Another couple released today - Ollie is looking bigger, Bowes is looking chiselled, and Tanner looking bigger too. Also a Geelong travel ad to lure back Sel
View attachment 1867665
Must be hot out there if Close is in the short sleeves
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Another couple released today - Ollie is looking bigger, Bowes is looking chiselled, and Tanner looking bigger too. Also a Geelong travel ad to lure back Sel
View attachment 1867665
Thought about it a bit, and when we recruited Hardie it was mentioned heaps that his rise to looking like an AFL quality player in the state leagues was mainly fitness based.This is both exciting for Hardie and a cold shower for Mannagh
Thought about it a bit, and when we recruited Hardie it was mentioned heaps that his rise to looking like an AFL quality player in the state leagues was mainly fitness based.
Stories of him doing extra running sessions after training, didn't stop wearing his runners all pre-season, things of that ilk.
Got me thinking that maybe he looked a class above in the SANFL because he was so much fitter than his contemporaries?
Doesn't mean he can't do the same at AFL level either, but it was never going to happen immediately if that's the case.
Even at VFL level with most clubs having a large contingent of AFL listed players, it would have been a big step up.
He might have gone from having that extra 5-15% on everyone else, to it suddenly being a level playing field, or even a bit behind.
Hardie was good at VFL when played in the centre. I think they were hoping he would show more in other positionsI think they probably thought that Hardie may have more improvement in him.
He went from Canberra league to SANFL reserves to SANFL to being dominant at SANFL level across 4 seasons.
As you say it wasn't until the latest pre season that he took footy genuinely seriously with the fitness work.
Recruiters probably thought he had another step to take in a professional environment but it would appear he has no more roll to him.
Hardie was good at VFL when played in the centre. I think they were hoping he would show more in other positions
Exactly.Only saw him in a few games (on TV) but he seemed to drift out of the game the moment they switched him up forward?
Thank Goodness !Yep, you made the right call. You'd definitely have every flavour of hepatitis
View attachment 1867738
This is both exciting for Hardie and a cold shower for Mannagh
Back to the wing for him.Holmes upper body is still lacking significantly which will limit his inside midfield utility
Well that's a positive, will force him back to the wing for a bitHolmes upper body is still lacking significantly which will limit his inside midfield utility
100% agree... If we are on the same page with here.Attribute vs stats based drafting
I don't think Clark needs to step up. He just needs to step on to the ground...Knevitt, Willis and Clark are 3 we really need to step up to another level next year if we are to get back to being competitive. Critical that we get at least a couple coming through from that young midfield group. Think we will continue to see improvement from Bruhn, Holmes and Bowes. But assuming that Dangerfield and Duncan continue to tail off, we need this next tier to have massive pre seasons and be ready to hit 2024 hard.
I was dared by my mates to drink out of the ganges through a lifestraw (used on a nepal hike the week before). Didn't do it. Showed how much I trusted the life straw I guess... and how caring my mates were haha
100% agree... If we are on the same page with here.
Mannagh has the attributes + the stats.
Hardie had stats but not really the attributes to my eye.
When you're already 193cm jumping like that won't hurt his chances of standing out among the rest.Appears Knevitt has developed the ability to levitate this preseason. Hopefully this translates to better marking power around the ground
View attachment 1868183
The likes of Miers, or Miers specifically, would be in the first 5 to 10 picked.Gee I like this guy, reckon he'll be as tough as Atkins, better watch out the likes of Miers too, Mannagh, now this guy as well brings plenty of competition.
So a little snippet from track watch that pricked my ears up was how good a runner O’Sulliven is. Maybe this is widely known but…
Most of the running drills are “handicapt”. Eg. 3x 3 minute runs with 30 sec break in between.
The “backrunners” are Blitz, Dempsey, Knevitte, Miers, MOC and now COS. At his height and age that is exciting to see him running in that elite group.
btw the back group try to get through 1km each 3m run and largely overtake most of the rest in that last 3m sector (makes me tired just thinking about that!)
Dead right. Should never play as an inside mid. Get him out where he can run. Where he played his best football.Well that's a positive, will force him back to the wing for a bit