Review 2024 Season review thread

When you peel it back we are probably a Holmes hamstring away from winning the GF this year.

Anther couple players were injured too? From memory, Danger kicked in the ribs + help me out. . .

Henry and bruhn were injured during the game too ?
While that's true, don't forget that McInerney went down right as he started to kill us out of the ruck.

End of the day, from the halfway mark against GWS, Brisbane had one of the all-time great September runs.

While that's true, don't forget that McInerney went down right as he started to kill us out of the ruck.

End of the day, from the halfway mark against GWS, Brisbane had one of the all-time great September runs.

Gws and us were simply pathetic in the 2nd half of our games.

The saddest part of it all was had we won, we had a very soft side in Sydney awaiting.

Reckon we beat them by 5 goals so it was a truly golden opportunity missed to snare premiership number 11.

Yep. An opportunity that won't come again this decade I don't think. Threw it away.

The saddest part of it all was had we won, we had a very soft side in Sydney awaiting.

Reckon we beat them by 5 goals so it was a truly golden opportunity missed to snare premiership number 11.

Echoes of 2019, albeit against better opposition then (though maybe Brisbane match them over the next few years?).

Matched them early, outplayed them in the second, then couldn't go with them in the second half but went fighting and screaming all the way. Had a team as soft as a McFlurry waiting there the next week but just couldn't get over the PF line.

Sure brissy were very good. Don’t begrudge them but it’s not like they beat us by much.

Erm, they beat us pretty handsomely in the middle of the year.

Sydney were easy beats in this years finals.
Had Giants just capitalized on one passage of play in the final quarter, Sydney is going home in straight sets. They were handed Port Adelaide whom we slaughtered by 13 goals and we would have overpowered them again in a grand final re-match.

Just re-watched the Kayo mini of our win against Port in the semi.

Of course the opportunity to win the whole thing was missed but I'm still shocked at how good some of the guys we drafted in the last couple of years are. We've got no right to have guys like Dempsey, Holmes, Stengle, Humphries tearing the house down like they are.

The year was a failure on paper but I'm not disappointed

It was amazing that we made it to a prelim with that list, and it showed some outstanding coaching throughout the season. How Chris Scott wasn't the AA Coach was beyond me. No other coach in the AFL could have taken an essentially B-grade list and gotten them to a prelim. Ultimately, Holmes's injury in the prelim was our doom, but that was a game we could have won. Every final series has stories of teams squandering an opportunity to win a flag. This year, it was the Cats. That's life. That's sports. Bring on 2025.

Just re-watched the Kayo mini of our win against Port in the semi.

Of course the opportunity to win the whole thing was missed but I'm still shocked at how good some of the guys we drafted in the last couple of years are. We've got no right to have guys like Dempsey, Holmes, Stengle, Humphries tearing the house down like they are.

The year was a failure on paper but I'm not disappointed
I agree with this and, even including Holmes injury, I think if Stengle and Dempsey had good prelims (they had many of them through the year), we probably would've made the grand final. When they were "on" it was a 4 goal difference to our fortunes. Throw Mannagh in there too, who unfortunately just had an erratic night.

We could have jagged a premiership, given a good run, but it would have been a steal of major proportions.
Brisbane earned their silverware this year peaking and riding some luck at the right time, in what was a pretty open race.

Happy with how we remained competitive, with our younger players developing and also uncovering a few more diamonds that should keep us as in it at the pointy end for foreseeable future. We are lucky to have a number of newer guys to watch develop while remaining as a ‘contender’..

I agree with this and, even including Holmes injury, I think if Stengle and Dempsey had good prelims (they had many of them through the year), we probably would've made the grand final. When they were "on" it was a 4 goal difference to our fortunes. Throw Mannagh in there too, who unfortunately just had an erratic night.

Holmes injury in prelim is what cost us in the end but I fully agree with comments on Stengle and Dempsey but more-so Stengle, he had an absolute shocker which was completely against the norm, worst game he's ever played. Stengle can be a tad selfish at times but by and large he's very good but the prelim is a game he'll want to forget on many accounts. Still can't wrap my head around how bad he was, coz that's just not him but I'm sure if he is in same position for prelim or grand final in future you'll see a totally different Tyson Stengle.

You'll probably be aware (see avatar) I'm a big Ollie Dempsey fan and had his avatar up 'before' commencement of 2024 season, so I was expecting 'big things' from him in 2024. But if I had one criticism of his game during the 2024 season, it would be that is he does not take the game on enough, especially in marking contests where instead of flying for marks, he'd take the easy option and hang out, but he can also do this in general play which really frustrates me, coz he's already got the talent and ability to do extraordinary things.

I'm also a big fan of Kai Lohmann for the Brisbane Lions with both Ollie and Kai having heaps of natural ability but what I like about Kai is that he will take the game on more, but ability wise there's really little between the two. I'm sure Ollie is aware of this 'hanging out' issue and as he becomes bigger, stronger and 'grows more in confidence' he most certainly will take the game on more and become a better player for it, with the 2025 season being just the beginning of him heading to the elite category as a top-line footballer.

It was amazing that we made it to a prelim with that list, and it showed some outstanding coaching throughout the season. How Chris Scott wasn't the AA Coach was beyond me. No other coach in the AFL could have taken an essentially B-grade list and gotten them to a prelim. Ultimately, Holmes's injury in the prelim was our doom, but that was a game we could have won. Every final series has stories of teams squandering an opportunity to win a flag. This year, it was the Cats. That's life. That's sports. Bring on 2025.
I think they got the AA coach spot on.
I would have had it Fahey *1. Mitchell *2. And then I dont know. Throw a blanket over Hinkley, Longmire, Scott, Kingsley.

Holmes injury in prelim is what cost us in the end but I fully agree with comments on Stengle and Dempsey but more-so Stengle
As much as I agree with you on Stengle (and also on Holmes' injury, to be honest), it's worth bearing in mind that McInerney was starting to absolutely take us to the cleaners when he got injured.

You'll probably be aware (see avatar) I'm a big Ollie Dempsey fan and had his avatar up 'before' commencement of 2024 season, so I was expecting 'big things' from him in 2024. But if I had one criticism of his game during the 2024 season, it would be that is he does not take the game on enough, especially in marking contests where instead of flying for marks, he'd take the easy option and hang out, but he can also do this in general play which really frustrates me, coz he's already got the talent and ability to do extraordinary things.

I'm also a big fan of Kai Lohmann for the Brisbane Lions with both Ollie and Kai having heaps of natural ability but what I like about Kai is that he will take the game on more, but ability wise there's really little between the two. I'm sure Ollie is aware of this 'hanging out' issue and as he becomes bigger, stronger and 'grows more in confidence' he most certainly will take the game on more and become a better player for it, with the 2025 season being just the beginning of him heading to the elite category as a top-line footballer.
Spot on GG
I think he'll make those adjustments and pull it off - that will make him a genuine A Grader bordering on elite as a winger. :thumbsu:

What a nonsense remark BNF, stating the Geelong 2024 side having 'essentially a B-grade list' of which from my point of view is a completely derogatory comment and under-selling all the players at the club in the 2024 season, to the point of belittlement. Chris Scott himself, was slow to introduce the likes of Shannon Neale, Shaun Mannagh and Lawson Humphries into the side on a full-time basis but when he eventually did and had all three players playing in the same side at the one time, that along with Paddy Dangerfield coming back from injury and Tom Stewart going into the midfield, it completely changed the dynamics of the side and was far removed from a B-Grade side/list.

The Tom Stewart move was the most baffling, as it was flagged prior to the start of the 2024 season, that we may look at playing Tom Stewart in the midfield at some stage given Cam Guthrie's long term injury which seemed sound logic at the time. However, as the season progressed and we started struggling in the midfield 'bigtime', Chris bafflingly refused to play Tom Stewart in the midfield, although there were early season plans to do so which seemed 'so strange'.

As it so happens, it was almost by default Chris Scott moved Tom Stewart into the midfield because Tom, himself was struggling 'bigtime' with being tagged at half-back but fortunately for Chris and for us Cat fans, by moving Tom into the midfield it panned-out to be a blessing in disguise on more than one front. Coz along with Paddy Dangerfield coming back into the side from injury, it solved our 'contested midfield woes' virtually immediately but the other great benefit was bringing Lawson Humphries into the side which he 'instantly became a revelation' and a vital cog to the team's chemistry and cohesion.

This whole scenario could have happened earlier, if Chris Scott had brought Shannon Neale, Shaun Mannagh and Lawson Humphries into the side earlier but also to send Tom into the midfield when we were struggling. But to Chris's and other coaches credit they eventually got things right and from that point-on it was a gradual slow-build with all these changes being implemented, which finally culminated in a devastating and demolition performance by the Cats against Port Adelaide in the Qualifying Final over in Adelaide. That performance was nothing short of 'remarkable' and was so far removed from 'essentially a B-grade list/side' it's really not worthwhile to even mention that terminology again...... GO CATS for 2025

As much as I agree with you on Stengle (and also on Holmes' injury, to be honest), it's worth bearing in mind that McInerney was starting to absolutely take us to the cleaners when he got injured.

Agreed to some point, as we can't have it both ways but strangely by McInerney going down and Joe Daniher going into the ruck, Brisbane's forward line became far more mobile and dangerous, it was almost a blessing in disguise not disimilar to Pods going down in the 2011 Grand Final, as like with McInerney changed the nature of the game. But back to Stengle, it's his worst game by far having a mere, costing us goals both ways.... he plays to his normal self and we win for sure.

What a nonsense remark BNF, stating the Geelong 2024 side having 'essentially a B-grade list' of which from my point of view is a completely derogatory comment and under-selling all the players at the club in the 2024 season, to the point of belittlement. Chris Scott himself, was slow to introduce the likes of Shannon Neale, Shaun Mannagh and Lawson Humphries into the side on a full-time basis but when he eventually did and had all three players playing in the same side at the one time, that along with Paddy Dangerfield coming back from injury and Tom Stewart going into the midfield, it completely changed the dynamics of the side and was far removed from a B-Grade side/list.
No, I completely agree with BlakeyNoFlakey .

It's a B-grade list. That's pretty good, but it did overachieve. Our team at the moment is a curious mix of superstar vets in the tail end of their careers and raw players who are making the most of their potential. We have a strange list of strengths - a very thin midfield, but a great small forward fleet. Of our team, very very few of them are at the peak of their careers.

Scott and the associated coaching team have done brilliantly well IMO to win games in strange ways, largely without dominant contributions from star mids and with the worst ruck division in the AFL. Geelong's trump cards - Dangerfield, Cameron and Stewart - are pretty unique, and they have all been deployed exceptionally well.

It's not derogatory to call it a B-grade list. It's fair, and it's a compliment to coaching team and players alike.

B Grade List ?
With respect can't agree with that - but , at times in 2024, we had a B Grade Midfield IMO.
That corrected in the latter part of the season with Danger back and with Holmes and Stewart firing in there.
Stanley battles manfully but we lower our colours in the ruck most weeks.
I'm hoping Smith adds to the mix positively and with Holmes,Bruhn , Bowes and Clark as support our midfield should improve.

Our forwardline ,when we deliver the pill the right way , is just about the best in the business as is our backline when we support them by defending well upfield.

On reflection we were 20 odd up at 1/2 time in the PF and could have been 40 up at the 10 minute mark of the 3rd if we didn't play such shitty , non Cats Footy.
Even then we are up by a point or so with 3 minutes left in the final 1/4 - that's not a B Grade list.................

No, I completely agree with BlakeyNoFlakey .

It's a B-grade list. That's pretty good, but it did overachieve. Our team at the moment is a curious mix of superstar vets in the tail end of their careers and raw players who are making the most of their potential. We have a strange list of strengths - a very thin midfield, but a great small forward fleet. Of our team, very very few of them are at the peak of their careers.

Scott and the associated coaching team have done brilliantly well IMO to win games in strange ways, largely without dominant contributions from star mids and with the worst ruck division in the AFL. Geelong's trump cards - Dangerfield, Cameron and Stewart - are pretty unique, and they have all been deployed exceptionally well.

It's not derogatory to call it a B-grade list. It's fair, and it's a compliment to coaching team and players alike.

Still totally disagree and as far as I'm concerned you're undermining too many players in our side that are a lot better footballers than you give credence. In fact, before and during the season I've spoken and written about some of this under-appreciated talent that we have coming through the ranks (by some here on Geelong Big Footy) and got as much as 18/1 for us to win the flag at different intervals during year to back my words. And I do expect for us to continue on into 2025 and beyond with this excellent group of players performing at a high level, barring a injury riddled season as per 2023 season....... GO CATS 2025

Review 2024 Season review thread