List Mgmt. 2024 List Management thread - Trade Targets Part 2

Can someone do a side by side snapshot of Darcy and Meek….???
I know that Meek gave off Jack Hannath vibes early with his turning circle capability- but geez he is ripped now…
Darcy ….injuries need to be packed away, can’t help but think his injury history is related to his size… and he is a little soft.

On defenders….
I know that Mitch McGovern had his detractors, but as a backman and a swingman I would look at poaching him from the Blues…

On defenders….
I know that Mitch McGovern had his detractors, but as a backman and a swingman I would look at poaching him from the Blues…

He's 30 next year.

Our defense is actually good. We're number 1. Draper is playing reasonably well as cover.

Pearce, Cox, Draper, Chapman, Walker, Clark, Wagner is a very solid back 7. There's growth in Draper and Chapman to come. I don't see why we would even consider attempting to poach McGovern.

On defenders….

Why? He honestly isn’t better than Josh Draper is right now in his second season.

When we do it do we take into account that Meek is older and this is his first good season and he was trash last year? Or are we just going to window in on one season?

Any fair side by side snapshot will have Darcy way out front.
Talking body shape…. durrr

I’ve argued on here for year we are not cutting enough players at the end of each season. People get so attached to guys that are just not good enough to be long term AFL players. There has been heaps of examples of bizarre contract extensions.

Karl Worner got a 2 year deal as a rookie last year while Sam Sturt only got one year.
Hughes getting 3 years on his last deal.
Brodie signing a 4 year contract and hasn’t played a game since.
Reidy is another puzzler if reports are to be believed. Extending him again but refused to play him last week.

Players like Stanley, kuek and Corbett all need to be cleared out this off season.
It’s a deep draft and we can’t afford to be missing out on potential good players because of misplaced loyalty to rookie listed players from two or three years ago.
If you want to win flags, you don’t cut many players.
The list turnover at Fremantle since 2018 has been huge.

Would rather watch Kuek, Voss, Reidy develop as depth and add another dimension.
Stanley has been solid. Rather keep him, but instead may get delisted and duds such as JOM get to stick around

I know that Meek gave off Jack Hannath vibes early with his turning circle capability- but geez he is ripped now…
Darcy ….injuries need to be packed away, can’t help but think his injury history is related to his size… and he is a little soft.
Meek isn’t that slow. His willingness to attack the deck once the ball hits the ground, is a big asset.

I’ll give you this:
Since Meek traded end of 2022:

Meek - 33 games (out of possible 44)- 898 hitouts

Darcy - 27 games - 961 hit outs.

Is Darcy really that better? Hard to say.

Darcy has already missed 9 games this year on top of 8 last year, so only played around 60% of available games since start of last season.

He needs to get fitter and lose some weight.

Other end of the ground, but the big fella up forward for Port isn't sticking around long
He’s not a backman he doesn’t like to stand anyone. Port still have MG Marshall Esava & lord as key forwards. Plus could keep finlayson
It will be the crows

Would rather watch Kuek, Voss, Reidy develop as depth and add another dimension.
Stanley has been solid. Rather keep him, but instead may get delisted and duds such as JOM get to stick around

We need to delist most of those guys just to comply with AFL rules.

I won’t be disappointed if we delist any of the players you’ve mentioned other than Voss. They’re not AFL standard and don’t add to our depth - Reidy might actually, the others don’t.

Stanley has disappointed me this season. If you’ve been watching WAFL you’ve watched different games than I have. The stats don’t tell a different picture either - sub-15 disposals isn’t good enough and what he does with those touches isn’t overly impressive.

We need to delist most of those guys just to comply with AFL rules.

I won’t be disappointed if we delist any of the players you’ve mentioned other than Voss. They’re not AFL standard and don’t add to our depth - Reidy might actually, the others don’t.

Stanley has disappointed me this season. If you’ve been watching WAFL you’ve watched different games than I have. The stats don’t tell a different picture either - sub-15 disposals isn’t good enough and what he does with those touches isn’t overly impressive.
It’s a shame, I had high hopes for Stanley, injury has struck at the wrong time for him. He needs to get some impressive performances from here on to keep his spot in the squad even as a rookie

Agree but short of a surprise exit I can’t see how he stays.

We have those four picks and need to have five exits to use them. The first one of those picks we trade for a player a reckon we just use three picks but I doubt we use less than three.

Delisting too many players isn’t a reason for having less depth. We’ve delisted **** all recently. Players being traded out and pushing good picks into the future is why depth isn’t as good as it could be.

Still think our depth is okay in most places bar ruck (I want to see Reidy yo confirm this) and small forwards but it’s keeping younger players nearly best 22 and drafting well that’ll improve it. Using Taberner and Worner last weekend wasn’t a good look for depth. With Worner especially there was 5-6 better options.

Agree but short of a surprise exit I can’t see how he stays.

We have those four picks and need to have five exits to use them. The first one of those picks we trade for a player a reckon we just use three picks but I doubt we use less than three.

Delisting too many players isn’t a reason for having less depth. We’ve delisted **** all recently. Players being traded out and pushing good picks into the future is why depth isn’t as good as it could be.

Still think our depth is okay in most places bar ruck (I want to see Reidy yo confirm this) and small forwards but it’s keeping younger players nearly best 22 and drafting well that’ll improve it. Using Taberner and Worner last weekend wasn’t a good look for depth. With Worner especially there was 5-6 better options.
You could have that difficult conversation and suggest a few pull the pin.
Tabs, Hughes, Walters and Fyfe, realistically shouldn’t be best22 in 2025.
Who is the player moving back to Victoria?
There’s 5 right there. You put S Mitchell at Freo and the first cut would be JOM.

You could have that difficult conversation and suggest a few pull the pin.
Tabs, Hughes, Walters and Fyfe, realistically shouldn’t be best22 in 2025.
Who is the player moving back to Victoria?
There’s 5 right there. You put S Mitchell at Freo and the first cut would be JOM.
I'm sorry but that's a rubbish call on JOM. Clubs don't pay out two years of contract unless off field issues are involved. I doubt you could find one example let alone an example of Sam Mitchell doing it.

Similarly the club won't talk Walters and/or Fyfe into retirement unless they're the ones starting the conversation.

You're clutching at straws to try keep players that haven't shown anything.

I very much think Hughes, Taberner, Corbett and Kuek are gone. Stanley is that guy we might keep if there's a trade out we don't know about. In reality though I actually think it's more likely we see more delisted than I've said rather than less.

I'm sorry but that's a rubbish call on JOM. Clubs don't pay out two years of contract unless off field issues are involved. I doubt you could find one example let alone an example of Sam Mitchell doing it.

Similarly the club won't talk Walters and/or Fyfe into retirement unless they're the ones starting the conversation.

You're clutching at straws to try keep players that haven't shown anything.

I very much think Hughes, Taberner, Corbett and Kuek are gone. Stanley is that guy we might keep if there's a trade out we don't know about. In reality though I actually think it's more likely we see more delisted than I've said rather than less.
You do exactly what they did to Brodie, play him at Peel and hope someone comes calling, or the difficult conversation.
Hamling is another example of depth player, best scenario is Sydney came calling.
Zero match payments, and hopefully Peel performances make a case for interest.

You do exactly what they did to Brodie, play him at Peel and hope someone comes calling, or the difficult conversation.
Hamling is another example of depth player, best scenario is Sydney came calling.
Zero match payments, and hopefully Peel performances make a case for interest.
Hamling was a free agent and the KPD market was beyond the point of desperation for some clubs. Bet Sydney are loving that move atm.

For once we weren't generous with the contract and tbh I don't think we're missing him at all. All it's done is get more games into what looks like a very good young KPD.

You are conflating best 22 established AFL players leaving with guys that are not good enough for this level.

You don’t keep Stefan Giro around for an extra season just because bradley hill left the club.

You shouldnt give Karl Worner an extra year because Lachie Schultz left the club.

Kuek is heading for his 4th year on the list next season if they keep him around. I know he’s been injured but at no point has he looked remotely close to playing a game of AFL footy, let alone becoming an established player at the top level. He turns 24 years old in a couple of months, the same draft class as Sam Sturt, Ben king, Sam Walsh, butters etc. I.e. not a kid anymore. It’s nothing against Sebit but at some point the opportunity cost of keeping guys like this on the list starts to become too much?

You can apply this same logic to Corbett. Nice guy and all but he’s 100% delist material if we are actually a serious football club.

Even more so this year. We have been all year listening to list managers telling us that the depth of quality players in the upcoming draft is almost unprecedented and indeed kinnear beatson of Sydney said that several players drafted in the upcoming rookie draft will go on to have long AFL careers.

So we need to clear the fringe players off the list and take 4 or 5 new guys in this draft. Otherwise we will be very quickly in a hole in a few years time. We have already missed out on two full drafts effectively.

Oh My God Omg GIF by The Office

He's coming.

Meek isn’t that slow. His willingness to attack the deck once the ball hits the ground, is a big asset.

I’ll give you this:
Since Meek traded end of 2022:

Meek - 33 games (out of possible 44)- 898 hitouts

Darcy - 27 games - 961 hit outs.

Is Darcy really that better? Hard to say.
Yes Darcy is better, he is a Doig medalist. Injuries happen and no preseason is a factor.

The last time we traded a currently better player to give opportunity was Acres so we could play Henry. It didn’t work out since we lost both and Acres had been playing good footy at Carlton.

Not sure why people expect us to make more stupid decisions when even with hindsight, it doesn’t make sense.

Maybe if Darcy wasn’t injured against the Hawks or we played Reidy instead it would have seem fine.

You are conflating best 22 established AFL players leaving with guys that are not good enough for this level.

You don’t keep Stefan Giro around for an extra season just because bradley hill left the club.

You shouldnt give Karl Worner an extra year because Lachie Schultz left the club.

Kuek is heading for his 4th year on the list next season if they keep him around. I know he’s been injured but at no point has he looked remotely close to playing a game of AFL footy, let alone becoming an established player at the top level. He turns 24 years old in a couple of months, the same draft class as Sam Sturt, Ben king, Sam Walsh, butters etc. I.e. not a kid anymore. It’s nothing against Sebit but at some point the opportunity cost of keeping guys like this on the list starts to become too much?

You can apply this same logic to Corbett. Nice guy and all but he’s 100% delist material if we are actually a serious football club.

Even more so this year. We have been all year listening to list managers telling us that the depth of quality players in the upcoming draft is almost unprecedented and indeed kinnear beatson of Sydney said that several players drafted in the upcoming rookie draft will go on to have long AFL careers.

So we need to clear the fringe players off the list and take 4 or 5 new guys in this draft. Otherwise we will be very quickly in a hole in a few years time. We have already missed out on two full drafts effectively.
Yep - four players delisted from the senior list to comply with AFL rules (this could include guys we re-rookie).

Five players delisted to use our four top 25 picks.

Five or more we trade in more players than we trade out.

I'm all for keeping the top 30 players on our list together and trying to add to that through trade. Draft picks hopefully add to that in 2-3 years time but if it's earlier it's just a bonus.