Ford Fairlane
- Feb 21, 2002
- AFL Club
- Port Adelaide
- Other Teams
- Port Adelaide Magpies
AFLW 2024 - Round 9 - Indigenous Round - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
If it’s so even from 10-20 I don’t see why working a deal that sees us move 3 spots up in this range is insurmountable.
Precisely, although can't see Richmond doing that deal for 3 picks coming to us. Either 13 for 20 and 23 with Tigers, or 13 and 29 for 16 and 21 with GWS or 13 for 19 and 22 with Swans (which they offered Suns before if reports are to be believed).I'd rather not spend our picks on 1 high one. I'd rather multiple lower picks for it and give our recruiters something to work with and more shots at the bullseye. Can we give Richmond pick 13 for their 20, 23 and 24? They won't need to go that deep anyway with pick 13 onboard.
I don't think the joke will ever get old. Can definitely imagine BT saying "Ough, to the Horny one"Still hope we draft the Jack Off guy
I’m in the other camp. Trade up for the elite talent you’ve identified.I'd rather not spend our picks on 1 high one. I'd rather multiple lower picks for it and give our recruiters something to work with and more shots at the bullseye. Can we give Richmond pick 13 for their 20, 23 and 24? They won't need to go that deep anyway with pick 13 onboard.
Why are people carrying on like trading up from 13 to 10 is going to cost us an arm, leg, kidney, and jhf’s future son?
I would’ve thought a second rounder would get that done easily.
The Age has an article with a top 40 phantom draft based on current picks.
We have spoken to recruiters at 14 of the 18 clubs to get the lowdown on this year’s top 40 prospects and which clubs they might end up at. Father-son and academy bids will alter the order and that has been factored into our phantom draft.
For Port:
16. Jack Whitlock (Reid and Trainor also possibilities, they acknowledge our interest in Cooper Hynes who they have going at 28)
31. James Barrat
38. Angus Clarke
The AFL draft is just weeks away. Here’s where the top-40 prospects could land
The draft is rapidly approaching and the 2024 class has recruiters salivating over its depth of talent and variety. We rank the top-40 players.www.theage.com.au
The Age has Adelaide drafting Langford and Draper falling to St Kilda's picks.
Murphy Reid at 20 to the Bulldogs.
Last thing we need. Sick of uncompetitive key forwards. Also a flight risk given has brother.The last line in their write up of Whitlock is “some query his competitiveness.” That’s not what we need.
We need to maximise the number of picks under 30 this year. Next year is supposedly a weak Draft. Tassie in after that. This is our one chance to stock up for years to come!Giving up yet another second rounder when we lack young players coming up behind our established talent due to a decade of trading out second rounders?
If there’s more than a cpl of teams that have taken less picks in the 20-35 range than us I would be shocked.
We can’t really afford to keep doing it.
Whitlock strikes me as closer to a Scully type project player than a blue chip kf prospect. If the net result of losing Houston is gaining Whitlock we’ve really ****ed up.
Reid to slide that far? Surely not
What you said there might be why they are leaning to use a pick to upgrade our first rounder, so they don’t have to delist anymore.We need to maximise the number of picks under 30 this year. Next year is supposedly a weak Draft. Tassie in after that. This is our one chance to stock up for years to come!
I'd be splitting 13 to get 2 picks in the 18 to 24 range, add to pick 29 and 36 we already have, and we should get some decent players from those 4. Our later main Draft pick for matching a Barrett bid - or a pre-season pick in 2025.
But with only 5 spots currently available (9 off the list, less 3 traded in and 1 (Moss) upgraded to a Rookie), and with the need to have 4 Draft picks + Barrett + Rome (total 6), we need to delist one more from our current list to accommodate them. And one more to accommodate enough picks.
And bear in mind, that isn't allowing for Montgomery to be picked up (reckon we have to sacrifice someone who is really lineball AFL standard).
**** giving up picks this year for a slight upgrade. We have to start building for the future right now.
Ridiculous though. Charleson, McEntee and Williams could easily make way to get better talent from this draft. Even Tommy A is lineball.What you said there might be why they are leaning to use a pick to upgrade our first rounder, so they don’t have to delist anymore.
Pretty good I would also include Xavier Lindsay if still there at our 1st pick.I am throwing a list here of positions and the targets for me
View attachment 2156420
The reason I have gotten it into a matrix of some sort is to work out some permutations because we do have a few positional needs to fill and this gives me a clearer idea of where targets are likely to land on draft night and where we need to position ourselves to get a variety of positions
I would have Lindsay in the HB position, but I don't want to really use a first rounder on a HB. Travaglia I can see moving into midfield but I think Lindsay's position at AFL level is a HB.Pretty good I would also include Xavier Lindsay if still there at our 1st pick.
Ridiculous though. Charleson, McEntee and Williams could easily make way to get better talent from this draft. Even Tommy A is lineball.
Part of a deal with Richmond and GWS for the former to get Pick 2.
Big Footy sleeping on this young man. Could be the best KPF in the draft when it's all said and done.CHARLIE WEST (Woodville-West Torrens/Immanuel College) Key forward/ruck, 18, 195cm