Ultimate Glory 2023 Trade speculation and Shinbeggars discussion

Why wouldn’t we go after doedee instead? Might come much cheaper and I reckon he’s better player than McKay. Fantastic one on one and intercept.
McKay is not a better player but is a better fit, can play bigger. Doedee is a good player but a player we have far too many of already. Plus the knees are a big concern.

If Mackay wants to come to Hawthorn can't we walk him to the PSD so North don't get a compensation pick.

They nominate their salary requirements when they lodge their PSD application. Mackay can lodge for $2m+ for 2 years or something similar, North wouldn't match that.

If we're worried about WCE bidding make them walk Brocky there too.

Then go hard for the GC pick and it's all on for 2 out of 3 of Duursma, Wiz and Colby.

Chances of Hawthorn doing that to a young First Nations player with kids and who has requested a trade home in the current climate: absolutely nil. As seemed inevitable from the moment he wouldn’t sign a new deal, unless he chose the Dockers, we will have to accept whatever garbage West Coast offers. It sucks but is what it is
Was always going to be the case. I still remember a world people were talking Liam Ryan to the Hawks and Brockys value was pick 10.

People need to look at logic and bargaining power as key principles before they post nonsense.

Sent from my SM-S911B using Tapatalk

Yeah, nah. We can’t cut off our noses to spite our face - a 3rd round pick helps for points for McCabe - take it and run.

I'm torn on this. We get bent over regularly. It would send a message.

If West Coast want to be jerks over Brockman then so be it.

Just file it away for next time there’s a VIC player who wants to come home to us.

By that time we won't be anywhere near the bottom of the ladder and can't threaten with PSD.

Future players and player agents will notice if we got indignant over a 20 year old with twins trying to get home to a club that he will absolutely get guaranteed senior footy at. Playing hardball gets us absolutely zero. Are Gold Coast better off now because they took nothing for Martin? Were St Kilda better off taking nothing for Luke Ball?

We need points for McCabe this year and possibly CJ’s brother also. Pick 38 would help with that - if we get offered that then take it and bid Brockman farewell and a good 5-7 years of playing for a side that won’t come close to finals footy.

In the current market no club is going to give us anything higher than a third round pick for Brockman so let’s all stop the tantrums and get some assets in the door for players who want to play for us.

I'm torn on this. We get bent over regularly. It would send a message.
Not sure what message it sends. That if you piss us off with a low-ball offer we’ll let you have the player for free?

If the club weren’t willing to play hardball on certified club champions like Tom Mitchell and JOM, not sure why they’re going to decide to suddenly make a stand and play hardball with a young indigenous kid who desperately wants to get home due to a delicate family situation. Never going to happen.

Not sure what message it sends. That if you piss us off with a low-ball offer we’ll let you have the player for free?

Yup - the Suns are now such trading kings after letting Martin go for free. Nobody messes with the fearsome crew that give you a first round pick to take big average midfielders off them.

Future players and player agents will notice if we got indignant over a 20 year old with twins trying to get home to a club that he will absolutely get guaranteed senior footy at. Playing hardball gets us absolutely zero. Are Gold Coast better off now because they took nothing for Martin? Were St Kilda better off taking nothing for Luke Ball?

We need points for McCabe this year and possibly CJ’s brother also. Pick 38 would help with that - if we get offered that then take it and bid Brockman farewell and a good 5-7 years of playing for a side that won’t come close to finals footy.

In the current market no club is going to give us anything higher than a third round pick for Brockman so let’s all stop the tantrums and get some assets in the door for players who want to play for us.
What “current market “ is this ?

Are they offering a 3rd round pick or not offering that either ?

What “current market “ is this ?

Are they offering a 3rd round pick or not offering that either ?

A player who was drafted at 46 and has played 26 games isn’t generally the kind of player to get you a second rounder, are they?

He’s clearly a talent but the histrionics over this already is deadset embarrassing. Take what we can get and focus on our trade goals. Anyone wanting pick 19 for Brockman is being silly.

Just saw a clip from this evening’s AFL360. Robbo making some heartfelt case that McKay should consider what type of player he wants to be remembered as and to not just take the best offer in front of him.

Interesting timing that we get this update and then a couple hours later an Essendon supporting journo is saying that lol
That’s riiiiiiiiich coming from a bombers fan

Brockman was hardly a star performer. He has shown a small amount of improvement in his output from his debut season to this season.

First season - he averaged sub 8.9 touches and kicked less than a goal a game (10 in 11).

Second season - he did not play a game.

Third season - he averaged 11.1 touches and kicked less than a goal a game (13 in 15).

He has shown some flashes of class, but he hasn't proven anything as yet. Right now he is just a talented youngster with some potential - which makes it hard when trying to come up with a trade value for obvious reasons.

Lots of media mates created this.
When there is a threat of losing a player, the media always jump in and talk up the player, so they either get overs, or the player stays.

Other clubs get talked down, and the media heaps pressure to cave
I don’t think the decision making of professional list managers are actually influenced by click bait AFL typists - do you?

You mean playing hard ball like Tyler already is.

This is a business.

You mean playing hard ball like Tyler already is.

This is a business.

God this is nonsense. Tyler is not playing anything apart from for the eagles next year. This is media beat up. Read the actual sentences. Prepared to go to the psd every player would be they don’t care how they get to their new home. Eagles reluctant to give more than a third round pick that could be 38. Which is what we want. Holy crap people this is the second time I have posted it. Ned Ryerson its sign time.

I don’t think the decision making of professional list managers are actually influenced by click bait AFL typists - do you?

Not directly.
It's the flow on though. If you don't appease the media the jump on, which then affects the clubs ability to attract lucrative sponsors, as well as influences who gets the prime timeslots for fixturing

God this is nonsense. Tyler is not playing anything apart from for the eagles next year. This is media beat up. Read the actual sentences. Prepared to go to the psd every player would be they don’t care how they get to their new home. Eagles reluctant to give more than a third round pick that could be 38. Which is what we want. Holy crap people this is the second time I have posted it. Ned Ryerson its sign time.

So do most posters here still “wish Tyler all the best” if he does go to WCE via PSD??

Has played the club and supporters all year like a fiddle, if we can’t get at least pick 38 Tyler and WCE have screwed us over royally

So do most posters here still “wish Tyler all the best” if he does go to WCE via PSD??

Has played the club and supporters all year like a fiddle, if we can’t get at least pick 38 Tyler and WCE have screwed us over royally
I'm sick of the club being bent over for players who leave
Send him to the PSD if he wants to play hard ball.