Analysis 2024 National Draft

Who should Carlton take at Pick 3 if available?

Imteresting the crows (by all reports) prefer Smith too even over the local boy. I wonder what difference they see?
by a few vague reports....

I won't be unhappy with Jagga, just reckon Draper is a better fit, and arguably more upside.

Good luck to both of them, they've all worked darn hard to get their shot....

Draper could and should play midfield Rd 1.

Smith turns it over just as much as Draper to be frank - they all do...

Draper has that rare instinct of taking the game on, getting the ball forward quickly before the defence gets set, pretty much every time (and yes, sometimes it doesn't work), but that instinct can me molded and refined too.

His kicking has improved markedly from '23 to '24. He only misses know when fully under the pump or he's way off balance - same as any player...

Smith does not have that instinct. He is way more conservative...

Smith is a good player, but a POD? Nope.

That is why I prefer Draper.
nonsense

I don’t buy into the fast fad if your agile and quick thinker you will find space to give and get.
So many so called fast players run them selves into trouble or confuse there teammates as there unpredictable then just bomb it long.Jagga has bit of diesel he sees the game unfold and tries to set a play beyond what is immediate.
Draper is great but he will turn it over and that hurts.
Draper isn’t playing midfield day one so half back where we are stacked.
Jagga plays forward and impacts day one.
I see this as a more positive push for a flag in a three year time frame.
Plus I think Jagga is better smarter player not as fast but fast and agile enough add footy brain and he tops Draper.
Draper has great qualities running through the line at speed breaking zones etc.
When I say better I think he pips him enough it’s not dramatic but he’s my choice from limited highlights as layman who loves footy but has a gut feel rooted in my limited knowledge
Agree. Diesel’s ability to extract and distribute consistently is what set him apart from others and it’s the main quality the club sees in Smith.

We have enough players that can bomb the ball forward only to see it turned over. Time to see the ball moved forward with purpose and short direct passes to leading forwards.

Seen Smith compared to Butters many times.

I see Walsh 2.0.

Discuss...
Read Sam Walsh's draft profile and it reads pretty much the same as Jagga's

While it would be good to have 2 of them my gut feel is Draper is a better fit

Re: Noah Mraz
Sydney were one of those clubs, and even gave him tickets to an AFL match to study Carlton’s star defender Jacob Weitering from behind the goals.

“Mostly when you watch footy, you just watch the play, but you learn so much when you watch one player,” Mraz said. “Weitering is never out of position, and you notice how early his bodywork is – he always has touch – so that was an eye-opener.”

Valid Schmalid 😎
I struggle to watch some of the Blues games let along U18s

cheers to those who did watch u18s games but opinions are like a**holes - everyone’s got one and most opinions are also full of crap and unluckily for you I haven’t been booted from here yet

Bounce the ball (start the draft) already
Please stay … unlike some that have been and gone I don’t take alternative views as a personal attack.

Lance Whitnall is presenting our jumper

Carlton Fc Celebration GIF by Carlton Football Club

Top 12

Lalor
Langford
FOS
Smith
Lombard
Ashcroft
Draper
Lindsay
Hynes
Hannaford
Shanahan
Travaglia
This is my top 20 and it covers most of your players.
Such an even draft. (Planning on finishing my final order after work today.)

1​
Levi Ashcroft
2​
Murphy Reid
3​
Jagga Smith
4​
Sam Draper
5​
Leo Lombard
6​
Sam Lalor
7​
Harvey Langford
8​
Finn O'Sullivan
9​
Alix Tauru
10​
Tobie Travaglia
11​
Taj Hotton
12​
Sam Marshall
13​
Harry Armstrong
14​
Ollie Hannaford
15​
Alex Dodson
16​
Luke Trainor
17​
Cooper Hynes
18​
Xavier Lindsay
19​
Hamish Davis
20​
Jessie Dattoli

Hamish from Crows on gettable. They are clearly in love with Jagga. Could not have been more glowing. If gone, I think they go Draper over Langford based on the interview.
Not inside the 4 walls, just from player managers/recruiter point of view, but there is an internal tussle at the Crows on Langford v Draper.

If Draper was born in Vic, they would be picking Langford. I find that remarkable. Be interesting to see how it plays out tonight and who ultimately gets the final say at that club.

wow trainor sliding to the 2nd round?

Cal just mentioned Harry O’Farrell for pick 38
Been mentioned a few times over the past week. Haven't heard anyone else linked to that pick. There are a few KPD in that area, so should be a decent one available if we go that way.

Even if there is a Campo bid early and we need to trade out 38 and back into the 40s, still a good chance for O'Farrell. Doubt he goes before 38. I personally love James Barrat even though he's more 3rd tall size.

1​
Levi Ashcroft
2​
Murphy Reid
3​
Jagga Smith
4​
Sam Draper
5​
Leo Lombard
6​
Sam Lalor
7​
Harvey Langford
8​
Finn O'Sullivan
9​
Alix Tauru
10​
Tobie Travaglia
11​
Taj Hotton
12​
Sam Marshall
13​
Harry Armstrong
14​
Ollie Hannaford
15​
Alex Dodson
16​
Luke Trainor
17​
Cooper Hynes
18​
Xavier Lindsay
19​
Hamish Davis
20​
Jessie Dattoli
Bold call on MR at 2. Good to see an opinion that is not group think.

Please correct me if I'm wrong.

But Jagga doesn't seem to be a pure accumulator with no hurt factor (Tom Mitchell - racking up disposals which amount to nothing).

Rather - in addition to being a ball magnet, he also has the ability to side step, the footy IQ to hold onto the ball for an extra second and then execute a handball/kick to advantage of a teammate.

1​
Levi Ashcroft
2​
Murphy Reid
3​
Jagga Smith
4​
Sam Draper
5​
Leo Lombard
6​
Sam Lalor
7​
Harvey Langford
8​
Finn O'Sullivan
9​
Alix Tauru
10​
Tobie Travaglia
11​
Taj Hotton
12​
Sam Marshall
13​
Harry Armstrong
14​
Ollie Hannaford
15​
Alex Dodson
16​
Luke Trainor
17​
Cooper Hynes
18​
Xavier Lindsay
19​
Hamish Davis
20​
Jessie Dattoli

High rating on Reid, I know WC are keen, but I have him late 1st

Harrison Oliver is going to be a steal, have a feeling GWS will take him with one of their picks

Please correct me if I'm wrong.

But Jagga doesn't seem to be a pure accumulator with no hurt factor (Tom Mitchell - racking up disposals which amount to nothing).

Rather - in addition to being a ball magnet, he also has the ability to side step, the footy IQ to hold onto the ball for an extra second and then execute a handball/kick to advantage of a teammate.
My read is the latter. His agility, both for loose ball gets and evasiveness on congestion, is elite. I think his improvement will be using these amazing strengths to more consistently advantage forward movement rather than opting for conservative lateral movement. I think Jagga can easily be the best of this draft.

Analysis 2024 National Draft