Autopsy 2023 Rd 4 Tall Timber Too Good for Roos

Who played well for the Blues in Round 4 vs the Roos

Has made a great start to his navy blue career, and has topped the distance covered in each of his first 4 senior games.

Richmond - 14.5km
Geelong - 15.2km
GWS - 15.5km
North - 16.1km

Remarkable athlete.
Nice to see a footballer that's an athlete, as opposed to the multitudes of athletes that arent very good footballers that inundate the league at times.

Has made a great start to his navy blue career, and has topped the distance covered in each of his first 4 senior games.

Richmond - 14.5km
Geelong - 15.2km
GWS - 15.5km
North - 16.1km

Remarkable athlete.

Fantastic numbers he’s posting. Some of his efforts to even just cover ground to create a contest just to throw a player off a clear uncontested mark situation have been superb. He’s fairly clean disposal wise and will be even more damaging once he finds a bit more of the ball in open space. Very very impressed and happy with his output. That Centre Bounce attendance in the 4th with the clearance was also awesome.

Youth looking really good at Carlton, these 5 are 20 and under and looked great today:
  • Carroll (20) - limited exposure
  • Cowan (18)
  • Hollands (19)
  • Durdin (20)
  • Motlop (19)
Honey I’m not sure of, looks a long way off it but is 21 and is freaky athletic with a great set shot for goal.

Walsh is only 22 too and a potential choice for next captain.

In addition to the youth at our disposal, I thought our KPP’s played very well today. McGovern had 27 with a corked hammy from 73% ToG, Charlie dominated, Harry had moments and snagged a few and our ruck held up fine against Goldstein who is still a formidable opponent.

I’d like to see us pull levers a little earlier in future, I am a little worried however that we lack clarity in our plan A and it’s as a result of us having an equal focus on Plan B, C and so on.

Overall satisfied with the result and confident we’re headed in the right direction. First half was very frustrating but it’s not due to the opposition being poor, North knocked off Fremantle in Perth who you’d expect to be a 6th - 10th team. It’s just simply due to the fact that we played poor footy that didn’t leverage our advantages. Keen to see the improvement that comes with the re-addition of Walsh and Kennedy to our side. We can only get stronger when we replace players 21 and 22 with two of our top 10.

Actually I forgot to mention one other person, who IMO has taken his game to another level this year.
The guy I’m talking about is NEWMAN. Has always been handy but I feel this year he has become critical in our backline with his blanketing tasks and offensive outlays.
freaky that jimmae got dropped before newman.........

Hollands looks an absolute ripper. Gets everywhere he needs to, and just “gets it”. He had a centre clearance where he just leant on his opponent to move him under the ball, won it, then sensed the opportunity and hammered it forward fast. It was great.

We had North - who are not terrible this year - by 7-8 goals before switching off. It was a great second half. We always thought the big forwards would be too much and so it proved. Rapt with how Motlop is coming on.

The thing some third parties and commentators might miss is that our midfield was missing 3 key cogs - and George is clearly “just going”. North’s engine room is pretty good with LDU and Simpkin leading the way. This was definitely a danger area for us. The thought of Acres back on a wing and Kennedy and Walsh back into the midfield mix has me giddy. Guys who can run, kick, mark, just generally DO stuff.

PS - LOB should never play another game at the level.

We can be very frustrating with poor decision-making and still not sold on our structure/strategy, although I'm very pleased to hear H and Voss say that we are coached to move the ball aggressively (and acknowledge that we weren’t playing how we want to in the first half). The slow ball movement to contests out of defence and long bombs to packs in the goal square when we're in attack kill me and won't stand up against the better teams imo. Wish we'd deliberately get the ball in the hands of our better users more often too.

Playing the same one-paced mids at the CB kills me too - thankfully Voss recognised it this time and gave Doc/Fish time in the guts. Wouldn't mind seeing Mots given opportunity too. Will help when Walsh/Acres return and then Cunners/Boyd. I'd like to see it from the outset though, rather than waiting until we're being beaten. It should be our default setup.

We got a very good run from the umps again, following last week. Helped our momentum build in the third - esp the Cunnington HTB, which was a joke.

Enjoyed Motlop's game and Ollie's (again). I actually think Charlie has improvement in him - not loving the one-handed efforts, nor the wrestling when he should be leading. H has been better in the contest this year, including today. TDK's on a good path. Cripps excellent again. Cerra playing fairly well but don't enjoy the dives. Feel we have a lot of improvement in us, across the board.

Kangas fans should be very excited for their future. Such a strong midfield unit already and only going to get better. Beat us in there today, which was reflected in I50s and shots on goal.

At this early stage, it looks a low quality season .. which means a massive opportunity to go deep if we can get it all together. I hate the terminology, but our 'brand' or 'identity' isn't clear yet - we don't really know what we're going to get or what we're trying to do. Fingers crossed we keep improving. These early wins are very helpful, especially considering some of the games that other expected finalists have already dropped.

wtf is a low quality season?

Interesting that there seems to be a general feel that North's accuracy let them down. 7 of their 18 behinds were rushed. They kicked 11.11 off the boot.

Only 3 of our 11 behinds were rushed. We kicked 16.8.

Discounting the rushed behinds, we had more scoring shots and were 17% more accurate. Based on what I saw, we defended well, forced more contests, spoiled more often and kept them to a very manageable score until we subbed off an intercept defender for a young mid. At the other end, we opened up our forward line and kicked to deep 1v1s more often.

It wasn't North's poor accuracy that cost them the game.
H also completely missed twice.

Actually I forgot to mention one other person, who IMO has taken his game to another level this year.
The guy I’m talking about is NEWMAN. Has always been handy but I feel this year he has become critical in our backline with his blanketing tasks and offensive outlays.
I thought he was doing really well before the injury too. Has the right kind of mongrel and its rubbing off on teammates.
And his concentration is top shelf.

Our talls were absolutely dominant against a reduced North tall outfit. North mids/runners beat our reduced outfit of midfield/runners.

I thought we rope a doped them a bit. Just played slow while the run was in the game the first half. And then got it moving better when they got a bit tired , allowing our talls to dominate.

We play a style that our personel demand. We are not quick so we have to play slow and deliberate for large parts of the game. It isn't pretty but to play a free flowing game with very few running mids would be foolish. Walsh has been a huge, huge loss. He is our running, linking machine. Saady, Olli and Doc at times have done a sterling job of giving us some run, but we have much less than most teams when Walsh is out.

But we have a lot of strengths too, and the most important one, winning footy games is becoming one of them. We have an elite spine, we work our asses:thumbsu: off, and i love our 2 ruck set-up.

Well done Vossy and team for going 3 wins and a draw without Walshy.

There are very very few easy games of footy in AFL. Maybe 1 or 2 a year if you're lucky(and not Geelong FC). All our 4 games so far, the oppo have been up for it.
This is the best post in this thread, well done Terry:thumbsu:

Game was turned on its head when Doc went into the middle during the 3rd.

Defensive pressure through the middle of the ground was non-existent for the majority of the game.

Their ability to block, take an opponent's run, protect the team mate extracting the ball and working the angles to find an open player was good. Hopefully Voss points that out to the group.

I want my Kennedy, Walsh & Acres back!!!

Not the worst performance & happy to be undefeated, but we'll get smashed if we bring that sort of effort next week.
Yes and the Curnow tag on LDU.

Autopsy 2023 Rd 4 Tall Timber Too Good for Roos