Resource 2024 AFL Draft discussion thread (Wed Nov 20 to Fri Nov 22)

Which realistically available player SHOULD we pick at #4?

• Sid Draper

• Jagga Smith

• Harvey Langford

Results are only viewable after voting.

Langford is a gun, absolutely class, I'm projecting him to be the best in this class

We have bulk speed in Peatling/Rankine

But if we go Draper, oh boy, we'll be super quick

Hoping North go Tauru, leaves the possibility of Tigers wanting to move up to 4, one of Draper/Langford will still be at 6 for certain in this scenario (likely we stay at 4 though)

My gut feel is we are leaning Langford purely to balance our mids. Rankine has speed and class, do we need two with speed and class or would it be better to balance it out with a bigger and bulkier mid. Soligo has speed as well. The more I think about it the more I think Langford is the better choice if he is as good as everyone says he is. But wouldnt be upset with Draper either. Whoever we get is rated elite

There was a rumour a couple months ago when port were potentially trading Houston to north, that they wanted an early pick for Draper specifically.

Any truth to that?

I heard that as well. They would have been interested no doubt every club would have him on the list. But if they got pick 2 would they have picked Draper with the other talent up for grabs?

I think needs should play a part if the available players are close in talent. But if the players aren't close, you should trade up or down to get in the right range for the player type you need.

Generally, if you take best available at the higher picks and go for needs at the back end of picks, you should be fairly balanced for type. Trade where it gets too out of whack. You can then go best available again next time around.

North are a good example of having focused on mids and now have an imbalance to address. Ideally they could trade down to get in the right range, but looks tough this year.

We didn't reach for mids, but took them late and traded for more (our 3 best mids), but can now take best available with our talls locked in.
Did you put 'explain list management to a child' into Chat GPT?

My gut feel is we are leaning Langford purely to balance our mids. Rankine has speed and class, do we need two with speed and class or would it be better to balance it out with a bigger and bulkier mid. Soligo has speed as well. The more I think about it the more I think Langford is the better choice if he is as good as everyone says he is. But wouldnt be upset with Draper either. Whoever we get is rated elite
Feel like Draper balances our midfield more, we've been crying out for speed for years. Rankine will likely still play a hybrid mid/forward role - like it when he's at half forward and rolls up into the midfield and back at his own discretion, very hard for the opposition to plan around that and he's still our most dangerous forward. Peatling is quick and Soligo quicker than most give him credit for but I feel like you can't have enough in the modern game - especially as our first choice flanks and wings aren't that speedy. If one of two of those guys are injured, all of a sudden we're a one paced midfield again.

Langford looks terrific too, one of those 'make things happen' players. If we do go for him, you'd think they maybe aren't as impressed with Edwards as they were when we drafted him.

Feel like Draper balances our midfield more, we've been crying out for speed for years. Rankine will likely still play a hybrid mid/forward role - like it when he's at half forward and rolls up into the midfield and back at his own discretion, very hard for the opposition to plan around that and he's still our most dangerous forward. Peatling is quick and Soligo quicker than most give him credit for but I feel like you can't have enough in the modern game - especially as our first choice flanks and wings aren't that speedy. If one of two of those guys are injured, all of a sudden we're a one paced midfield again.

Langford looks terrific too, one of those 'make things happen' players. If we do go for him, you'd think they maybe aren't as impressed with Edwards as they were when we drafted him.

You are right. Draper as a full time mid would be awesome to have and Rankine can float between the two roles. Edwards is a bruiser but perhaps he is taking time. But I was under the impression he was getting close to selection by the end of the season. Competition for spots isnt a bad thing. When we drafted Edwards we probably had not planned on being anywhere close to someone like a Langford or Draper. Getting either to me I dont care. Either one would boost our midfield. Langford being his size will probably take a couple of pre seasons though where as Draper is a straight up round 1 selection.

Been a good while since we've seen competition for spots. Edwards looked ok, not sure if he was close to selection or just stood out among an average bunch in the SANFL, he's coming from a fair way back anyway, bit of a project player. There must be some kind of plan though (you'd hope) if we do draft Langford, going from the smallest midfield in the comp to the tallest.

would not be upset to see O'brien, Curtin, Draper/Langford and Rankine line up in the middle in the near future

Gameday fellas.

lets hope Hamish has a better game plan and tactics than our coach!
Will probably wake up tomorrow to find he's drafted Angus Clark at 4, with Hamish mentioning 'competitive' 16 times in the post draft interview.

Such a tight call I reckon

Won’t be surprised either way tonight

Still hoping smith gets through but that would surprise me

Such a tight call I reckon

Won’t be surprised either way tonight

Still hoping smith gets through but that would surprise me
It wouldn't surprise me as much, I think Draper is better suited to Carlton's midfield mix but they likely take the sure thing in Smith, who's probably the all round better player. And probably plays round 1 next year too.

Would be very interesting to see what we did if Smith and Langford are both there at our pick.

While I can't see me being unhappy however it pans out, I like the fact we probably don't need to ever worry about Draper leaving for big money or to 'play in front of big crowds' - a phrase that's started to creep into player movement lately. Having said that, he probably gets offered $2M to go play in Tassie, Bock and Davis style.

Could happen. Its been tipped as a possibility.

I guess arguably who has a higher ceiling. Langford still has to grow into his body for AFL level footy while Draper playing a whole year of Sanfl maybe what you see is what you get. Nothing to grow into. To me i dont mind. As long as the performance comes. So melts may happen but if langford is a hit then everyones going to be happy regardless. Although some people still argue we should have gone Ebert instead of Dangerfield. So........
Wow

I would have thought if was 100% the other way around with physical development.

Don't think I've ever seen so much chat on here about one pick before (when it's likely we'll just select the SA guy who's rated in the top 4).

I think because its been just about our only silver lining to a bin fire of a season.

The fact a local gun SA kid thereabouts with said pick has certainly given us all a tiny sliver of hope for future to potentially follow his journey with us.

Obviously too with this draft being stacked with gun mids at the top end (being the position we are crying out for more elite class) has certainly created alot of fervour!

Resource 2024 AFL Draft discussion thread (Wed Nov 20 to Fri Nov 22)