Resource 2024 AFL Draft discussion thread (Wed Nov 20 to Fri Nov 22)

Which realistically available player SHOULD we pick at #4?

• Sid Draper

• Jagga Smith

• Harvey Langford

Results are only viewable after voting.

I reckon you’re overplaying this a bit

This is a 12 year midfielder hopefully , team balance in season 1 isn’t that important

And a need for our midfield is someone that helps create scores more than anyone in the draft but also does lots of hard work without the footy
If we have a choice between players & one better suits our immediate midfield balance needs & they are similar quality...

Such a fascinating year.

I’ve been enjoying all of the mind and media games between Carl/Adelaide.

All the different scenarios were worked out over the weekend for both clubs and I think both will walk away happy.
I take it that it maybe means you guys end up with FOS/Smith and we end up with Draper.

How could the most dominant midfielder this season of 2024 draft not be a midfielder though ?

What’s the theory here ?
Ashcroft for IMO has been the most dominant mid this season, dominated at every level he played, school, CTL, Nationals and VFL. Best on in the Academy game against Footscray as well. 3 times AA U16, dual U 18.

I take it that it maybe means you guys end up with FOS/Smith and we end up with Draper.
That’s my read of it all.

Depends on Pick 2 and the permeations from there.

1. Lalor
2. FOS (Nth, Rich) Smith (Adelaide)
3. Smith / FOS (Carlton)
4. Draper (Adelaide)

Ashcroft for IMO has been the most dominant mid this season, dominated at every level he played, school, CTL, Nationals and VFL. Best on in the Academy game against Footscray as well. 3 times AA U16, dual U 18.
I reckon the larke medallist and guy that had more score assists and score involvements and also kicked bags of goals in CTL might have something to say about that

Also in terms of being more damaging

Not so sure the fact Carlton's recruiting team and coach Michael Voss flew over last week for a meet and greet with Draper would indicate they have serious interest. Campo twins might be a part of their thinking as well.

1. Lalor
3. Smith / FOS (Carlton)
4. Draper (Adelaide)
If Tauru ends up pick 2 to north , going to be fascinating to see if Carlton take FOS smith or Draper

I’m definitely starting to get the feeling north desperately want Tauru but don’t want to take him at pick 2 and will side with FOS if they can’t slide back to take a bit of pressure off the pick

Absolutely fascinating stuff

Q&A about to happen on H/Sun

Some initial questions already awaiting to be answered. Anyone like me to ask anything on their behalf?

James
8 minutes ago
If all 3 of Jagga Smith, Sid Draper and Finn O’Sullivan are available at pick 3, who do you think Carlton will choose?

Anonymous
20 minutes ago
Surely the crows won't overlook Sid Draper if they can't get Jagga Smith. (edited)

Anonymous
1 hour ago
will the proposed trade between North and Crows for pick 2 happen?

Q&A about to happen on H/Sun

Some initial questions already awaiting to be answered. Anyone like me to ask anything on their behalf?

James
8 minutes ago
If all 3 of Jagga Smith, Sid Draper and Finn O’Sullivan are available at pick 3, who do you think Carlton will choose?

Anonymous
20 minutes ago
Surely the crows won't overlook Sid Draper if they can't get Jagga Smith. (edited)

Anonymous
1 hour ago
I can answer the first one for you:

Smith

So is Lalor a 100% lock for pick 1? This seems to be a constant in your thinking.
All seems unclear what will happen.
North appear to be bluffing they'll take FOS when they really want Tauru.
Adelaide may or may not want Draper over Smith.
Carlton may want Smith over draper.

If Crows want Draper, and North take FOS, Carlton take Smith all ends well.

*you mean north want Tauru but only if they slide back ?

FOS seems to be going in top 2 , that’s main thing to learn off gettable this morn I think

1. Lalor
3. Smith / FOS (Carlton)
4. Draper (Adelaide)
sorry mate just to clarify...IF Crows moved to 2 and got Smith (which would surprise me but I am just a numpty), you still would take FOS over Draper in your view? Seems to be lots of misinformation (and wasted flights by Voss last week) then with the Blues and Draper rumours recently

If Tauru ends up pick 2 to north , going to be fascinating to see if Carlton take FOS smith or Draper

I’m definitely starting to get the feeling north desperately want Tauru but don’t want to take him at pick 2 and will side with FOS if they can’t slide back to take a bit of pressure off the pick

Absolutely fascinating stuff

I wonder if north are locked in for Tauru no matter what, but are making a bluff on FOS to encourage us to trade

is anyone else feel a little uncomfortable that things are 'all sorted'??..perhaps I am too skeptical and dont understand the inner workings of how teams operate 'together' to ensure everyone is looked after. I just dont understand that IF Blues wanted Draper clearly its in their interests to 'project' that they wont take him to ensure Crows dont jump them and get pick 2.

This is me just talking from a laymans perspective but do find it really interesting that teams have already arranged who is taking who - all done in good faith and without risk one team is giving misinformation to ensure they ultimately get the prize they most want.

*you mean north want Tauru but only if they slide back ?

FOS seems to be going in top 2 , that’s main thing to learn off gettable this morn I think
Yes - and maybe Adelaide have worked out they can get Draper by staying at 4.
And North panicking because they have no one willing to slide back for them.

Most likely to least likely scenarios

Scenario 1 - most likely
Richmond Lalor
North FOS
Carlton Smith
Crows Draper ( or Langford )

Scenario 2
Richmond Lalor
Richmond FOS
Carlton Smith
Crows Draper ( or Langford )

Scenario 3
1. Richmond Lalor
2. Crows Smith or FOS
3. Carlton Smith or FOS
Who cares at 4

Scenario 4 least likely
1.Richmond Lalor
2.North Tauru
3. Carlton Smith ( or FOS )
4. Crows FOS or Draper

I think Draper is most likely guy we take at 4 ; if we trade up to 2 I think we are taking smith or fos

Anonymous
2 hours ago

Chris Cavanagh
now
It’s going to be hard to pull off, given the Kangaroos would like a future second-round pick thrown in, which the Crows don’t currently have. But it’s clearly been discussed, so you never know.

I wonder if north are locked in for Tauru no matter what, but are making a bluff on FOS to encourage us to trade
Possibly and would be wise

I’m sensing they might be too nervous to take Tauru at pick 2 as it’s a decent reach and reputations are on the line

They want him but they want to take him at 4-10 somewhere to take pressure off the pick

sorry mate just to clarify...IF Crows moved to 2 and got Smith (which would surprise me but I am just a numpty), you still would take FOS over Draper in your view? Seems to be lots of misinformation (and wasted flights by Voss last week) then with the Blues and Draper rumours recently
I think they’ll still take FOS.

I think the due diligence work (such as meeting with Sid) done during the period serves two purposes:

1. Get to know Sid, and further background work if we did want to pick him (keeping in mind, I’m assuming that Carlton are coming from a long way back and wouldn’t have seriously anticipated being able to draft Sid during or at the end of the season - prior to securing pick 3).

2. Put it out to the media that we are interested in Sid, and therefore spook the Crows to trading up and picking him at 2 thereby letting Smith get through.. As it would turn out, Adelaide saw straight through this and then did the same with leaking their interest in Jagga if they secured pick 2.

Resource 2024 AFL Draft discussion thread (Wed Nov 20 to Fri Nov 22)