List Mgmt. 2023 Trade & List Management Thread II - Goldy&Bucket➡️✅/'24 EoFR & #44➡️Stephens&#25✅/#21&#25➡️Fisher&#17✅/'24 EoFR➡️#18✅

Jackson Hately. 191cm inside mid, once a highly rated junior. Any unfulfilled upside in him worth trialling as a DFA?

I'd much rather we use the PP24 x 2 as a way to get another top 10 pick this year, rather than just burn them.

I agree with you though, if we even dilute any of the PP's on Fisher or Stephens I will be absolutely livid.
So would I, but they don't hold much value so I can't see that happening. Clubs know we have to get rid of them. We would have to give up a first rounder this year to get anywhere close to getting a top 10 pick such as Geelong's. Anything after Geelong's pick and your picking from a lower tier of prospects.

One thing that people are failing to factor in with the Reid v McKercher debate is that the latter will leave not long into his career with us.

You’re kidding yourselves if you truly think he would have the option to stay with us instead of going to Tassie. The AFL will make sure that he gets there as a marquee player and I’d guarantee we’d get jack for him in terms of compensation.

If we pick Reid, as a fan I’d be super invested in his development and plenty of young kids know his name already. If we pick McKercher, I’d be far less attentive to his development because there would be that nagging thought in the back of my mind: “what’s the point in caring? He will leave anyway”
the stadium isn't built yet. The government that did the deal is about to fall over, and no-one else wants it

Political situation in TAS is quite fragile. Team is by no means certain and timeframe less so.
Tasmania will have a team you can bet your bottom dollar on that!! Whether its a new stadium or play out of whatever stadium until they build one, the AFL didn't grant a licence for nothing nor do they like having egg on their face after such a major announcement.

I'm happy with a trade where we give up 2, 3 & 14 for 1 & 5.

But only if we rate pick 3 & 5 similarly (if we would be getting, say, Watson or Sanders either way) so that it is essentially 2 & 14 for 1.

That would mean that West Coast need to close the gap between 14 and 5.

I would give up something else, like pick 40, if we get Chol in the deal.

Tasmania will have a team you can bet your bottom dollar on that!! Whether its a new stadium or play out of whatever stadium until they build one, the AFL didn't grant a licence for nothing nor do they like having egg on their face after such a major announcement.
I've never been convinced the AFL wants another team, and putting a huge condition on it is evidence of that.

If the team falls over because the stadium doesn't happen, the egg isn't on the AFL's face.

Honestly, you don't have to worry about all the permutations, Brady is "hopefully" unlikely checking BF for ideas. If we trade for pick 1 we trade for it, if we don't we don't.

How well did Reid test this year? Is he athletically gifted? I know everyone keeps saying he is a one in a generation talent, but what makes him so? Did he even dominate the comp this year?

I don't watch underage footy so I'm just asking the question rather than disputing it.
I've watched highlights and he looks good, definitely a good player, but he doesn't look fast and he hangs on to the ball at times.

Someone mentioned upthread about him getting caught htb alot. So did LDU but he did have the pace to get away from players as well.

I think McKercher compliments us more than anyone else in the top 10.

Reid across half back is close, but McKercher's speed and running power is a ridiculous cherry on top to Wardlaw and LDU.

As you said, his constant running power is the other thing. Wardlaw and LDU are not great endurance athletes. McKercher would compliment that really well, as well as mainting the speed around stoppage.

McKercher runs a 960 Yo-Yo, which is higher than Sheezel last year, who was an endurance animal on Olly Hollands level. We saw how well Sheezel did deep in games when others couldn't.

You are getting that with McKercher a 30+ disposal game a midfielder that runs all day, likely 4+ clearances, with breakaway speed that gets between the arcs and kicks goals.

He's basically Caleb Serong with LDU's footspeed.
For years lack of speed has cost us. We bang about Bailey Scott having a great number of repeat sprints and bemoan having no one else to. Seems like a very important thing to me.

I'm still very much in the take McKercher at pick 2 camp. There are a lot of deficiencies with our list, I feel speed is the main one.
Yep. Guys like Bailey, Warlord and LDU stand out because of it. Lets have more of it I reckon.

I'm happy with a trade where we give up 2, 3 & 14 for 1 & 5.

But only if we rate pick 3 & 5 similarly (if we would be getting, say, Watson or Sanders either way) so that it is essentially 2 & 14 for 1.

That would mean that West Coast need to close the gap between 14 and 5.

I would give up something else, like pick 40, if we get Chol in the deal.
Wouldn't it be 2 & 3 for 1 & 5?
The 14 seems excessive.

So would I, but they don't hold much value so I can't see that happening. Clubs know we have to get rid of them. We would have to give up a first rounder this year to get anywhere close to getting a top 10 pick such as Geelong's. Anything after Geelong's pick and your picking from a lower tier of prospects.

Yeh, I can't see us getting much for those two pics TBH. We should be looking at clubs who have NGAs or F/S's for next year, because future picks 19 & 20 can't be attractive for most teams as they stand now.

Is that proclamation in your capacity as Premier of Tasmania ? The AFL are a player in this game but don't set the rules. Agree it is likely but think the timeframe is much more fluid than is presently thought. Temporary stadiums in Hobart and Launceston is also very likely IMO. Licence is contingent on a stadium so all possibilities still available at the moment.

They have meetings don't they.

"How can we get people reading and listening to this shite."

"What about if we frame a trade like its on I'm a celebrity get me in the SAS."

"If we start calling a negotiation that will probably not happen a challenge then people might click to see what's up. Its a different word after all."

"I like your thinking. Then we can say someone failed a challenge if nothing happened. Then next week we can call it abttle for pick one.!!!""

"That someone is North Melbourne btw."

"JackNicholson looking demented and mental.GIF"