Rumour 2024 Hypothetical trade and FA Thread

i dont think it's that crazy, if collingwood finish 9th again next season they essentially get Noble for free and GC don't need a 1st rounder for this draft

I thought the same, why’s everyone losing it?

They’ve moved 13 to next years draft as it would be lost to the Lombard bid, and got a player in they wanted who actually wants to play for them.

So for this year they’ll bring in Rioli, Noble, Collingwood’s f1, and Lombard.

For 6, 13, and whatever the bid is worth.

Everyone’s just seeing 13 for Noble and losing it.

Mate the Pies getting pick 13 for an F1 and Noble. Lolllll
Noble was playing VFL.

Just fold GC.

You're also missing that the pies will get back pick 29 aswell.

The only time the Suns have ever shown a backbone in trade negotiations was with us for Jaegar.

Something to think about if the eagles are just gonna on-trade pick 14 to the tigers for Baker why not offer a future 1st instead.

Tigers already have enough picks in this years draft so maybe they won't mind staggering one for next year.

GC are in an interesting position, they have loads of picks but have a list squeeze due to the AFL list concessions rolling off and also need future picks to match academy players next year, the AFL is going to tweek the rules as well to make matching more steep.

Every club seems to rate this draft and they potentially need to trade out of it.

So not surprised if they work in 13 for a F1 into the Noble deal.

They need pick 14 for some of the other trades they want to do and probably don't prefer to split pick 3. So the longer we hold out the less we'll pay as they get desperate.
Bingo. Reckon this is the play right now.

The market really has changed for trading in key position players over the last ten years.

We got Lake and pick 27 for picks 21 and 41 in 2012 (sweet FA in short). And Lake was the best KPD player of his generation!

Yes Barrass is a few years younger than Lake was when we traded him in but Lake was the better player (not a slight against Barrass just acknowledging how damn good Brian was at playing footy).

I'm guessing of course that Big Bad Brian's behavioral "issues" probably got us a decent discount on that trade but geez it still looks like an absolute bargain in hindsight.

You're also missing that the pies will get back pick 29 aswell.

The only time the Suns have ever shown a backbone in trade negotiations was with us for Jaegar.

Something to think about if the eagles are just gonna on-trade pick 14 to the tigers for Baker why not offer a future 1st instead.

Tigers already have enough picks in this years draft so maybe they won't mind staggering one for next year.
Personally i would rather lose this years

Who knows what next year could end up like. Yes we should be at the pointy end but we could have a horror run with injuries and be handing over a top 10 pick

Better to give what you know imo

It’s day 1 and all huff and puff.

Although people thought this would get done early it was never going to happen.

Yes the centre piece of the deal might be done but the second part was always going to require some negotiation.

Hawks have done the chasing here and Eagles have to be seen by everyone to be driving a tough negotiation.

If we had a key player contracted for another 3 years and he wanted to be traded we would be doing the exact same thing here.

Not Clarko - he'd drive the KPP to the airport himself & ship him off for an F4

It’s day 1 and all huff and puff.

Although people thought this would get done early it was never going to happen.

Yes the centre piece of the deal might be done but the second part was always going to require some negotiation.

Hawks have done the chasing here and Eagles have to be seen by everyone to be driving a tough negotiation.

I don’t disagree with what you’ve posted but do you think it’s time the industry grew up ?

Do we really need to have the tough guy posturing ?

Can we just grow up & do deals that a fair for everyone, instead of having to win every trade ?

We are dealing with young people’s careers.
Players often mention afterwards how they were on holidays & stressing about whether they get to the club of choice or stay where they are.

I'm really happy that we've retained nearly all of our key players this season. Hardwick, Nash, Morrison, CJ, Gunston, Breust, Scrimshaw, Frost all extending is huge. Adding Battle and Barrass to this squad along with another year of experience means we could be seriously contending next year.

The market really has changed for trading in key position players over the last ten years.

We got Lake and pick 27 for picks 21 and 41 in 2012 (sweet FA in short). And Lake was the best KPD player of his generation!

Yes Barrass is a few years younger than Lake was when we traded him in but Lake was the better player (not a slight against Barrass just acknowledging how damn good Brian was at playing footy).

I'm guessing of course that Big Bad Brian's behavioral "issues" probably got us a decent discount on that trade but geez it still looks like an absolute bargain in hindsight.

Hid face didn’t fit at bulldogs…which seems to be constant over there

I don’t disagree with what you’ve posted but do you think it’s time the industry grew up ?

Do we really need to have the tough guy posturing ?

Can we just grow up & do deals that a fair for everyone, instead of having to win every trade ?

We are dealing with young people’s careers.
Players often mention afterwards how they were on holidays & stressing about whether they get to the club of choice or stay where they are.

Yep I hear you but if another club had been courting Sicily and he wanted to leave now while contracted how would the Hawthorn faithful handle a pick around 15 for him?

The club employs people to negotiate here and get the best result for our club.

So we need to negotiate and in any negotiation you generally ask for the world and slowly both parties give some ground.

This deal will get done because that’s what Hawthorn does. We may pay a little more than what everyone thinks is acceptable but you can back it in we will be spending time looking at all options that suit us the best.

Tom has said his goodbyes while receiving his life membership. There is no coming back from that one.

So if
Correct he has not got a contract for next year and most likely won't get one allowing other clubs to recruit him as a delisted free agent.

Is he out of contract? We won’t get anything for him
Clubs will trade with a club even if the players is out of contract, as if he gets delisted he becomes a delisted free agent for life and can leave at the end of each contract like Dylan Moore is for us.

Reading the interviews with Clarke and MM. Hawks have tabled an offer and thats it and WC saying publicly its not enough or they're unsure to take it as other deals have to progress for them because of Barrass pick/s being acquired. But Hawks haven't heard back whether WC will accept offer. Ball is in WC court.

If that's all we want to pay then we must hold firm, other clubs do we may want a good pick in a strong draft.

Take your pick

Grainger barass
Phillips
Bailey mac (contracted but we can pay out )
O sullivan
Bennetts
Butler

4 from these 6 can go
Phillips and Bennetts are rookies. Not helping main list.

Keeping Morrison, Maginness and Frost, it probably paints Serong, DGB, O'Sullivan out the door. Perhaps one or two more.

Rumour 2024 Hypothetical trade and FA Thread