- Jun 1, 2015
- AFL Club
- Sydney
Does Rioli get a fine for his disgraceful staging?
The break could make Sydney rusty, they're going into the match with only 1 game played within a 27 day period, and Port are coming off a brutal game with that mindset. Older players struggle getting up again with too much rest, and Sydney has a lot of them. Seriously the whole finals series should be overhauled to limit significant breaks if Sydney lose this because of the massive rest.Let's just put our loss to Port into perspective.
We played Francis, Corey Warner and fricking Ladhams of all players for the only time this year. James Rowbottom was back fresh from injury.
We were missing Papley, McInerney, Melican, Amartey, Campbell and in my opinion most important of all: Rampe.
We will have rested two weeks. They will have rested one.
We're playing on our home deck.
They'll have some fresh injuries of their own from this game.
This will be a drastically different game. I reckon we got this.
I don't think so. The QF against GWS was so physically intense I think if we'd lost we would have been in serious danger of going out in straight sets against the Lions. Would much rather be in our position going into a Prelim than Port's .The break could make Sydney rusty, they're going into the match with only 1 game played within a 27 day period, and Port are coming off a brutal game with that mindset. Older players struggle getting up again with too much rest, and Sydney has a lot of them. Seriously the whole finals series should be overhauled to limit significant breaks if Sydney lose this because of the massive rest.
They really need to ditch the pre finals bye.The break could make Sydney rusty, they're going into the match with only 1 game played within a 27 day period, and Port are coming off a brutal game with that mindset. Older players struggle getting up again with too much rest, and Sydney has a lot of them. Seriously the whole finals series should be overhauled to limit significant breaks if Sydney lose this because of the massive rest.
What are you taking about? They were the #1 and #2 Melbourne based teams. They therefore had to be the top seeds. We might as well close the season early given they have been eliminated by outside imposters.I must say this whole footy thing confuses me.
All the experts said the 6th placed team in WBDogs were the #1 seed.
Then they lose and the 7th placed team in Hawthorn became the almost unanimous #1 seed and now they've lost.
Does this actually mean that the ladder positions achieved over the season actually have some merit?
I think the one week rest thing is a myth, recently teams have played very well following a semi final - GWS, collingwood, WB to name a few. We even made it into the GF in 2016 off the back of a qualifying final loss.Let's just put our loss to Port into perspective.
We played Francis, Corey Warner and fricking Ladhams of all players for the only time this year. James Rowbottom was back fresh from injury.
We were missing Papley, McInerney, Melican, Amartey, Campbell and in my opinion most important of all: Rampe.
We will have rested two weeks. They will have rested one.
We're playing on our home deck.
They'll have some fresh injuries of their own from this game.
This will be a drastically different game. I reckon we got this.
I think the one week rest thing is a myth, recently teams have played very well following a semi final - GWS, collingwood, WB to name a few. We even made it into the GF in 2016 off the back of a qualifying final loss.
Rowbottom?The players you've listed off weren't front and centre players in that loss, we lost it in the middle of the ground and surrendered ground position as a result.
We'll win.I'm at peace knowing if we can get up v port, we will go on and win the big one. If we don't, then we're lacking anyway.
Losing the qualifying final puts you in a disadvantageous position due to losing home ground advantage in a prelim. And if you say being tired because of the extra game also contributes, then 26% is actually a pretty high % in consideration. And that doesn't take into account teams making the granny but losing it.View attachment 2110460
Seems to me winning the Premiership off a qualifying final loss is a rarity. 6/23 won. That's only a 26% success rate. Doesn't seem very mythical to me if the data and history is anything to go by. As of now we're in the box seat.
Rowbottom?
We'll win.
So peeps who do we want to face in the GF ?
Even though umps and neutrals will probably favour them, I would love an all NSW grand final.
Imagine the outcry from fathead Eddie.
Geelong for redemption purposes. Not Lions, they worry me.
JHWF - always getting ahead of himself. Always.
All Sydney gf…would be awesomeSo peeps who do we want to face in the GF ?
Even though umps and neutrals will probably favour them, I would love an all NSW grand final.
Imagine the outcry from fathead Eddie.
Geelong for redemption purposes. Not Lions, they worry me.
JHWF - always getting ahead of himself. Always.
Mitchell was a snippy nasty player, he’s in no position to throw criticism at anyone.And let’s not forget his needle taunt to the Bombers back in the day … although I must admit, I thought it was clever and deserved at the time View attachment 2110192
I want Brisbane to lose just so the Squiggle looks like a complete fool.I really, really want brissie to lose.
Just to watch fox footy rankigns scramble.
It will be glorious
Beating GWS 4/4 times this year seems unlikely so I'm hoping Brisbane get up. They're my preferred Grand Final opponent.GWS will flog them
Beating GWS 4/4 times this year seems unlikely so I'm hoping Brisbane get up. They're my preferred Grand Final opponent.