Resource 2024 AFL Draft discussion thread (Wed Nov 20 to Fri Nov 22)

Which realistically available player SHOULD we pick at #4?

• Sid Draper

• Jagga Smith

• Harvey Langford

Results are only viewable after voting.

Dawson and Curtin are exactly that.
Spot on !!!! ….. at what point do you become too top heavy

Already playing 3 x tall Fwd’s ….. have one of the tallest defences already

The need … the need for speed !!!

My new prediction:

Richmond: Lalor
NM: Tauru
Blues: Draper
ADL: FOS

I would love this. Sign him up on a long term Rachele/Soligo type deal. No need to spend capital trading up for a top 2 player (IMO) in the draft. Less go home factor than Smith.

Trade for Draper in 2027 when Carlton inevitably implode.

Dawson is many things, a good forward is not one of them though, IMO he probably goes back behind the ball in 2-3 years time. Curtin certainly looks good, but hes still young.

This guy can play.
No one is saying Langford isn’t a good player …. but you’ll notice every team on that Top 5 of the draft, is talking about which player suits their teams need

No one in this Draft is taking best available , given the evenness

Dawson is many things, a good forward is not one of them though, IMO he probably goes back behind the ball in 2-3 years time. Curtin certainly looks good, but hes still young.

This guy can play.
I think you’ll find that if we take Langford he will be the one playing behind the ball, and we will see Dawson more and more playing forward. It hasn’t paid off yet but Dawson has all the tools to succeed up there and Langford has the perfect game to play that sweeping quarterback role.

I have absolutely nothing against Langford, he’s a can’t miss prospect, but he’s game is very similar to what we’ve got, whereas Drapers is unique to our team as it stands.

I agree with most of this, however if Reid is a ruthless bastard then why did we roll over so quickly on pick 25 for ANB which would probably have got Dodson, and why are Smith, Schoey. Burgess and Strachan still on our list when none of them are close to our best 22?
mate not getting into every one of these specifics again. ANB is actually worth pick 29 or whatever it is and was under contract and finished third in B&F. ultimately i think in this case Reidy has decided to 'not try and win every battle but win the war' as per commonly accepted parental advice. He knew we only had Welsh to pick up and was happy with pick 60 ish to use on him based on intel that I imagine he has gathered and the strategy of putting him on the strict Maccas diet for a couple of mths meaning he can barely run 2km without stopping to walk. He let Dees have a 'little win' that ultimately didnt really matter to us

I agree with most of this, however if Reid is a ruthless bastard then why did we roll over so quickly on pick 25 for ANB which would probably have got Dodson, and why are Smith, Schoey. Burgess and Strachan still on our list when none of them are close to our best 22?
Schoey, Burgess & Strachan are all still on our list because they were contracted prior to 2024. They probably wouldn't have been given contract extensions if they had come out of contract this year - but they didn't.

Smith was out of contract - but, for reasons which remain unexplained, he was allowed to reach the games trigger in his contract. This granted him an automatic 12 month contract extension. Either Nicks was delusional about Smith's chances of regaining form (and deliberately got him to the trigger), or the left hand wasn't letting the right hand know what was going on re: Smith's contractual status (failing to tell Nicks to drop him before he reached the trigger).

Regardless, all are contracted for 2025, which is why they're all still on our list.

All of them are out of contract at the end of 2025, and it's unlikely they'll be on the list in 2026. The only possible exception here is Schoenberg, who may show improvement as he recovers fully from his achilles injury (yes, I may be being overly optimistic here).

I think you’ll find that if we take Langford he will be the one playing behind the ball, and we will see Dawson more and more playing forward. It hasn’t paid off yet but Dawson has all the tools to succeed up there and Langford has the perfect game to play that sweeping quarterback role.

I have absolutely nothing against Langford, he’s a can’t miss prospect, but he’s game is very similar to what we’ve got, whereas Drapers is unique to our team as it stands.
Id prefer Draper too, and Lalor FWIW

In that scenario I reckon Carlton take FOS.
more and more talk in media that Draper is firming for Blues. Whether its misinformation or not we may well find out in a few days. FOS had an underwhelming year and to my untrained eye both he and Smith do not excite me as Lalor and Draper do. Problem is I reckon unless we trade up to 2, both Lalor and Draper will be the first 2 mids selected (and Tauru at pick 2). Then we need to choose out of FOS, Smith and Langford.

Personally I would want Lalor or most likely Draper as Lalor gone at pick one IMO

Might be smoke and mirrors by Carlton but I’m sold on them taking Draper personally. I don’t think they traded up for a player who will come good a few years from now. Draper may not have as high a ceiling as FOS but will certainly be more impactful in year 1, especially in a one-way midfield lacking pace. Carlton are in win-now mode and Draper offers more to Carlton’s midfield in the short term IMO.
Then they are robbing themselves

While I rate Draper he is not the answer to 2025 - for us or Carlton

If Carlton grab him and play him 15-18 games they still wont improve

Out of all the options of Smith, Draper, Lalor, FOS and Langford, even if all were available, Hamish would probably pick Langford, the least needed out of the mids given their attributes.

Smith go home factor may be the issue as mentioned and I am firming that Carlton will take Draper given their thoughts would be he "will settle in with the Camporeale boys"
And when the Camporeale boys get delisted in 3 years, Draper can come home along with the other Crows supporter on their list, Elijah Hollands.

Might be smoke and mirrors by Carlton but I’m sold on them taking Draper personally. I don’t think they traded up for a player who will come good a few years from now. Draper may not have as high a ceiling as FOS but will certainly be more impactful in year 1, especially in a one-way midfield lacking pace. Carlton are in win-now mode and Draper offers more to Carlton’s midfield in the short term IMO.
agree and with their pathetically easy draw released y/day - seriously WTF with that? - they should be close to flag faves along with Lions IMO, followed by GWS and Sydney (GWS very unlucky not to do much better last year in 2 heartbreaking finals losses). Draper is the most plug and play option to impact them winning the flag in 2025 IMO

Easy draws don't win flags. Just ask Port.

If we are the keen on Draper i hope we are working with North melbourne to so a pick swap..

Rumour on the draft board that we offered pick 4 and our three F3s but North knocked it back.

It’s an interesting situation- there aren’t that many suitors available for North who can provide a pick where they are still almost guaranteed to get Tauru. We have that pick but not much else (assuming we aren’t silly enough to put F1 on the table).

So while it seems to be a very cheap upgrade for us, at what point do North think they may as well get those picks as a freebie rather than taking Tauru at 2 - win win for both clubs.

They undoubtedly will have other offers, but with a much higher risk of missing out on Tauru completely, so can’t imagine they will really entertain those, esp with the talk Melbourne will take him at 5.

May also be that the media speculation about Tauru at 2 is wrong, and they’re content picking a mid instead, so they simply aren’t that fussed about it.

Fascinating that the top pick is unclear this close to the draft. Hasn't been that way for a very long time that I can recall.

If FOS goes at 1 it's anyone's guess what happens after that.
If FOS goes #1 I can’t remember a time when a #1 pick has been so underperformed in his draft year

And I get the injury disruption

Schoey, Burgess & Strachan are all still on our list because they were contracted prior to 2024. They probably wouldn't have been given contract extensions if they had come out of contract this year - but they didn't.

Smith was out of contract - but, for reasons which remain unexplained, he was allowed to reach the games trigger in his contract. This granted him an automatic 12 month contract extension. Either Nicks was delusional about Smith's chances of regaining form (and deliberately got him to the trigger), or the left hand wasn't letting the right hand know what was going on re: Smith's contractual status (failing to tell Nicks to drop him before he reached the trigger).

Regardless, all are contracted for 2025, which is why they're all still on our list.

All of them are out of contract at the end of 2025, and it's unlikely they'll be on the list in 2026. The only possible exception here is Schoenberg, who may show improvement as he recovers fully from his achilles injury (yes, I may be being overly optimistic here).
All this is true, however the fact that they are all still contracted, or that we didn’t manouver enough cap space to be able to pay 1 or 2 of them out, is directly on Reid surely. I’m just saying there is plenty of evidence that he isn’t in fact a tough bastard as claimed.

It is in fact pretty weak that we are sitting here now going into a year with 4 players that aren’t going to be close to our best side, while the best SA ruckman since Grundy will be available at around our 2nd rounder, an obvious glaring need for us, and we don’t have a spot for him.

Rumour on the draft board that we offered pick 4 and our three F3s but North knocked it back.

It’s an interesting situation- there aren’t that many suitors available for North who can provide a pick where they are still almost guaranteed to get Tauru. We have that pick but not much else (assuming we aren’t silly enough to put F1 on the table).

So while it seems to be a very cheap upgrade for us, at what point do North think they may as well get those picks as a freebie rather than taking Tauru at 2 - win win for both clubs.

They undoubtedly will have other offers, but with a much higher risk of missing out on Tauru completely, so can’t imagine they will really entertain those, esp with the talk Melbourne will take him at 5.

May also be that the media speculation about Tauru at 2 is wrong, and they’re content picking a mid instead, so they simply aren’t that fussed about it.
If I was NM I would be doing everything to convince the Crows that they are going to take a midfielder rather than Tauru. If we’re sure that they go with the tall then we have way more leverage and they probably end up taking that deal. If we are convinced the picks will be Lalor, Smith, Draper then we might well end up doing the F1 for their F2 deal. Big game of poker going on I think.

Zero Hanger has us picking Langford. as of 18 hours ago. I don't know any of these guys like so many of you, but what I do know is that we need a speedy chap, the type we haven't had since Dangerfield. I'm all for trading to 2 to get Draper. Gotta make a stand some time!

We brought Peatling in to be that type, and theres a guy called Rankine who can run a bit.

Big game of poker going on I think.
I think thats why the Tigers have not revealed who they will take at Pick 1 and similarly if the Roos will take Tauru at Pick 2.

It definitely will give an edge to the Blues and Crows in their selections.

all that makes sense and I agree 3 x third rounders aint that appealing (Crows got a F1 from GWS - with nothing going back their way - going from 4 to 6 in one draft for GWS specific reasons). I was hoping we could turn these 3rd rounders into 1 x F2

Also, a little conspiracy theory is that its in the Dees interest to feign interest in Tauru - even if they didnt want him - to stop North trading with Tiges which is the most obvious and easiest trade partner (eg 6 and 18 for 2). By Dees ensuring Tauru goes at either pick 2 (or perhaps our 4), Dees get one further midfielder up on their list

Would be fascinating to see what really goes on at club land. Even Blues could be overstating interest in Draper to effectively weaken us going forward and helping Kangas (with Kangas then 'owing' Blues a favour down the track)

Easy draws don't win flags. Just ask Port.
well obviously BUT they can play a materially big part when you already have one of the most talented teams in the comp - clearly a top 4 ish list.

unless you want to argue finishing top 4 isnt a much better chance of winning the flag than 5-8

Resource 2024 AFL Draft discussion thread (Wed Nov 20 to Fri Nov 22)