Game Day 2024 AFL Draft Live discussion Rd1, 2-4 and Rookie Draft

Think the new Irish guy is a mid in time and Oisin tagging now. Also the last 2 picked tonight could develop into the midfield rotation in time so not so thin on mids given Bailey and those coming on now in VFL

Best result: keeping our future picks.

Hoff seems a decent pick though

If next year doesn't go as planned at least we have our picks.

I like the athletic profiles of Molier and Hoff.

I think very tough for a mid forward without an athletic profile for Polkinghorne.

KMF sounds a bit like a Max Rooke type. Not a profile we draft a lot. We have a lot of young guys with talent, not so many wrecking balls.

End of the day if 1 of the 4 becomes a long term player we have done well.

Molier is listed as a "Ruck/Forward" so perhaps we intend to use him predominantly as a KPF?
Recruiters would have had a close look at them as they both played in the same side for Sturt, can only think we wanted the one who could play forward because on exposed form Dodson was the miles better Ruck.

I don't mind our picks in isolation 2 are very powerful players (polk and keighton) and players with real speed (molier and lennox) and that's the way the game is going. It's a good draft.

I just feel like we let slip the chance to make it a great draft through better live trading.
With some quick moves we could have ended up with gerryn (who is equally athletic) and Clarke or bice/Davidson. Missing both mature agers by 1 pick is a fair bit galling.

That said not a bad draft for the picks we had and i think Hoffman in particular will be a ripper.
Not taking a mature ager tonight says we have more faith in guys like knevitt and Clark than I thought although it will be interesting to see if we take a mid like henderson or a 2025 ruck cover tomorrow (an issue we still haven't addresssed).

Recruiters would have had a close look at them as they both played in the same side for Sturt, can only think we wanted the one who could play forward because on exposed form Dodson was the miles better Ruck.

Molier showed really good ruck craft in patches he's just very raw.

Not that I saw them play one game but Dodson is younger, taller and has played less footy than Molier. Dodson’s ‘highlight’ real though would have to be the most underwhelming I’ve ever seen however.

Be interesting comparing them over the next few years. At the end of the day it’s throwing darts for Wells after pick 30 so not fussed at all. We literally never seem to pick a pre draft name after that point

Unlike Coll, Carl and WCE who I literally think just pick the next best available from the Fox Footy best available.

I'd keep an eye on where they deploy Hoff
At the beach

david hasselhoff credits GIF

I don't mind our picks in isolation 2 are very powerful players (polk and keighton) and players with real speed (molier and lennox) and that's the way the game is going. It's a good draft.

I just feel like we let slip the chance to make it a great draft through better live trading.
With some quick moves we could have ended up with gerryn (who is equally athletic) and Clarke or bice/Davidson. Missing both mature agers by 1 pick is a fair bit galling.

That said not a bad draft for the picks we had and i think Hoffman in particular will be a ripper.
Not taking a mature ager tonight says we have more faith in guys like knevitt and Clark than I thought although it will be interesting to see if we take a mid like henderson or a 2025 ruck cover tomorrow (an issue we still haven't addresssed).
Let alone a key position player over 190cm who can develop in the ressies.

We literally have nobody.

Let alone a key position player over 190cm who can develop in the ressies.

We literally have nobody.

That's true I'll be surprised to see what we do tomorrow as really dek is our only cover for both kpd and the 1st ruck spot unless we bring someone mature in.

Not taking a mature ager tonight says we have more faith in guys like knevitt and Clark than I thought

If we brought in another mature aged midfielder, we would just be stagnating. It's now go time for Clark, Bruhn, Knevitt and Mullin.

Looking mainly positive… and typically impossible for the media to call winner or loser when what is known is so thin. The drone on about Richmond is obvious and lacks thought. They had early picks and picked the picks that were mainly on everyones board. I give more credit to GWS for going their own way than Rich for picking who they picked. Blind fredy could pick a “winning” draft hand with 7 picks under 30. ..and real winning will be a call made in years to come.

Basically it seems to me we have draft two footballers and two athletes who clubs like. and if we get one long termer from the draft. great.Its probably a winning draft.

The highlights of Polk and ..( struth what will call this young man) KMF …. look potentially imposing . Polk mark and kick are highlight stuff and KMF looks like a power player like Stringer,Danger, Petrrica etc ..with a powerful left boot. My question only relates about .. do they have the necessary athletic traits to handle the level. 2K time and 20M is a simplistic measurement but its valuable as it sets a guide of ability to handle a higher grade of player. Bother resonate the type that if tehy succeed ..will have the bitching and moaning about Geelong will not be ending any time soon.

Hoff and Mol …. have the foundation in spades… I find it hard to believe why Stk did not take Hoff bu maybe it was a list choice ..only so many of the same type etc. Maybe they do not feel they need him. Im not sure it was our highest need either but his size and speed ..is Holmes comparable. On to the protein shakes and setup up a tent in the gym …and he could see game time next year. It seems we have been focused on speed factor as we went for the under developed Mol as a young tall instead Dodson. Just have to trust the call till we see what we have. Id say they must think Dodson will take more time or Mol has the higher potential. The one neg is he will not be helping us in the seniors for sometime.

So lets see what the Rookie draft brings.

What pick dance were you think we should have done? Maybe the cost of trades was just on the nose so we kep our selves clean for next year. I think the SWans may have jumped us on Bice. Interesting. Did any phantom have us linked to any of our picks?

You think the mature ruck Blak.. and someone like Henderson is chance for Rookie?