VFL 2023 Swans Reserves

stephens motors about in the vfl - just gets on his bike and runs. As with the 1s he doesnt get the ball as often as his running would justify. feel for him

have been a long term defender but it is his lack of smarts in delivering the footy that is getting to me. He just not read the game and player positioning ahead of him as well as a Matty Roberts.

Not nearly as bad as Clarke though.

stephens motors about in the vfl - just gets on his bike and runs. As with the 1s he doesnt get the ball as often as his running would justify. feel for him
27, 29, 26, 35, 31, 28, 23, 31 in his VFL games this year. Not bad from a pure disposal count point of view. Averaging over 6 tackles.

As others have said, it's his vision and composure. He shows it occasionally, but just kicks without any real purpose a fair bit.

You would think a midfielder should be the sub every time. I mean what is the use of Francis if lets say Gulden goes down in the first 5 minutes.

You’d think a coach in his 12th season would have half a clue about the sub, but not Horse

Lloyd out of the game 🙄

Just thinking about the 2s and who is doing well/improving and who is not.

Big Mac is a weekly highlight. Got better with his contested marking and palming is improving, tho I reckon he misses Gus who reads him so well. 4/5

Arnold is proving a smooth interceptor and reader of the game. Handy user of the ball and can lock down as well. Settling in well and seems to have some backline org skills.:4/5

Buller seems a well rounded KPF and will improve with a big off and pre season. Sometimes get shocking service from Clarke and Stephens and that lessons his opps. Has a bit of fire and like that he does not give up. 4/5

Will Edwards is very raw but improves with each outing. Fast and strong, a decent contested mark and has the kick of a mule. 3/5

Magor improving and has good skills. Needs a massive off and pre season with lots of gym work. Unless he builds he is at risk of not making it. 3/5

Corey Warner has improved markedly. He is another who needs to build up. At present Oppo can walk through his tackles. 4/5

I really like Caleb Mitchell who is a natural footy player. Seems smart and tough. 3/5

Before his injury Cooper Vickery began to show some signs esp when he spent time on the wing. Until then I was mystified why we had taken him. 2/5

IMO the admittedly injured Konstanty has not impressed. Another in need of a big pre season. 2/5

Cam Owen may not havestopped growing. Has shown positive signs in recent times that suggest he could make it as a ruck. If it does click with him, I’d expect TAS would knock on his door. 2/5

HHK has been an all rounder and before Buller was a one out undersized target . Given the challenges he’s has done well. Smart player and accurate kick. 3/5.

Havent rated Sheldrick or Roberts as they are senior/ borderline senior players imo

Sheather surprisingly on the back of not much got a taste of the seniors and was not disgraced. Injured and out for the season and will probably be delisted. 2/5

Gould had a taste of seniors but has been average in the 2s. 2/5

Big Mac is a weekly highlight. Got better with his contested marking and palming is improving, tho I reckon he misses Gus who reads him so well. 4/5

Arnold is proving a smooth interceptor and reader of the game. Handy user of the ball and can lock down as well. Settling in well and seems to have some backline org skills.:4/5

Buller seems a well rounded KPF and will improve with a big off and pre season. Sometimes get shocking service from Clarke and Stephens and that lessons his opps. Has a bit of fire and like that he does not give up. 4/5

Will Edwards is very raw but improves with each outing. Fast and strong, a decent contested mark and has the kick of a mule. 3/5

Magor improving and has good skills. Needs a massive off and pre season with lots of gym work. Unless he builds he is at risk of not making it. 3/5

Corey Warner has improved markedly. He is another who needs to build up. At present Oppo can walk through his tackles. 4/5

I really like Caleb Mitchell who is a natural footy player. Seems smart and tough. 3/5

Before his injury Cooper Vickery began to show some signs esp when he spent time on the wing. Until then I was mystified why we had taken him. 2/5

IMO the admittedly injured Konstanty has not impressed. Another in need of a big pre season. 2/5

Cam Owen may not havestopped growing. Has shown positive signs in recent times that suggest he could make it as a ruck. If it does click with him, I’d expect TAS would knock on his door. 2/5

HHK has been an all rounder and before Buller was a one out undersized target . Given the challenges he’s has done well. Smart player and accurate kick. 3/5.

Havent rated Sheldrick or Roberts as they are senior/ borderline senior players imo

Sheather surprisingly on the back of not much got a taste of the seniors and was not disgraced. Injured and out for the season and will probably be delisted. 2/5

All pretty fair. I'd maybe do a 3.75 for Warner given some inconsistency. 3.5 for Rankin, yeah he makes some mistakes, but with what we make our defence deal with...

I was wrapped with the boys, we have had a couple of close games recently against Geelong and Collingwood where we couldn’t quite get across the line but we did a lot right,” Truslove said.

Intimate coach-player bonding.

All pretty fair. I'd maybe do a 3.75 for Warner given some inconsistency. 3.5 for Rankin, yeah he makes some mistakes, but with what we make our defence deal with...

Admit I may have erred a bit on the positive. Had forgotten Rankin. He has improved but his decision making really lets him down.he is a terrific kick but regularly over reaches. For me Rankin was 3/5. If he survives the list cull, I reckon he would benefit from sprint training in the offseason.

I would agree with all this.

Specifically on McAndrew, he has improved alot. Needs to bulk up and / or get stronger though. He was thrown around a bit by Soldo yesterday but overall, he is developing nicely. I would be hopeful that he plays a few more games in 2024 with 2025 being the year he really starts to challenge to be our number 1.

Good post! Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

I reckon Sheather has been good and will be re-signed.

I like Cooper Vickery, I think he's going to be fine. Just needs time.

I think Gould has been good in the Reserves (better than 2/5) but obviously not in the seniors and he will be delisted.

Probably wouldn't rate Arnold quite as highly as you. 3.5/5 would cover it. Don't think he's been so much better than Warner, for instance.

SYDNEY bagged its second victory of the season and brought Richmond crashing back to earth with a dominant last quarter securing a 21-point triumph at Swinburne Centre on Thursday.

Sydney had rattled home against Geelong the week before only to just fall short and its repeat effort was enough to lift it out of the bottom two.

The Swans had the better of a seesawing first half, holding a 14-point lead before Kaelan Bradtke took a strong mark against his old team and kicked truly moments before the main break.

The Tigers exploded out of the half time break with four goals in six minutes to take the lead and seemingly the win given the Swans had been blown away in similar style several times this year.

However, they managed to stop the bleeding this time through the agency of Sam Wicks, who kicked his second to stop the rot before adding two more in the last-quarter onslaught.

Wicks put his hand up for a quick AFL recall with his best-on-ground effort of 24 disposals, five tackles, five inside-50s and four goals. Meanwhile, the high-class midfield of Ryan Clarke (33 disposals, seven entries, one goal), Dylan Stephens (31 disposals, six clearances, eight tackles, six rebounds) and Corey Warner (28 disposals) all stood up on the same day.

Lachlan Rankin (24 disposals, six marks), Will Gould (22 disposals, six marks, seven rebounds) and Joel Crocker (23 disposals, seven marks) were outstanding down back, Hugo Hall-Kahan (17 disposals, six marks, two goals) provided a perfect foil for Wicks in attack and Lachlan McAndrew lost hitouts to Ivan Soldo 32-21 but picked up 18 possessions, five marks and six clearances around the ground.

Nice analysis Grand Uncle Horace although I suspect caesar88 will find your lack of Rankin analysis disturbing.

Personally, I’ve been a bit less impressed with the youngsters - although the addition of Buller has straightened things up and everyone looks better as a result.

Caleb Mitchell has probably been the one that I’ve thought has all the attributes to develop nicely. Strong, fast and as you’ve pointed out, seems a natural footballer.

Konstanty has probably been the biggest disappointment, but it might be a complete “forgive” year due to injury and the dysfunctional forward line pre-Buller.

Nice analysis Grand Uncle Horace although I suspect caesar88 will find your lack of Rankin analysis disturbing.

Personally, I’ve been a bit less impressed with the youngsters - although the addition of Buller has straightened things up and everyone looks better as a result.

Caleb Mitchell has probably been the one that I’ve thought has all the attributes to develop nicely. Strong, fast and as you’ve pointed out, seems a natural footballer.

Konstanty has probably been the biggest disappointment, but it might be a complete “forgive” year due to injury and the dysfunctional forward line pre-Buller.
Just forget about Konstanty's year and hope he gets right for next year

Yeah it's pretty much been the worst possible scenario for him. Even a season-ending injury would have at least let him completely reset, pressure off, with a view to next year.

Instead he seems to have been in a bit of injury limbo, on managed minutes when he's able to take the field at all, relegated to a forward pocket without a real KPF to crumb off, but lacking the conditioning to be shifted elsewhere to get involved. Not ideal for showing your wares or developing.

Really hope he can get his body right and come back strong next year.

What are they trying to turn Magor into a back? He is an obvious forward. No wonder he has not been playing well. He was ok on the weekend but prefer him forward while Konstanty is not there. Give him a go.

Rankin was great. Gould was shite. He wins contests but his ball use was terrible. He used to be a very good kick when he first came here. Now he is shite.

Buller tries but is not quite ready. Arnold takes some good marks but gets caught out of position sometimes. I like his size. He reminds me of Phil Davis.

Some of the VFL listed players disposal is shite. Shipley is a great example. Roberts played some good footy when he came on. Corey Warner and Rankin were the stand out players.

Mitchell was also good but faded in the third. But came good again in the last. Stephens gets a lot of ball but his decision making is terrible. He over thinks and then gets pressured and has to get rid of ball quickly and stuffs it up.

On CPH2471 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Clearly I'm a fan but I'm not sure what the eagerness to see Rankin at senior level is all about. He's been very good but he is built like a twig still. To my eye it seems obvious he needs another pre-season in the gym and though the season is cactus in terms of our flag hopes, that doesn't mean we should needlessly throw players into the level when they're not ready for it. Does them as well as the team no favours.

I will repeat an earlier point that I'd like to see him named as an emergency, both as an acknowledgment of his form and an encouragement to keep it up. It's a small but meaningful way to let squad players know they're on the right track.

Sydney Swans v Footscray Bulldogs
Friday, July 14, 12:05pm
Lakeside Oval (Tramway)

3. Dylan Stephens
4. Ryan Clarke
10. Aaron Francis
17. Will Gould
19. Peter Ladhams
28. Will Edwards
31. Tom Hickey
32. Jaiden Magor
34. Matt Roberts