List Mgmt. 2024 List Management thread - Trade Targets Part 2

Delisting NOD even to rookie would be one of the dumbest things Freo could do. And there have been a lot of dumb things.
I can 100% see it happening but I agree with you tbh.

What I didn't mention earlier today was that delisting the players I suggested would be would result in more rookie spots and less senior list spots than needed.

I'd rather delist and re-rookie contracted players, which we used to do regularly, than just re-rookie the last guy to get a contract and end up with another Schultz situation. For the record I don't think that's why Schultz left the club but having him as a FA every time his contract expired was a list management challenge that should've been avoided.

McDonald should be the first player delisted and re-rookied. We barely need him and he already has FA status end of 2025.

Yet Warner voted 3rd best on ground.
Ive been through that before with 10 being given to Brayshaw after he had missed every target by some margin and the 10 given to Blakey even though he was a big part if them getting 6 goals behind in the first place. Just a different way of rating players performance. Coaches all seem to prioritise the same thing. Doesn't mean i have to.

Fourth year, non key position player that hasnt played a minute of AFL footy this season? I’d say that is quite a standard run of the mill candidate for getting the chop.

I’m not saying they should get rid of him either but what’s the long term game here? He’s 22 years old now. Where will he play next season? Another year at Peel.
Sharp has gone well past him and even Banfield who is not even a proper wingman.

I like NOD but he hasn’t played anywhere near enough AFL footy the last two years to be certain of a spot in 2025.

The likes of Reidy is different. The club makes allowances for KPP especially rucks.
He hasn't been able to get on the park because of his knee. He has everything we lack in the midfield. Speed, is dynamic. Runs and carries. Willing to chase and tackle at multiple,contests. Takes ground, kicks long. Kicks goals Assuming his knee is now right, it would be the height if stupidity not to keep him whether as a wing or rotating inside mid. I quite like Brodie but I would play a fit NOD over him in our current midfield.

Fourth year, non key position player that hasnt played a minute of AFL footy this season? I’d say that is quite a standard run of the mill candidate for getting the chop.

I’m not saying they should get rid of him either but what’s the long term game here? He’s 22 years old now. Where will he play next season? Another year at Peel.
Sharp has gone well past him and even Banfield who is not even a proper wingman.

I like NOD but he hasn’t played anywhere near enough AFL footy the last two years to be certain of a spot in 2025.

The likes of Reidy is different. The club makes allowances for KPP especially rucks.

NOD kicking goal of the round contenders from 50 on the boundary every 2nd week when he was in the Freo team has inflated his value. Take out those 3 or 4 ripper goals and he's very vanilla.

Everyone see players differently. Freo always cut someone I don't expect so he might be one. Using the term vanilla on him seems quite strange to me but there you go

Not saying he's no good but is it just me or is NOD somewhat overrated on here.
Definitely...but there are some reasons.

• His 2022 highlights were out of this world and waaaay better than what we expected. Those performances are still tickling the fancy of many.
  • The club traded up on draft night to get him. This alone sends a signal that the club rates him more than usual and gives him "creditds"
  • The family name and connection probably holds some weight for some as well...there's a bit of sentimentalist in all of us.

He hasn't been able to get on the park because of his knee. He has everything we lack in the midfield. Speed, is dynamic. Runs and carries. Willing to chase and tackle at multiple,contests. Takes ground, kicks long. Kicks goals Assuming his knee is now right, it would be the height if stupidity not to keep him whether as a wing or rotating inside mid. I quite like Brodie but I would play a fit NOD over him in our current midfield.
Think next few games at peel or if he makes it to the Freo side in these last two games, may decide his future

Agree that he has shown certain attributes as opposed to our other mids.

Not saying he's no good but is it just me or is NOD somewhat overrated on here.

He definitely has a glow around him due to his rise being in sync with the unexpected ascendancy of the team in 2022. Factor in the freakish goals, left boot, and just good natured Northam kid vibes and you have a winner with the fans.

On a pure pragmatic level I think he’s worth keeping around - he won’t cost much for another year, he seems to be over his injury concerns and we’re pretty shallow in wing depth.

He definitely has a glow around him due to his rise being in sync with the unexpected ascendancy of the team in 2022. Factor in the freakish goals, left boot, and just good natured Northam kid vibes and you have a winner with the fans.

On a pure pragmatic level I think he’s worth keeping around - he won’t cost much for another year, he seems to be over his injury concerns and we’re pretty shallow in wing depth.

Not to mention that he’s finally got his body right and by all reports playing quality WAFL football at the moment.

So what you're saying is, if you overlook all the things that a player does well, you'll see that they're actually quite ordinary? Yes, I too feel that if you discount Treacy's 45 goals, his contested marks, his tackling, body work, etc, he's pretty bog average.

Why are we discussing Delisting NoD when there’s 5 easily removed.
Hughes, Tabs, Williams, Corbett & Sebit
Odin Jones could be added too
Williams can only really be replaced by one of those Irish guys. Given we trialled them I reckon it'll happen.

Five other delistings would be what is expected given our picks but is probably depends massively on trade week. Way more rumours of players coming in than out suggesting it's probably more if anything.

Highly doubt Jones is delisted. He's managed to crack WAFL seniors as a first year tall which outside of first/second picks isn't always done. There's a bit there to work with IMO - I've been reasonably impressed tbh.

So what you're saying is, if you overlook all the things that a player does well, you'll see that they're actually quite ordinary? Yes, I too feel that if you discount Treacy's 45 goals, his contested marks, his tackling, body work, etc, he's pretty bog average.
In all fairness, the goalscoring stretch in 2022 was looking more and more like a random purple patch before his 2nd return this season in the WAFL from injury. It's not something that was a part of his game when drafted or at WAFL level.

Since returning against West Coast's WAFL team, yes he's scored goals (in particular 3 in that game), but more importantly aspects of his game that were noted in his draft year but had faded away have returned. His athleticism, contest work and work rate were what he was renowned on, and now you're seeing all that, especially the athleticism. To me, that's more replicable for him than scoring bangers from the boundary. It's a bit like Sturt this year: now you're really seeing the athleticism and work rate that he had in his draft year, you're actually seeing what the club saw in drafting him.

What are the odds of NOD kicking those goals on the run from 50m on the boundary, a 30% chance each time? To do it 4 or 5 times takes skill but there's a degree of luck too. He doesn't do it playing for Peel.

It's not like he's McLeod, Ablett, Dusty kicking 4 or 5 in a game but the goals he has kicked have been memorable and it increases peoples opinion of him.

Wouldn't pigeonhole NOD as a wing. He could also be a Fyfe replacement on the inside. Or maybe there is a rotation with Johnson for inside/wing. NOD spent a lot of time as an inside mid before he was drafted. He has a great defensive nature to his game, so could be useful for a Fye-on-Heeney type of role.