List Mgmt. 2024 List Management discussion

Prediction- Who is delisted this year(not retirements).

• Berry

• McCluggage

• Lyons

• McCarthy

• Answerth

• Lane

• Prior

• Madden

• Lester

• Joyce

• Zorko

• Michael

• Brain

• Reville

Results are only viewable after voting.

McLachlin nominated on an 18 month contract term so he's definitely around for another season.
I think Beecken could be retained based on that one game and plus being older and Kidsy only coming back.

Craven looked a very odd selection to me, small, undersized and based off highlights and that one game (yes a very small sample size), I just don’t see how or why we would retain him.

I would much rather keep Dev than Tunstill. He might be more skilful but he is very Vanilla and has had very little impact in his games to date.Dev is much more aggressive and a fierce competitor. Tunstill might be worth a late second rounder from West Coast but he would not be in our best 22.

On SM-A525F using BigFooty.com mobile app
I’m the same; I just don’t see it with Tunstill although he is still young.

I think Beecken could be retained based on that one game and plus being older and Kidsy only coming back.
I believe we'll keep Beecken as well.
Craven looked a very odd selection to me, small, undersized and based off highlights and that one game (yes a very small sample size), I just don’t see how or why we would retain him.
We're looking for a purely defensive small forward, has the same athletic and physical attributes as McCarthy.

I think 6 will go: Lyons, Lane, Joyce, Madden, Prior and Michael.

I reckon Dev is going to West Coast. Looks to now be behind Tunstill for a best 22 spot.

We could just draft 3 and upgrade Lester to the regular list again.
I think worth hanging on to Joyce. He seems to be improving, getting a nod as one of the best on ground in the Vfl regularly and named as an emergency often. He's also cheap, can't be costing us too much. He's a ready to go kp depth player, may not be a future lock in best 22 but until a ZZ or future draft pick comes on he is a good option.

Lyons, Lane and Michael I agree are likely delistings. Lyons, like Matho to a degree, too good for Vfl but not a regular first grader. And also like Matho will only hold out a developing kid with potential in the Vfl. Lane hasn't come on and Henry Smith seems to have hit a patch of good form and recognition recently. Michael sadly is just a victim of continued injury.

Kiddy's return, Answerths form and Brains rise puts pressure on Madden and Prior. I can see one being delisted. Maybe even both. How many hb's to we want to carry.

I don't know that Tunstill is ahead of Dev. Both performing well in the Vfl, Dev's clearance and tackling numbers a bit better. Dev was a finals player. Tunstill got his games early while Dev was injured. I think if Dev was fit at the beginning of the season he would have been well ahead. I'd hate to see Dev go, I think he's the only other player that could play the role Berry is now doing. A tagging, tackling inside bullocking mid. We've seen how much Berry has now improved our midfield, having another hard head capable of that role as depth at worst would be handy. Especially as dodgy as Berry's shoulders have been. Maybe it's Tunstill that's superfluous to needs. Maybe Tunstill should have a look at West Coast. I'd keep Dev over Tunstill.

I would have thought there may have been a retirement or two at the end of the season, Zorko and Lester. But both are defying nature and have been rejuvenated it seems. Still a chance Zorko retires I think. Kiddy n Doedee back, both Ashcrofts, the way Lohmann has come on, there's just no room for Zorks to squeeze in.

The Delistings and retirements I see at the end of the season are Lyons, Lane, Michael, Madden, Prior and Zorks. Offer Tunstill as a trade to West Coast. Thats 6 or 7, enough to draft and trade or even keep a cpl of the mid season draftees if they show potential.

I think worth hanging on to Joyce. He seems to be improving, getting a nod as one of the best on ground in the Vfl regularly and named as an emergency often. He's also cheap, can't be costing us too much. He's a ready to go kp depth player, may not be a future lock in best 22 but until a ZZ or future draft pick comes on he is a good option.

Lyons, Lane and Michael I agree are likely delistings. Lyons, like Matho to a degree, too good for Vfl but not a regular first grader. And also like Matho will only hold out a developing kid with potential in the Vfl. Lane hasn't come on and Henry Smith seems to have hit a patch of good form and recognition recently. Michael sadly is just a victim of continued injury.

Kiddy's return, Answerths form and Brains rise puts pressure on Madden and Prior. I can see one being delisted. Maybe even both. How many hb's to we want to carry.

I don't know that Tunstill is ahead of Dev. Both performing well in the Vfl, Dev's clearance and tackling numbers a bit better. Dev was a finals player. Tunstill got his games early while Dev was injured. I think if Dev was fit at the beginning of the season he would have been well ahead. I'd hate to see Dev go, I think he's the only other player that could play the role Berry is now doing. A tagging, tackling inside bullocking mid. We've seen how much Berry has now improved our midfield, having another hard head capable of that role as depth at worst would be handy. Especially as dodgy as Berry's shoulders have been. Maybe it's Tunstill that's superfluous to needs. Maybe Tunstill should have a look at West Coast. I'd keep Dev over Tunstill.

I would have thought there may have been a retirement or two at the end of the season, Zorko and Lester. But both are defying nature and have been rejuvenated it seems. Still a chance Zorko retires I think. Kiddy n Doedee back, both Ashcrofts, the way Lohmann has come on, there's just no room for Zorks to squeeze in.

The Delistings and retirements I see at the end of the season are Lyons, Lane, Michael, Madden, Prior and Zorks. Offer Tunstill as a trade to West Coast. Thats 6 or 7, enough to draft and trade or even keep a cpl of the mid season draftees if they show potential.
You make a lot of good points that I hadn't considered. I actually wonder if Zorks would be a good sub when everyone's fit. Ensures we don't run him into the ground by playing the full game every week.

Yes pretty similar to my thinking. Is Madden a cat B rookie? If so, and if delisted, could Joyce take the extra cat B spot. Allow us to keep someone in an extra rookie spot.

Just a comment on Kalin Lane, clearly behind Smith for the next ruck call up. I understand he can’t be rerookied as he has been on the list three years, but he is only young and could still develop. Pity we can’t lend him out to one of the non-affiliated vfl clubs for a couple of years as first ruck and see how he goes.

Yes pretty similar to my thinking. Is Madden a cat B rookie? If so, and if delisted, could Joyce take the extra cat B spot. Allow us to keep someone in an extra rookie spot.

Just a comment on Kalin Lane, clearly behind Smith for the next ruck call up. I understand he can’t be rerookied as he has been on the list three years, but he is only young and could still develop. Pity we can’t lend him out to one of the non-affiliated vfl clubs for a couple of years as first ruck and see how he goes.
Sign Lane as a Vfl player, keep him in our system. Probably the best way to keep an eye on his development. The Vfl players we seem to hold on to are academy graduates or relatives. Maybe we could use the Vfl only contracts a bit better in future. Hold on to a draftee that's needing more time. Someone like Lane, a young ruck or tall fwd or one of those positions that take time to develop instead of just delisting them. If they come on as players there's plenty of opportunity these days to draft them back onto the list.

Craven would be the type you'll bury in rookie or VFL for 2 years and hope he comes good eventually. We don't need him next year but he'd be perfect in 2-3 years time when we have a churn and Linc/Charlie are out. Slow burn type pick which makes sense.

Sign Lane as a Vfl player, keep him in our system. Probably the best way to keep an eye on his development. The Vfl players we seem to hold on to are academy graduates or relatives. Maybe we could use the Vfl only contracts a bit better in future. Hold on to a draftee that's needing more time. Someone like Lane, a young ruck or tall fwd or one of those positions that take time to develop instead of just delisting them. If they come on as players there's plenty of opportunity these days to draft them back onto the list.
It's just not the same money at VFL level. And it's hard to see non QLD'ers sticking around. Next year AFL rookie listed players will receive $100k, then $105k in 2026, and $110k in 2027.

VFL salary cap for AFL clubs is $110k ($220k for no afl aligned clubs), compared to $245k in the WAFl or $147k for WC and Freo, and SANFL is a tier up again at $360k next year.

We've played anywhere from between 6 to 13 VFL listed players each week this year. Have to imagine there are quite a few beneficial "jobs" for quite a few of our VFL top ups from club sponsors or beneficiaries.

It's just not the same money at VFL level. And it's hard to see non QLD'ers sticking around. Next year AFL rookie listed players will receive $100k, then $105k in 2026, and $110k in 2027.

VFL salary cap for AFL clubs is $110k ($220k for no afl aligned clubs), compared to $245k in the WAFl or $147k for WC and Freo, and SANFL is a tier up again at $360k next year.

We've played anywhere from between 6 to 13 VFL listed players each week this year. Have to imagine there are quite a few beneficial "jobs" for quite a few of our VFL top ups from club sponsors or beneficiaries.
I agree with all this, but the real issue for Lane is that if he stayed as a vfl top up he wouldn’t get the first ruck role. Fort and Smith will get used first. The whole time he has been here he has been third fourth and even fifth choice. His best game, was a few weeks ago when Smith was injured and Fort must have been travelling emergency. Not saying he was great, but he showed a bit.

Needs time with first ruck responsibilities in a vfl level environment. I doubt it will happen here.

I agree with all this, but the real issue for Lane is that if he stayed as a vfl top up he wouldn’t get the first ruck role. Fort and Smith will get used first. The whole time he has been here he has been third fourth and even fifth choice. His best game, was a few weeks ago when Smith was injured and Fort must have been travelling emergency. Not saying he was great, but he showed a bit.

Needs time with first ruck responsibilities in a vfl level environment. I doubt it will happen here.

More than likely Lane will go end of this year and we'll get a new speculative ruck off the draft list. If Tom Gillett steps up to be that ruck, then he gets the spot or else we'll get some other promising 18 year old.

Brandon Ryan should get time in the ruck as well

I've seen him a couple of times so far. This looks like our hail mary after Gunston decided to leave and we needed some 3rd tall cover. Ryan is 26/27 and has a 3 year contract so ruck may be worth a try.

I didn’t see the VFL game this week, but its seems from the commentary on here that Beecken was a cut above. Exciting if we could unlock a Durham.
Don’t agree that Zorko will or should retire. He’s likely leading our best and fairest and so long as he continues to perform, he stays. Coleman and Doedee might take time to return to their best (if ever for Doedee, who with 3 ACLs may struggle to play regular senior football now - I can’t think of many who have had sustained output after that many knees). Therefore, Zorko’s ability to rebound out of half back and play further up the field when needed make him a must to retain despite his age.

Craven would be the type you'll bury in rookie or VFL for 2 years and hope he comes good eventually. We don't need him next year but he'd be perfect in 2-3 years time when we have a churn and Linc/Charlie are out. Slow burn type pick which makes sense.

With Brain as a halfback now it’s good that we have a bit more small forward depth with McLachlan and Craven.

Gives us Cameron, McCarthy, Lohmann, Ah Chee, Craven, McLachlan there with some versatility among them.

They mentioned on the draft night that Beecken could play on the wing as well. Any chance he could break into that wing rotation for Reville or Fletcher?

Unless theres a big drop off I'd be surprised if Zorko doesn't go around again for 25.
I do like the idea for Zorko to be used predominantly as sub in 2025.
A little like the way Mitchell is using Luke Breust.
Especially once Kiddy is ready to go next year.

Unless theres a big drop off I'd be surprised if Zorko doesn't go around again for 25.

Should finish on a high as far as personal performance and give responsibility to the kids.

Kiddy will take his spot in the backline and we have other options down there

Similarly with Kai locking in a spot in the forwardline there isn't really room for him there either

Lions free agent gives indication of future plans

BRISBANE midfielder Jarrod Berry is confident he will join great mate Hugh McCluggage in soon re-signing with the Lions.After McCluggage penned a monster seven-year contract to remain with the Lions, attention has turned to Berry, a restricted free agent at season's end.Berry and McCluggage were drafted to Brisbane in 2016, after forging a strong friendship while playing junior football in country Victoria.And the pair could finish their AFL careers together at the Lions as the club strives to win a first premiership since 2003.
ar9VSMAX.jpg
Jarrod Berry in action during Brisbane's clash against Richmond in round 10, 2024. Picture: AFL Photos"There's many factors and that (McCluggage re-signing) is certainly a small factor," Berry told AAP about his future plans."We're just biding our time and letting my footy do the talking."We're not in any rush (to sign), and neither are Brisbane, but we're both confident we'll settle on something pretty soon."Berry is coming off a starring performance in the Lions' 43-point demolition of the Western Bulldogs at Marvel Stadium on Friday night.The 26-year-old had the job of tagging Bulldogs superstar Marcus Bontempelli, who was coming off a match-winning effort seven days earlier against Collingwood.Berry had 14 disposals to Bontempelli's six at half-time as Brisbane led by 33 points to set the tone for the Lions' crucial victory."It was early in the week (when the coaches told Berry he would be running with Bontempelli), so I had plenty of time to prepare," he said."I think he got off the chain a little bit at the end (in going forward to kick three goals), but it was a good battle and I enjoyed it.
n9dH8lc5.jpg

Jarrod Berry celebrates a goal during Brisbane's clash against Adelaide in round nine, 2024. Picture: AFL Photos
"It was pretty slippery in the middle, we fell over a few times.

"But he's a superstar, so I enjoy those challenges."

It wasn't the first time Berry has shut down an opposition star, famously doing a job on Melbourne's prolific onballer Clayton Oliver in the Lions' upset semi-final win at the MCG in 2022.

"It's definitely mentally draining," Berry said of tagging.

"I don't know if I'd enjoy doing it week in, week out, but I love the competitive side of the game and I like to challenge myself against those guys."

TYagYsBT.jpeg

The Bulldogs and Lions clash in round 13
Berry is back as a regular member of the Lions' centre-square rotation after shoulder issues led to him being used more on a wing in recent seasons.

"It's the position I grew up playing and feels most natural and comfortable to me," he said.

Lions coach Chris Fagan was delighted he had a fit-again Berry to use in the midfield.

"The reason why we hadn't played him in there a whole lot was because he had a lot of problems with his shoulders last year, so we were playing him out on the wing to keep him out of the contest," Fagan said.

"But he had an operation over the summer, he's recovered well, and when he's got the opportunity this year to go inside, he's taken it with both hands."

https://www.afl.com.au/news/1149136

Should finish on a high as far as personal performance and give responsibility to the kids.

Kiddy will take his spot in the backline and we have other options down there

Similarly with Kai locking in a spot in the forwardline there isn't really room for him there either
He's been great this year. I'd love to see a metres gained stat for the whole comp because I reckon Zorko would be right up there. Been our best in that category nearly every game this season.

We've also been far worse at scoring from defensive rebounds this year

As good as Zorko has been its been a step backwards

I'd retain him for next year if he wants to go on, if only for depth/cover. But the drop off from kiddy to zork is pretty big.

List Mgmt. 2024 List Management discussion