Preview 2024 National Draft Preview Thread Part Deux - Draft Picks: 2 (R1), 62 (R4), 76 (R5), 86 (R6)

FYI all as we get closer to the draft and emotions get a bit more heightened and we all gravitate to other boards to see what our friends are posting, please keep the following in mind

If you are going to share thoughts posted on other club boards, please either screenshot or quote the post WITHOUT tagging the poster who posted it.

For example

Is fine

Is not ok

Additionally as we have said multiple times - once you leave the North board you are subject to the rules of whichever board you go to. You will be used to the way this board is moderated but other boards and other mods will have different thresholds and rules. Post at your own risk.

Play on
Nah mate. Thats nonsense. Then when oppo supporters come here, treat them the same way we cop over there.

I like to think of it as each board is a state inside a federal law. The oppo board has no jurisdiction here.

Play on

So the real pinch points come at the crows pick 4 and tigers pick 6.

crows tossing up between Draper and langford. If they go Draper it’s pretty straight forward. If they go Langford it’s Tauru going to Melbourne.

Smilie v Allan for 6,

If everything goes in an alternative universe could feasibly end up like this and saints fans won’t be crying

View attachment 2169041
Bo Allen over Smillie? Nahhhhh

Nah mate. Thats nonsense. Then when oppo supporters come here, treat them the same way we cop over there.

I like to think of it as each board is a state inside a federal law. The oppo board has no jurisdiction here.

Play on
lol, I just read it as feudal law, yes we own this land and we expect loyalty in return for you coming over and using it...

Its just what I've heard from the experts. The point is that this is a very deep draft.
No its not. Its being over hyped because its even. That does not mean its a stand out draft. I rate 4 fifths of **** all in this draft. Tauru looks great until he kicks the footy and he’s considered a top 10 pick? Riiiiightio. Theres about 4 in the draft that will gaurantee you a good pick. The rest are all speculation.

I would be trading up to guarantee a successful young player. The talls look shit, thats why I have Gerreyn so high in my desires. You may aswell take a punt on a 200cm monster with great agility than anything predicted before him.

I really don't understand why so many North supporters would be so willing to trade our F1 for not much more than a bag of chips. I'm confident we'll improve significantly next year, but 8 wins from a challenging fixture list probably still only lands us 16th position because I suspect the Crows will improve and Melbourne had 8 more wins than us last season.

A top three pick in a draft that is touted as being better at the pointy end than this year should be treasured. Top three picks have a good 200 gamer strike rate, so why would you trade that in for a punt on a player picked in the mid teens to early twenties? That would be sheer lunacy.

I'm still hopeful we can split #2 for something decent because the potential suitors have so far played their cards close to their chest in the hope of bagging a bargain. On trade night FOMO might set in for some of them to motivate a reasonable offer. A bidding war would be even better. That would take the pressure off Brady to frivolously trade away our F1 out of desperation. Here's hoping, but I'm not confident he won't do it.
Im kinda hoping we just take FOS at 2, and just see how picks start falling. Reckon we'd have our eye on some key forwards to develop, and some will slide down into the 2nd and 3rd rounds. Few if any of Trainor, Shanahan, Faull, Whitlock, Gerryn, Sims, will be taken in round 1. Now we could well be indifferent between a few, makes a lot of sense to wait till draft night and what's available to trade an F2 or F3 in to see who's available at the "minimum cost" in terms of future picks.

No its not. Its being over hyped because its even. That does not mean its a stand out draft. I rate 4 fifths of **** all in this draft. Tauru looks great until he kicks the footy and he’s considered a top 10 pick? Riiiiightio. Theres about 4 in the draft that will gaurantee you a good pick. The rest are all speculation.

I would be trading up to guarantee a successful young player. The talls look shit, thats why I have Gerreyn so high in my desires. You may aswell take a punt on a 200cm monster with great agility than anything predicted before him.
It is a deep superdraft by most experts opinion.
There is 7 elite mids then a heap of quality players even if the talls are thin this year.

Play on

I’m universally loved and admired on oppo boards.

Small forwards/high half forwards is a bigger gapping hole in our list then key forwards...
I wonder where FOS might play in his first few years?

Duursma Ford Curtis zurhaar should be able to play that high half forward roll with sheezle as well. I wouldn’t say it’s gaping.
think they have George earmarked for that roll as well if he comes good post ACL.

It is a deep superdraft by most experts opinion.
There is 7 elite mids then a heap of quality players even if the talls are thin this year.

It's not a superdraft.

It's a deep and evenly talented draft.

There is a very big difference.

When you compare it to previous drafts there isn't a tall with the talent of JUH or Darcy and there isn't a generational midfield type like Daicos/Ashcroft/JHF/Reid or Sheezel.

Duursma Ford Curtis zurhaar should be able to play that high half forward roll with sheezle as well. I wouldn’t say it’s gaping.
think they have George earmarked for that roll as well if he comes good post ACL.
in terms of pure talent FOS would be up with Sheez, Im sure we could find a place for him amongst that lot.

I think that's probably right.

I'm no expert, but going from Twomey's phantom draft and including 20% NGA and F/S discounts, it looks like the following picks will be absorbed.

Ashcroft bid on at 5 - Brisbane pay 27, 34, 42
Lombard bid at 9 - GC pay 39, 41, 51, 61
Kako bid on at 13 - Essendon pay 28 and 31
Marshall bid on at 25 - Brisbane pay 43, 49, 58

(Camporeale probably gets done with just pick 38.)

So you've got 12 picks for four kids, suggesting it'll come down to 55. It'd be nice if Kako was bid on a little earlier than Twomey is predicting, to bring our selection forward another spot or two at the Bombres' expense.
The one thing is Bombers likely move 28 or 31 for future picks. They've got enough points to match Kako with 40's picks.
Then they'll probably try and trade back. The Lions might slide back from 27 for two picks to get an extra 100 odd pts.
So the picks will jump around a bit, but it should be mid 50's you would think.

Preview 2024 National Draft Preview Thread Part Deux - Draft Picks: 2 (R1), 62 (R4), 76 (R5), 86 (R6)