/teenagers to get them involved. I mean in my early teenage years it was the AFL Squadon showing you a segment of how the Rocca brothers make toasted sandwiches at home :tearsofjoy::tearsofjoy::tearsofjoy:

It's only a matter of time before he starts clunking those marks I reckon..

flipping hope so, just some really simple marks he dropped on satdy night that could have clinched the game or slowed it down
Can’t deny the effort though

I thought Hewett set the tone early in the game.

He was all over it in the 1Q.

He was absolutely on fire. Attacking/tackling with full ferocity.

Probably best game I’ve seen him play.

Saad as well in the first quarter

Autopsy 2023 Rd 22 Blues win a thriller. Finals closer.