Rumour 2024 Rumours and Speculation (Rumours total 25, last 28th August)

Will we land a big fish?

• Yes

Votes: 34 17.8%
  • No

Votes: 157 82.2%

You would think it would be the other way around.

Especially after he got dropped and had a sook about the reaction from supporters.

He seems self entitled.

On SM-A325F using BigFooty.com mobile app

People were absolute w***ers to him.

He's just a person - he doesn't need people filling his socials with personal attacks.

Even your post makes judgments about him that are really personal.

Have heard in the past about our approaches to players, which has been described as "arrogant" and basically a "you should be thrilled a big club like us wants you" type approach. We kinda make it feel like they should be flattered we're after them, rather than making it clear we really want them and we'll do what we gotta do to get them over.

Probably 1 reason why we've struggled to get guys over. Unless you were already a Crows fan our approach means sweet F all.

Was the same regarding sponsorships back in the Chapman and Triggs day.
The company I was with ending up going to the pear (who understandably laid out the red carpet)

They have done. In case you didn't notice, we had a massive clean out from 2018-2020. Since then our team has been filled with inexperienced players, slowly gaining experience.

The problem now is that the 2018-2020 clean out left only a small core of senior players, and now those few senior players we retained are reaching the ends of their careers.

Effectively we're now going back to square 1 - but without the solid core of high quality senior players that we had last time. You could almost argue we're going back to square 0.

The hope was that the next generation of players would have stepped up by now, ready to replace the likes of Sloane/Walker/Smith. Our drafting & development (mostly the latter) failures have meant that this hasn't happened. The next generation of leaders are mostly dud players, and we're still several years away from our high quality youngsters (e.g. Michelanney, Soligo) being ready for leadership roles, as they're mostly still in the sub-50 game bracket.

I wouldn't say that we're "very very bad" at talent identification, though there have been a few misses along the way (McHenry being the standout). I would say that we're very, very, very bad at developing the kids once we get them onto our team list. Sack Godden!
I couldn’t agree more.

Anyone who has watched the raw talent come into our sanfl side over the years has seen the talent guys like Dude, Woz, Nank and now Curtin have. Even Taylor has neat skills.

Our inability to develop players has been criminal. AFC is where draftees come to die.

Even a bunch of others getting a regular AFL game have developed no where near their potential.

I reckon 70% of our problems lie in crap player development.

Our best 3 players are two guys we got from other teams and a 34 year old developed in a bygone era.

Saving us from ourselves here...he was not the guy we should have been offering big coin to

I don’t think anyone is overly surprised. Will be some mild concern that we have supposedly offered 3 years, will be a lot of hoping that his body will hold up.

Not the AFC or its supporters worry in any case 😆

If you are looking for an older midfielder to potentially help develop youth and drive standards and the like, would Parker be an option? I know the need for finding a quality mid in the right age bracket is the upmost priority, but there isn’t much available this year from all reports thus far :(

Saving us from ourselves here...he was not the guy we should have been offering big coin to
Probably why we never did offer him coin - any coin.

Looks like Colin Young's snow job on West Coast has worked to perfection.

We don't need experience we need more people that can actually execute under pressure. Don't care how many years they've played.
We need more guys to step up as leaders. So whether that's by bringing in more experience or by trying to fast track some of the younger guys we have currently. But currently Dawson seems like the only one out there doing anything.

I am not opposed to bringing in a couple of experienced guys from other clubs. Not necessarily older guys like Yeo, but guys that can show leadership on the field. We have seen many times now teams get on a run with momentum and kick multiple goals in a row (like Sydney on the weekend).

We need guys on the field to acknowledge we need to do something to stop the momentum and actually make changes to try and stop the run of goals and get back the game on our terms.

We need more guys to step up as leaders. So whether that's by bringing in more experience or by trying to fast track some of the younger guys we have currently. But currently Dawson seems like the only one out there doing anything.

I am not opposed to bringing in a couple of experienced guys from other clubs. Not necessarily older guys like Yeo, but guys that can show leadership on the field. We have seen many times now teams get on a run with momentum and kick multiple goals in a row (like Sydney on the weekend).

We need guys on the field to acknowledge we need to do something to stop the momentum and actually make changes to try and stop the run of goals and get back the game on our terms.
And that is about executing.

Not knowing what to do, not pointing the finger and telling people where to run, not yelling instructions at people.

Real leadership in these situations is about action and doing the things necessary to change the game. Setting the example and standard for what needs to be done.

The very last thing we need is another vocal "leader" who fails to actually execute when it matters most. It sends the absolute wrong message.

To put it bluntly, there are only 2 types of player who want to move to Adelaide (the city, not the club):
  • Gun players with existing ties to SA (e.g. Rankine, Dawson).
  • Journeymen who hope moving to an SA club might give them more opportunities.
There are no examples of gun players without SA ties moving to Adelaide.

If you thought we got it wrong with Burgess, who do you think we could/should have got - noting the qualifications above. We didn't get him because of "his games played and age", we got him because we identified a need and he was a player who appeared capable of meeting that need.
Seedsman?

Nah, hardly played 20 games of footy in his last 2 junior years, because of COVID. He was a fair way off AFL ready.
So was Rachele’s first game a fluke then? How would someone who isn’t remotely AFL ready play like that in their first (and second) game(s), in Rounds 1 and 2 at the age of 18? Why would he even be in the team at that point if he wasn’t AFL ready?

And wouldn’t the same logic re lack of AFL readiness due to lack of games in the leadup to being drafted apply to the likes of Daicos, Callaghan and NWM? How are they looking compared to Rachele? NWM was far less AFL ready than Rachele in terms of physical development and ability to compete physically, and very quickly became one of the absolute best outside types in the game.

Maybe it’s Rachele being played in the wrong position.

Maybe it’s Rachele getting ahead of himself.

Maybe it’s because Rachele only puts in when he feels like it, and “picks and chooses” a bit too often.

Maybe it’s that our development staff are trash.

Maybe it’s because Matthew Nicks is a terrible coach who struggles to consistently get the best out of 80% of players on the list.

Maybe it’s a combination of all of those things.

Whatever it is, Rachele’s actual output now is worse than it was in his first handful of games at AFL level, and we were a crap team then too.

Let’s not forget that last year, when we were actually going well, Rachele was dropped (and rightly so), so this is not aligned to team performance.

Here’s an excerpt from Rachele’s RookieMe draft profile:

A factor which may be holding Rachele back from more midfield time is his consistency, and consistency of effort. He has developed into a player who impacts in spurts, dominating periods of a game rather than the full four quarters. You get the sense he knows just how good he is, and might not seek to prove it with each act. There are games where he simply looks on, but others where he is less energised and raring to break the game open.
Rachele is a player who, at his best, has top five potential. As the leading small forward in this year's cohort, his stocks will be boosted even further and he will likely tempt clubs inside the top 10. Work rate and consistency are essential in the modern game, but can easily be developed in an elite environment. Rachele will be drafted based on what he does so well, and there are plenty of traits which fans will quickly come to enjoy. He's a bums-on-seat type of talent, and one capable of pulling off what others simply cannot.

So really, all he probably needs is an elite environment to thrive. Pity for him that he didn’t get drafted to one.

To put it bluntly, there are only 2 types of player who want to move to Adelaide (the city, not the club):

If you thought we got it wrong with Burgess, who do you think we could/should have got - noting the qualifications above. We didn't get him because of "his games played and age", we got him because we identified a need and he was a player who appeared capable of meeting that need.

There are very few examples of star players with no associated ties with another state, moving to that state. It just appears amplified because the Crows have lost a lot of players and gained back very little, but all who left generally had ties. Its an AFL wide phenomenon really.

Brodie Smith has been in the leadership group since 2020.

Here are the leadership group media releases from each year:

You may not know what leadership he provides, but his teammates obviously rate his leadership, having voted him into the leadership for the last 5 years running.
Probably time for the leadership group to stop being based on player votes I’d say. This poor playing group has absolutely no idea what a winning culture or strong leader looks like.

There it is, Yeo

Sad state of affairs at crowland when this is one of the better pieces of news we’ve seen in weeks.

Paddy Ryder was pretty close to a gun, but those circumstances were pretty unique so I don’t disagree with your point. Just outlines how ludicrous AFL trading is with the players having all the power. Free trading will happen one day and then it’s a much more even playing field.

I imagine Nicks/Burns choosing it would be no better, tbf
It’s almost like competent people should replace them and instil a winning and successful culture, yes.

Rumour 2024 Rumours and Speculation (Rumours total 25, last 28th August)