Autopsy 2023 Rd 22 Blues win a thriller. Finals closer.

Who played well for the Blues in Round 22 vs the Dees?

Unsure about you all but my BOG for this match is probably Owies.

Just seemed to be everywhere. Kicked a few important goals and did well in that last quarter as well.

Absolutely loving the attitude and swagger that he has brought the last few weeks. It's about time we had someone with a little bit of dickhead in them. As long as you continues playing well, that's all that matters. He's backing his behaviour up

Hewitt , newman was unbelievable heck
Me dow and tdk wanted it but special mention to cripps , I was watching at the pub and I kept saying Dude is wrecked but context after contest kept willing himself … I never want a player of his calibre to be known to not play finals… some of my mate are none believable and I have been saying we are coming … heck I love this club

Hewitt , newman was unbelievable damn
Me dow and tdk wanted it but special mention to cripps , I was watching at the pub and I kept saying Dude is wrecked but context after contest kept willing himself … I never want a player of his calibre to be known to not play finals… some of my mate are none believable and I have been saying we are coming … damn I love this club
Your post has 5 hour session at the pub written all over it … love it

Sat head in hands crying for a good 2 minutes after the siren while the crowd went nuts around, an absolute emotional rollercoaster. Part of me is still convinced the universe is setting us up to fail but absolutely incredible.

From the highs of the first 5 minutes of the last - Crippa and Dow teaming up beautifully out of the stoppage, Curnow slotting one from 50, to the lows of Pickett and Smith getting it back to a goal, to fighting tooth and nail to keep the rampaging Demons at bay, to seeing that Petracca ball cross the line thinking it was all over, to the score review and the umpire making the soft call our way, to Melbourne continuing to attack relentlessly, deliberate out of bounds, hack kicks into the corridor, huge packs at half forward, to the siren sounding just as it looked like the dam wall was going to burst...

Absolute scenes at the G, just an incredible win and a phenomenal effort by the boys. This group is inspired, hungry and ferocious. Can't wait for it all again next week.

Awesome win. So proud. But after watching the Blue Abroad Fan Cams I’m a bit confused as they were talking about how tonight we’ve finally done it and qualified for finals. But from my ladder predictor we still need to win one more game to be guaranteed. Lose both games and we could slip to 9th. What am I missing with the Blue Abroad guys? Isn’t it one week early to be celebrating finally making finals?

Boooo!

Walsh could replace Fisher, then Doc goes back to half back and plays less midfield.

Our depth is looking INSANE right now...so many injuries and being able to call up guys like Dow, Fisher and Hollands is really impressive.

I've seen quite a lot of other teams cop a few key injuries and look pretty poor because of it.

Brisbane for example have barely had any injuries this year but as soon as Ashcroft went down they've looked really shaky. Gunston out now too so they are in trouble. GWS have a strong starting 23 but have no depth whatsover...2 no names have come in for Daniels and Bedford this week and earlier in the year when Kelly missed games, the replacement was names like Wehr and Rowston.

Agreed. This win was so good because we have half the team out. Meant a lot that the way we want to play is now understood by all and guys can step in and do their bit.

A lot of our top end players to come back:
Kennedy (not far off)
Walsh (next week?)
McKay
Cerra
SOS
Boyd (VFL)

We're nearly there, one more win should do it! We owed Melbourne big time after last year as well.

If it wasn't for that bad run earlier on in the year, then we'd probably be in the top four now. I think we really do need to look at extending Vossys contract now.;)

If we get enough of our key players back in time, then we can go all the way this year. There's no team at all out there for us to fear imo.

Maths isn’t their strong suit - we need 1 more win or key losses to others to guarantee. That said, 4th is alive if GWS, Freo, Tiges can all roll Port or Hawks, Swans can all roll Dees

best win of the year , insane !

Notable mentions

Patrick Cripps
3 brownlow votes, was the engine behind all 3 of our match winning goals to open the 4th- his presence is that of a captain that wants to and can win a flag in 2023

TDK
immense , has physicality , I reckon 1 more preseason and possibly a top 3 ruck in the league - said this before , rucks in 2023 are a lot more than hit outs , what he does is start that forward pressure and desperation and it’s contagious; the mids follow through

Paddy Dow
Wow , physical and very good footy smarts - that fall over the ball in Q4 to get the free kick was EVERYTHING!!
I don’t know what to say about his spot but Voss has a huge selection headache, especially since Hewitt is playing great football- I think we find a way to squeeze both Kennedy and Dow in.

Blake Acres
The dirty hero we needed - plays a tough brand of football- can be unpolished but it’s exactly what this team has needed for two decades- for too long we were too soft , clean and safe , Blake acres is the tough nut we have been waiting for

Upcoming changes to make:

OUT: Fisher , Hollands , Pittonet, Ed Curnow, Marchbank

IN: Cerra, Walsh, McKay, McGovern, Kennedy

Jsos and Boyd to sit out for now.
Cincotta has more of that aggression and ferociousness that works with our system than Marchbank does , so he’s my pick to stay in of the two.

Finally,
I just cannot for the life of me understand why Pittonet keeps dropping marks - being that tall and heavy , he gets a lot of the red pill delivered his way in packs and should take 3-4 contested marks a game , that alone would justify his position in the team.

Maths isn’t their strong suit - we need 1 more win or key losses to others to guarantee. That said, 4th is alive if GWS, Freo, Tiges can all roll Port or Hawks, Swans can all roll Dees

Not having the double chance is the only reason we’re not flag favourites.

If results were to go our way and we snuck 4th we are absolutely on.

Still think we’re good enough from 5th, but avoiding an away final in Bris/Adel and the one sided umpiring that comes with it would be very handy.

Autopsy 2023 Rd 22 Blues win a thriller. Finals closer.