Analysis 2024 National Draft

Who should Carlton take at Pick 3 if available?

Based on media speculation? 🙄

To me the club has had a clear plan internally, they are currently executing it and people saying we want this or want that are just guessing

Speculating/guessing as is the Media including your mate Cal.

My mate Cal isn’t guessing, he has an informed opinion with the information he knows.

You can disagree with my post all you like, I stand by what I posted.

We shall see what happens come Draft night, not long to go now.

Geez, can you all STOP....

I'm so confused!

The last time it felt this sick was in my younger years when I was asked the ultimate question for a young buck...

Who would you marry, Claudia, Naomi, Elle, Cindy, Christie or Linda....
Only one choice there - Naomi

And that decision would've aged very well

If the Crows trade up and take Jagga that should ring alarm bells for Draper.

Any clubs list manager that drafts a player that Justin Reid overlooks, has the right idea.

If we're dropping orders mine would be (for the Carlton football club based on what will help us win a premiership)

1. Draper
2. Smith
3. FOS
4. Langford
5. Lalor
I second this order.

Draper and Smith seem to have more runs on the board, both have consistently delivered high output over the past two years, and stepped up and performed in the seniors SANFL and VFL.

FOS could also have delivered but was unfortunately hindered with injuries and hasn’t got the same exposed form as Sid and Jag placing him 3rd.

Langford has terrific qualities but not the burst speed quality that Austin was quoted we are looking for.

Don’t think Lalor will be there at our pick.

sci-fi GIF

For those interested in Sid’s injury, he had what is called a ‘pars defect’ or spondylolysis; a stress fracture of the bones of the lower spine. These fractures typically occur due to overuse. They can be on one or both sides of the vertebrae. It is a common cause of low back pain in children and adolescents. The most common cause of low back pain is muscular, secondary to overuse or deconditioning.

He likely to outgrow the injury and will be no issue going forward.
Coona Blues explained this really clearly earlier in the thread

I’ve really enjoyed all the discussion in here around pick three. So many good options but also so much uncertainty amongst pundits about the composition of the top 5. Seems like every article we read has some different take. Austin keeps his cards close to his chest which I like.

I keep coming back to the fact that we’ve now got the environment to properly develop and cultivate a star youngster. They’ll be coming into a side that has played finals the last two years and is aspiring for more. This isn’t dumping a Dow or SPS into a club in free fall. This is inserting a kid into our midfield who will probably start at 3-5 in our midfield pecking order and will have the ability to grow from there to become the leader of the midfield.

So, while we can’t say that pick 3 will definitely be a win for us, we can say that we’re in the best position I can remember to develop a quality kid than we have been this century.

I’ve really enjoyed reading everyone’s input, given I watch nothing but the widely distributed highlights.

No dog in the fight, they all look like polished, quality players and young men with high end footy attributes.

Wednesday will be a fun draft and I look forward to years of supporting whomever we select. I’m fairly sure that our crew has a better handle on the candidates than most of us distant supporters

Hoping we get a second pick in before the Ben C bid and attract a key defender

Thanks everyone for your input

My preference in order (guarantee lalor going 1)
1. Langford-our mid forward connection is shocking and our mids butcher the footy , give me fast direct ball use over speed any day that inadvertently makes us a quicker side. Can change a game with 20 touches and is extremely flexible in the position he can play-speed we can get from Fogarty and lord anyways imo
2. Draper- speed aside, we don’t have anyone that can weave inside out of traffic like him also oozes future captain with leadership. His back injury and kicking worries me but I listened to his interview seems the ultimate professional
3. Smith- Great player and guaranteed to play 250 games. Safe pick for me and can see why his linked to us cuz his the least likely of the top 5 to be a bust. Pick 3 you go for a home run imo, which he is not. Just screams a stat padder to me and a high possession low impact player which we have tons of players who can get 30+ already.
4. Fos- defs has the biggest upside but the lack of continuity is a concern. Seems like such an Austin pick tho. Screams of Moir and Lemmey picking based off underage. I don’t think you can take such a gamble so early on with the other guaranteed talents that have shown it in spades this year. Also doesn’t get enough touches for my liking to impact. I have heard like I said before that he is the most talented from a draftee themselves and that his highlights don’t do him justice. If we pick him I have full faith the recruiters have watch him closely and have seen something we don’t see through his highlights package.

My gut is telling me that Adelaide climb up take smith who goes 2 and it’s gonna be Draper that’s our Man. Draper is a voss player personified. I reckon Austin wants FOS (complete Austin player) and Voss wants Draper (complete Voss type player) and Voss will get what he wants.

Either way what Austin had done is genius and we will be getting an A grade POD missing piece to the midfield 💪

Analysis 2024 National Draft