List Mgmt. 2024 List Management thread - Trade Targets

What is the maximum (walk away point) you would pay for Bolton.

• 9 OR 10

Votes: 13 7.5%
  • 9 & 25

Votes: 33 19.0%
  • 9 & 17

Votes: 85 48.9%
  • 9 & F1

Votes: 18 10.3%
  • 9 & 10

Votes: 22 12.6%
  • 9, 10 & 17

Votes: 3 1.7%

Seems like a wierd one to pick on, if Tabs hadn't gone for it the defender who almost chopped it out certainly would have beat Tracey to the ball (who'd have had to change direction).

The knock on him has always been that he blocks space and leads to the wrong area, but that wasn't specifically Tracey's call that he has cut off, it was a kick to space.

How's that vision even bad compared to all the times we bombed it in with 3 talls and a small (not even wanting to crumb) all competing for the same ball and the opposition running it out no worries?

Taberner has issues and that ain't it.

Brodie is my buddy so “how dare you” having said that, it’s clear he isn’t going to get a game while Fyfe is playing, so it may be in his best interests to look for an opportunity elsewhere
The same logic applies for Yeo. We can’t fit Brodie, Ras and O’Meara as a starter so why would Yeo get a game.

Seems like a wierd one to pick on, if Tabs hadn't gone for it the defender who almost chopped it out certainly would have beat Tracey to the ball (who'd have had to change direction).

The knock on him has always been that he blocks space and leads to the wrong area, but that wasn't specifically Tracey's call that he has cut off, it was a kick to space.
No he wouldn't have. Treacy would absolutely have got there first, he was first to react until big durp Tabs got in his way, again.

This is just flat out wrong, Tracey was already just beginning to change direction when he was 'cut off' by Taberner because he had originally led at the ball carrier but Jackson had instead (correctly) chosen to kick to the space to his right.
You go back and look at the live vision rather than the replay (or replay of the live vision rather than a replay of a replay) and you will see this.
🦀 has below average forward instincts we all can agree; this is not an example.

The real bad footy here was by whoever was on Tabs, allowing him to jog back goalside so he could then shove him.out of the contest before it started.

The real highlight in that is Banfields block to Freo Treacy up tbh.

But are we seriously potting Taberner for kicking a goal, it's not like he clattered into and open Treacy or dragged his man across.
Couldn’t agree more. Of all the bits of play to highlight to have a go at someone. Tabs had every right to mark that ball just as much as Treacy. And I’m a big fan of JT.

I’d also trust tabs with that left foot round the corner snap over almost anyone in the league from that position. He’s absolutely elite from there.

All of Simpson, Murphy and Delean were classic sliders based on predraft speculation. Sonny our most famous slider.

If they come off and produce what triggered the predraft speculation there is massive upside.

Positionally they are also astute. Delean clearly an area of need. Simpson bringing pace and class. Murphy a Pearce replacement.
If the club is as professional as we all think, we won’t be putting too much expectation on any of these 3 guys being the missing pieces. If Fremantle are following a good strategy, then their likely ceiling should be considered the average or median performer for a player taken with that range of the draft.
For example Jack Delean was taken with pick 60. There is probably a 5% chance he plays 100 AFL games for freo. It’s a bit better for Simpson and Murphy but still much less than 50%.
Making things even more difficult for those guys is that we are supposedly entering a premiership window. Are we trying to win a flag at all costs between now and 2030? Or are we developing players at the expense of results, always choosing the mythical “long term” success? It’s the former for me every day of the week.

We are already beginning to see this with Neil Erasmus, a guy taken A LOT higher than the 3 you mentioned in the draft. He would have played 60 games in his first 3 years if he was taken at pick 10 in 2017 or 2018.
But he came in 2021 and we were finalists in 2022 and probably again this year, with much less room for promising kids. So he will barely play 20 games in this first 3 years.

I look at a player like Ollie Murphy and I’m not sure I see a pathway for him to play consistent AFL footy for Fremantle in the next 4 years. Which of Pearce, Cox or Ryan will he be replacing?
Personally I want us to go full “win now” mode as soon as possible. Trade the picks out for established quality players that will improve the side over the next 5-6 years. Liam baker is a perfect example if he could be prised out of Richmond.
Keep taking an odd decent draft pick here and there for sure. But the number one aim is to win a flag at all costs.

Personally I want us to go full “win now” mode as soon as possible. Trade the picks out for established quality players that will improve the side over the next 5-6 years. Liam baker is a perfect example if he could be prised out of Richmond.
Keep taking an odd decent draft pick here and there for sure. But the number one aim is to win a flag at all costs.
Yea this is exactly where I’m at .

It’s why I hope we go all out for both Lmac and baker.
They make our b22 infinitely better.
I’m not sure anyone can argue against that .

i think as fans we’ve got to get out of this thinking of the need to be perpetual list building by our taking first /second rounders every year..*

I’m pretty certain anyway this is the clubs line of thinking too.

*(And before you all get angry and race in no im not suggesting we cash them all in)

The worst part about the tabs gets in the way meme is some people are actually serious about it

Hilarious to think about

God forbid tabs kicks the goal over someone else in the team 😂😂😂
I’d actually back tabs from that angle over Treacy too tbh. But it was still so funny watching it play out in real time. Treacy realising tabs wasn’t going to give it up so he had to slow his run

If the club is as professional as we all think, we won’t be putting too much expectation on any of these 3 guys being the missing pieces. If Fremantle are following a good strategy, then their likely ceiling should be considered the average or median performer for a player taken with that range of the draft.
For example Jack Delean was taken with pick 60. There is probably a 5% chance he plays 100 AFL games for freo. It’s a bit better for Simpson and Murphy but still much less than 50%.
Making things even more difficult for those guys is that we are supposedly entering a premiership window. Are we trying to win a flag at all costs between now and 2030? Or are we developing players at the expense of results, always choosing the mythical “long term” success? It’s the former for me every day of the week.

We are already beginning to see this with Neil Erasmus, a guy taken A LOT higher than the 3 you mentioned in the draft. He would have played 60 games in his first 3 years if he was taken at pick 10 in 2017 or 2018.
But he came in 2021 and we were finalists in 2022 and probably again this year, with much less room for promising kids. So he will barely play 20 games in this first 3 years.

I look at a player like Ollie Murphy and I’m not sure I see a pathway for him to play consistent AFL footy for Fremantle in the next 4 years. Which of Pearce, Cox or Ryan will he be replacing?
Agree and not disagree but meh….
Would have been a riot if we hadn’t taken Ras, too early for Johnson…. although Johnson has been given more on ground opportunity this far.
I personally would have gone Amiss, then van Rooyen- I like Dutch names - kinda cool.. Erasmus is more like a Finnish EuroVision song contest band name…. I digress.
I reckon we have had LMac on the hook for a while, maybe why we didn’t go JVR?
Disappointed we didn’t load up in that draft on more forwards - thought Johnson and Erasmus - together were overkill on mids…
Can’t tell how the draft cards fall on the night…
FWIW I reckon both EuroVision and Johnson will be B22 by the end of the year, we then use the draft pick bounty to poach the KPF to assist Amiss and hold the highest pick we have to trade in or go to the draft with.
Always use the highest pick to draft, except when a Unicorn is to be wrangled.

Collard with 4 goals on the weekend in the VFL against Essendon. Tbf they weren't anything too spectacular but good to see.