Analysis 2024 National Draft

Who will be our first selection on night 2 of the Draft?

While accepting that Draper playing SANFL is a positive, the others not playing against men, does not mean they can't. This sort of advantage only matters until drafted. They are all in the same system after being drafted.

Can you make that make sense?
Think Draper is an average kick but we have players on our list like hewett and Cripps who became solid kicks at afl level, but were originally crap

Jaggas weaknesses are similar to those of our mids in that he doesn’t do a particular lot per disposal. His strengths are also similar strengths to our mids like finding the footy or winning clearance.

He would obviously learn a lot from our players but due to his strengths and weaknesses being similar to those of our mids I think he would learn less than a Draper or FOS

Jagga/Draper, O'Farrell, Campos is my ideal right now.

Watching O'Farrell, he reminds me (and looks a bit like on field) of Sam Taylor. Well-rounded key defender who would be great next to Weiters.

Yep if we want O'farrell we need to find a way to stop our mate SOS bidding on the campos with pick 32.
SOS will only do that if he's actually happy to draft one of them with that pick.

As it is they're expected to be picked in the 40s+. If he takes a kid ranked 45 at 32 just to try and stick it to his old club by hoping they'd match the bid, then they don't, that's a sackable offense.

Why are so many worried about SOS? Sure he's a grumpy bastard but he's not made ridiculous academy/F/S bids in the past so why would he start now? It's a stupid thing to do anyway just in case you are stung with the above scenario.

The Aints won't make a bid unless they're actually happy to draft them there.

Why are so many worried about SOS? Sure he's a grumpy bastard but he's not made ridiculous academy/F/S bids in the past so why would he start now? It's a stupid thing to do anyway just in case you are stung with the above scenario.

I'm not worried about SOS playing games with us moreso than I am aware of SOS's history of bidding on players.

That said there's rumors swirling that we may not even have to bid match on either and we'll get Ben like the Hawks did Calsher Dear.

I'm not worried about SOS playing games with us moreso than I am aware of SOS's history of bidding on players.

That said there's rumors swirling that we may not even have to bid match on either and we'll get Ben like the Hawks did Calsher Dear.
He's bid on a couple but nothing unreasonable. The bids he's made were fair bids.

His bid on Henry at the time was a bit of a surprise. Not far off his range but Freo were surprised.

Twomey had him going 18 on his phantom (with all of his inside info) and SOS picked him top 10.

I think whoever we get at pick #3 will be a great get. I'm intrigued regarding pick #38. Will we get to keep it? Seems most likely. On assumption we do, what type of player, and who? I'm on the KPD train for this pick. If so, then who?
I've appreciated the phantom draft on this thread, and whilst it won't play out as this, it suggests that one of the following may be available: Clancy Dennis, Matt Whitlock, Harry O'Farrell. If we had choice of these (or another around pick #38), who would be best fit for us?

SOS will only do that if he's actually happy to draft one of them with that pick.

As it is they're expected to be picked in the 40s+. If he takes a kid ranked 45 at 32 just to try and stick it to his old club by hoping they'd match the bid, then they don't, that's a sackable offense.

The Aints won't make a bid unless they're actually happy to draft them there.

The counter to this is SOS also knows - just as our club insiders do - that Ben Camporeale isn’t really the 45th best of his draft class and is only ranked that way because he didn’t play at the highest levels and that was likely strategic

And SOS would also know we would match. I also recall someone mentioning Port could bid too right before SOS given Ben is a local boy and they would have seen more of him too.

As we get closer to the draft the club will have a better sense of who (if anyone) may bid on Ben. But for now I think it would be prudent to assume we have to do something with pick 38 to protect it (eg upgrade it by moving from 3 to 4, or switch to F2 and then back again into this years draft when we are able to.

The bids SOS made on Henry (a bit early) and Tom Green (probably later than expected) were also to give him more time on the clock so that we could trade our pick back. I think the logic at the time was that we would've taken Serong if he was there at our pick, but beyond that, we would take Kemp, but knew he would be around at a later pick. Got another first out of it, which ofcourse didn't pan out for us, but it was good trading on the night.

It is quite intriguing how so many phantoms are bein published without Ashcroft and indeed Lombard in the top 5. They are absolutely in that range. Marshall hardly mentioned despite a stelllar end to the season. Lucas and now Ben dropping to ludicrous parts of the draft.

Yet Kako seems to be on the rise, with * trading up to safeguard against bids. Against the flow it would seem, is this some legacy from Dodo and his brutal tactics? Perhaps with Melbourne mooted to be the ones chasing Kako, it is payback for the loss of Mac Andrew with system yo-yos?

There are another handful of likely f/s or NGA selections who are nit getting any press, much like Calsher Dear last year. Tyler Welsh, Hoffman, Cole, even Champion getting scant mentions.

It is quite intriguing how so many phantoms are bein published without Ashcroft and indeed Lombard in the top 5. They are absolutely in that range. Marshall hardly mentioned despite a stelllar end to the season. Lucas and now Ben dropping to ludicrous parts of the draft.

Yet Kako seems to be on the rise, with * trading up to safeguard against bids. Against the flow it would seem, is this some legacy from Dodo and his brutal tactics? Perhaps with Melbourne mooted to be the ones chasing Kako, it is payback for the loss of Mac Andrew with system yo-yos?

There are another handful of likely f/s or NGA selections who are nit getting any press, much like Calsher Dear last year. Tyler Welsh, Hoffman, Cole, even Champion getting scant mentions.
Agree. Lombard particularly. Reckon if he wasn't academy, we'd have to be thinking hard about him for pick 3. Would suit us so well.

Regarding Kako I think people are on the Nick Watson train. Excited about a highly rated small that could impact from day 1. Kako is no Watson though. Watson was the best small forward to come through the draft in 20 years. I still don't think Kako would have got a bid before essendons first. Reckon they caved there.

Surprised where Lombard is rated. I would personally take him 1. Fast, accumulating, goal kicking midfielder.

I haven't looked at any Lombard highlights given he's not available to us, but his performances at the combine and his statistical profile generally project him as that fast, dynamic and strong midfielder that would really suit us. If he was available, he'd likely be my second preference in this draft after Draper.

But i think that's just the nature of academy players, they will drop lower than they probably should.

Anyone have a view on a blended top 10 from this year and last?
With absolutely no actual insight and based purely off vibes I think the top end is heavily favoured to last season, but then this draft would clear out the back end of the Top 10.

1. Reid (23)
2. McKercher (23)
3. Walter (23)
4. Ashcroft (24)
5. Sanders (23)
6. Jagga (24)
7. FOS (24)
8. Lalor (24)
9. Langford (24)
10. Draper (24)

(Noting the above is from a sort of 'concensus' view, I personally wouldn't take Walter that high, or Sanders or Draper that low, but suspect that is likely where it is).

Rough crack at 10-20.

11. Zane Duursma (23)
12. Leo Lombard (24)
13. Nick Watson (23)
14. Ethan Read (23)
15. Josh Smilie (24)
16. Murphy Reid (24)
17. Alix Tauru (24)
18. Harry Armstrong (24)
19. Bo Allen (24)
20. Daniel Curtin (23)