Game Day 2024 AFL Draft Live discussion Rd1, 2-4 and Rookie Draft

At the beach

david hasselhoff credits GIF
Weirdly also speaks German

You may as well go for high ceiling players with late picks or kids that were injured most of the year. I think we have worked that out with 20 years experience often picking 3 to 4 at the death because of our trade week involvement. They seem to be the only ones that work out when assessing 18 year olds. If they don’t work cut them quick. Solid well exposed kids playing in the National Carnival with deficiencies or closer to full development never seem to work out. They are media and big footy favourites though

If your picking solid role players then just go a mature ager where you know what your getting.

Dempsey - no football background
Gyran - unbelievable endurance for a small fwd
Jack Henry - athletics background
Blitz - runner
Humpries- elite skills 16 hours from Perth.
All the Irish guys.

You may as well go for high ceiling players with late picks. I think we have worked that out with 20 years experience. They seem to be the only ones that work out when assessing 18 year olds. If they don’t work cut them quick. Solid well exposed kids playing in the National Carnival with deficiencies or closer to full development never seem to work out. They are media and big footy favourites though

If your picking solid role players then just go a mature ager where you know what your getting.

Blitz - runner
All the Irish guys.
I'm glad we don't pick based on list needs late and draft on talent mostly.

I don't mind our picks in isolation 2 are very powerful players (polk and keighton) and players with real speed (molier and lennox) and that's the way the game is going. It's a good draft.

I just feel like we let slip the chance to make it a great draft through better live trading.
With some quick moves we could have ended up with gerryn (who is equally athletic) and Clarke or bice/Davidson. Missing both mature agers by 1 pick is a fair bit galling.

That said not a bad draft for the picks we had and i think Hoffman in particular will be a ripper.
Not taking a mature ager tonight says we have more faith in guys like knevitt and Clark than I thought although it will be interesting to see if we take a mid like henderson or a 2025 ruck cover tomorrow (an issue we still haven't addresssed).

I’d be interested to know whether we attempted to trade up but we’re denied.

You may as well go for high ceiling players with late picks or kids that were injured most of the year. I think we have worked that out with 20 years experience often picking 3 to 4 at the death because of our trade week involvement. They seem to be the only ones that work out when assessing 18 year olds. If they don’t work cut them quick. Solid well exposed kids playing in the National Carnival with deficiencies or closer to full development never seem to work out. They are media and big footy favourites though

Blitz - runner
All the Irish guys.

Agree with the premise but I would have Gryan in the slider category personally. Slid due to being small and that kicking technique. He kicked 7 in a TAC GF and 50 for the season. I think small players are the ones that can buck the slide. If you have a big bodied mid that slides like a Constable or Stevens I think you have very little chance of getting a player. I don't like our first pick on the basis of lack of athletic ability. I would have preferred to take Davidson who slayed the testing.

I’d be interested to know whether we attempted to trade up but we’re denied.

Me too. It's hard to know if anyone else was willing. I just feel like if we could have moved a couple of picks up for a future 2nd or 3rd we missed a trick.

I’m hoping we take Will Rantall.
Had some injuries this year but has played basketball for Australia and has good speed and a nice kick.
Is Jay Rantall’s younger brother.

Rookie draft….

Henderson or his Wer Tigers team mate?

Mature ruck type ?

Local player ?

Unless we really like them I'd pass on older mature aged players. We kept Bews, Duncan and Stanley who provide our mature depth.

I'd also pass on a mature ruck. At best they'll take 30 games to really find their feet at AFL level. Blicavs and Stanley are better options this year in the ruck and by the time an older player comes good Conway and Edwards should be ready to go.

I'd focus on high upside youngsters.