- AFL Club
- Hawthorn
- Other Teams
- Storm, Spurs, Socceroos
- #18,956
2024 Picks
2025 Picks
2025 Picks
Wouldn't surprise me to see us trade out our remaining F1 at 18-25 to jump on someone we like on draft night. Nab a Whitlock, Faull, Shanahan, Lindsay, Gross, Moraes. Heaps to like in that range.I wonder if they package 18,20, 23,24 to try and obtain some F1's.
Will be an interesting watch regardless.
The official song of the 2024 trade period
I think Gigamark's personal theme music for the trade period is this:
This exactly. Going to have a team of B graders. Ain't winning a flag.Going to be really interesting watching Richmond the next few years. Gone all in on a draft that has no standout superstars but a massive amount of depth.
They are going to be worse than North/WCE in recent years IMO. Their players over 25 next year are:What’s astonishing is some of the 150+ point thrashings Richmond are going to cop next year.
They are going to be worse than North/WCE in recent years IMO. Their players over 25 next year are:
32 - Prestia (no hammies)
32 - Lynch (cooked and a flog)
32 - Broad
32 - McIntosh
32 - Vlaustin
31 - Nankervis
30 - Short
28 - Hopper
27 - Taranto
25 - Balta
They will be even worse in 2026, even though they have talented young kids. The genuine concern is their development when in two years most of the good senior players are gone.
The flog to decent bloke ratio in that list is very high.They are going to be worse than North/WCE in recent years IMO. Their players over 25 next year are:
32 - Broad
32 - McIntosh
32 - Vlaustin
31 - Nankervis
30 - Short
28 - Hopper
27 - Taranto
25 - Balta
They will be even worse in 2026, even though they have talented young kids. The genuine concern is their development when in two years most of the good senior players are gone.
I think Gigamark's personal theme music for the trade period is this:
They are 18th and were going nowhere with what they had after Hardwick screwed them and left. That's a super draft hand. Yes, they might miss with some picks but in a good draft that's as good a rebuilding springboard as you can get, noting they will certainly finish bottom 4 again and get another high pick next year, at the very least. They got overs for all three departing players.Yup - add to that a coach in Yze who I hardly think moves the needle and doesn't strike me as a developmental coach. They need a senior assistant/coaching director in there pronto.
Granted it's about the right time to bottom out with Tassie coming in - but if they don't absolutely get it right on multiple levels and the kids don't come on they could be in for a world of hurt long term.
They are 18th and were going nowhere with what they had after Hardwick screwed them and left. That's a super draft hand. Yes, they might miss with some picks but in a good draft that's as good a rebuilding springboard as you can get, noting they will certainly finish bottom 4 again and get another high pick next year, at the very least. They got overs for all three departing players.
Hopper and Taranto would have a life-size cut out of Damien Hardwick that they take to the local rifle range, me thinks.Definitely not mocking their strategy or draft hand at all - it needs to happen and they did well with the assets they had. Just the gutting was brutal and some of the losses they cop next year are going to be massive. They need a couple of mature bodies in there via DFA or state leagues to ensure that crop of kids they draft don't get absolutely destroyed during their developmental years. It could be a hugely successful move - but it could also be like the Demons under Neeld.
Tom Barrass is seriously good and when he's saving our arse next year, I reckon it will be hard to find anyone owning up to having said something like 'walk away and keep the 2x 2025 first round picks'.
Eagles have been well run for years due to firstly Brian Cook (can't fault him at all) and then Trevor Nisbett (spent 10 years under Cook). However, they have chosen Don Pyke as their CEO with no experience in football administration. Not sure what West Coast were thinking as he already looks out of his depth.Hypothetically if Harley were to request a trade to Hawthorn whether it be next year or year after, I can’t fathom the asking price.
If the Eagles are all high and mighty on a bloke that’s 29, allegedly has a crook back and they’ve once reneged on a hand shake agreement to pay him more, what will they be like with the hottest property to move clubs since Judd?
Will be a boatload of picks and a good player at minimum.
Pick 14I imagine we’ll be into Richmond for one of their first rounders.
Reeks of Norf....They are going to be worse than North/WCE in recent years IMO. Their players over 25 next year are:
32 - Broad
32 - McIntosh
32 - Vlaustin
31 - Nankervis
30 - Short
28 - Hopper
27 - Taranto
25 - Balta
They are going to be worse than North/WCE in recent years IMO. Their players over 25 next year are:
32 - Broad
32 - McIntosh
32 - Vlaustin
31 - Nankervis
30 - Short
28 - Hopper
27 - Taranto
25 - Balta
Mark is just putting the kettle on, I'm guessing he's probably going to start thinking about it in an hour or two.I imagine we’ll be into Richmond for one of their first rounders.