Orange crush
- Aug 12, 2017
- AFL Club
- GWS
Which is odd as the Eels are playing nearby on the same day as our gameThey simply want Qld & NSW teams to play crowd pulling teams whilst there's no rugby on.
The idea will be to start the season with the hype of a round 1 sellout with tickets in high demand with the hope that the hype and difficulty in getting tickets creates ticket demand for later games.Hi guys, while I don’t mind this and look forward to the game it seems that a pies/giants game would attract a good crowd any round next year. Putting such attractive games on to open the season seems a waste when a Footy starved public would rock up to any game at all first round. Or am I reading this wrong?
I thought it was the weekend they were in Las Vegas, but just saw it's the week before. Read something about the grounds being available, long weekend & just hoping to gain some interest from those states by having all nsw/qld afl teams all playing in their own states ... ?Which is odd as the Eels are playing nearby on the same day as our game
Yeah, just building on new/qld doing well last year … add in the new tigger/suns rivalryI thought it was the weekend they were in Las Vegas, but just saw it's the week before. Read something about the grounds being available, long weekend & just hoping to gain some interest from those states by having all nsw/qld afl teams all playing in their own states ... ?
Yes, they are all good match ups. All have a bit of their own rivalry building.Yeah, just building on new/qld doing well last year … add in the new tigger/suns rivalry
I’m definitely looking forward to it, too …. Nice to have the “grand final” replay first upYes, they are all good match ups. All have a bit of their own rivalry building.
If the footy starts a week earlier, I'm all for it
Might shut up all those whinging about Vic bias for a minute. And Pie supporters who live in NSW didn't have a game in NSW last year, so it's good for them.
Melbourne must be furious, they surely 'expected' the replay to be against them..I’m definitely looking forward to it, too …. Nice to have the “grand final” replay first up
The hate he is getting is hilarious, bunch of sad people coping: "They dont travel blah blah blah". Fact of the matter is we went to QLD twice, SA twice, and perth once. We don't sell our games at small grounds like Darwin, tassie etc.Coxy's not impressed
It shits me how people bang on about how often we play at the G. It's not our fault it's also where we play Dee's, Tigers, Hawks, Bombers, Blues for their away games. Nor is it our fault no team plays each other twice, which sometimes includes a couple of interstate sides.The hate he is getting is hilarious, bunch of sad people coping: "They dont travel blah blah blah". Fact of the matter is we went to QLD twice, SA twice, and perth once. We don't sell our games at small grounds like Darwin, tassie etc.
We travel, everyones beef is that pissant stadium is only going to be filled because we are going there. Unfit for a big clash
I agree. The sooking over the fixture is tiresome. We play plenty of games at the G. And I couldn't care less what day or night it is.I actually don't mind the concept. As a Melbourne based member I'm spoiled for games to go to. Definitely looking to head up there and tick going to Giants Stadium off my bucket list (hopefully add in Heritage Bank Stadium, the Gabba and possibly the SCG as well).
The AFL often gets criticised (sometimes fair enough) for perceived Victorian bias. So then create a round with games in NSW ans Qld, they get criticised, mainly form Vic fans and Melbourne based media, like we don't have enough games we can go to.
Honestly I'm a bit over the sooking up from members and fans about the fixture each year. We can't always play at the MCG and we can't always play Saturday afternoon, sometimes it has to Thursday night, Friday night, Sunday twilight etc. And I'll be honest, I'm lucky cause I have a job where I can work from home and I do appreciate not everyone can do that but still.
We went 5 wins from 6 games on the road.It shits me how people bang on about how often we play at the G. It's not our fault it's also where we play Dee's, Tigers, Hawks, Bombers, Blues for their away games. Nor is it our fault no team plays each other twice, which sometimes includes a couple of interstate sides.
We played in SA 3 times last year, didn't we? And won all 3. So it's not like travelling bothers us. We've generally always played well interstate anyway.
And thur night games changed from 7:20 to 7:30Friday night games start 7:40 in 2024
Pretty much reverting back to what it was from pre-2012 (before the TV rights deal incorporated live football for every single match).Friday night games start 7:40 in 2024