Analysis 2024 AFL Draft General Discussion

Cripps is a handball first in and under ball winner. He really has no need for a good 20m sprint compared to Langford who needs to create space to maximize his damaging ball use by foot.

I don't think the comparison has much merit.
I can tell you Cripps runs just under 3 sec these days for 20 metres sprints
His preseason training season in Perth last year worked on his sprints and got his time right down

Mate, you're dreaming. If we trade pick 6 it'll be to get pick 2 or 3. There's no way in hell we'll trade our F1. I don't even reckon we're as in love with Jagga as the media and some posters in this thread would have you believe. FOS and Lalor our clear 1-2, and I reckon Langford is our #3.
You say that, but Tigers' F1 for pick 3 would be a trade you hate now but look back on as being genius.

I can tell you Cripps runs just under 3 sec these days for 20 metres sprints
His preseason training season in Perth last year worked on his sprints and got his time right down
Wouldn't surprise me. He's a very different athlete to what he was drafted as. My concern would be that Langford is probably closer to a 'professional' than Cripps was at the same age, so I'm not sure if he'd have the same ability to improve upon his athletic ability as Cripps did.

Some shots of Finn O"Sullivan during the agility test:
Finn O'Sullivan - Combine-2.jpg

Finn O'Sullivan - Combine-1.jpg

Some shots of Jagga Smith:
Jagga Smith - Combine-1.jpg

Jagga Smith - Combine-2.jpg

Tobie Travaglia:
Tobie Travaglia - Combine-1.jpg

Leo Lombard:
Leo Lombard - Combine-2.jpg

Leo Lombard - Combine-1.jpg

Harvey Langford:
Harvey Langford - Combine-1.jpg

Harvey Langford - Combine-2.jpg

Can you tell me the WA boys
Particularly Will Hayes as he registered quicker than Malaki in the WA academy preseason testing
But Malakai has beaten him at this draft combine
Hayes 3.002
Urquhart 2.975
Gerreyn 3.156
Artemis 2.959
Angove 3.100
Davis 3.125
Riddle 3.098

Not a big fan of the "if you can football you can football" argument. There are often kids who are excellent juniors who struggle at AFL level due to lack of foot speed. Only have to look back one year to George Stevens.

Not saying he won't make it or anything like that, but to me it clearly makes Langford a riskier pick.
There's also plenty of athletic types that don't make it

On SM-S921B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Cripps is a handball first in and under ball winner. He really has no need for a good 20m sprint compared to Langford who needs to create space to maximize his damaging ball use by foot.

I don't think the comparison has much merit.
Langford has many strings to his bow including an ability to take a contested mark , run and carry on the outside with his overlap run and find the footy and take it cleanly with his ground balls

Too many people obsessed with raw combine numbers

Look at Travaglia’s 20m sprint … if you read that you’d think he’s slow , but when you watch him live he plays at great speed

Interesting. Maybe the Suns academy is just in a purple patch with the quality of players at the moment. I wonder why players like him even bother with the combine. The Suns will match regardless of how he does, surely performing well just encourages other teams to bid a bit earlier.
Suns and Lions have strong academy programs and AFL participation is growing in boys and girls aged 12–17. It’s not a purple patch. It’s continuing and looking stronger.
Dogs may look to trade up for it, their F1 is on the table.
Dees also looking to get a bid in for Kako.

Saints working on a deal to get pick 9 from Essendon. Future first and a swop of later stuff

McGowan thinks Dees at #6
Genuine question - is he really that good? Definite first-rounder but don't recall him being touted Top 10 until this week.

Very outside-in view, but I also would've assumed the Dees would go for one of the topline mids. Though perhaps there are real concerns about losing Kosi in future.

Analysis 2024 AFL Draft General Discussion