List Mgmt. 2024 Trade & List Management Thread - Part II

"Suck it up princess" ???

Is that clickbait or does Mark actually run with that angle in the clip?

He did go on a tangent that players will use the family reason to move like they have mental illness when talking about Noble going to GC so it's possible he was having an off day.

4x AA, 1x Norm Smith... I reckon somehow if push came to shove, we'd find space in the best 23 mate.

I highly doubt he will get back to the player he was and if that's the case, given he will be on 1.2 - 1.7M per year, it's not in our best interests. Better off using that money to pay LDU, keep McKercher away from Tassie and have something in our back pocket in case a Wardlaw or Duursma goes through the roof development wise.

The long contracts thing is interesting.

Not sure if it's possible under the CBA framework but I can also foresee clubs putting in financial penalties for not seeing the contract out.

I wouldn't be surprised that if they don't, in the future you'll find that guys who've been on insane money for 3-4 years already are happy to just not play or retire if a club denies their trade request. Most will have built up a decent amount to live comfortably anyway.

He did go on a tangent that players will use the family reason to move like they have mental illness when talking about Noble going to GC so it's possible he was having an off day.
Robbo and tangent are like Brussel sprouts when mum cooks a Sunday roast - you don't necessarily want it, but you're going to get it regardless..

Players have all the power now.

If longterm contracts mean jackshit to players the clubs will eventually have enough and loby for the ability to trade players without their consent
The AFL models themselves on US sports so it's just a matter of time.

The media will have movement in their undies when it happens, because it will give them copious hours of conspiracy theories and 'sources' of why player A has been shipped off to club B and so on..

If Melbourne were confident the old trak would come back there is no way they would let him go.

Smells.

And I cant but think trak at North (which will never happen anyway) would just be another rerun of Judd at Carlton.
Funny thought I had to myself though was on the crazy chance he did come to us could you imagine the first day he rocks up the Arden St?

Legendary for his dedication to training standards & getting the best out of himself, he walks into the gym 1st of November & sees a bunch of twig armed kids all looking at eachothers IG feeds.

Proceeds to go upstairs & ask management why are a bunch of school kids using the gym when it's supposed to be our first day back only to be told to go back downstairs & introduce yourself to your new team mates :p

The AFL models themselves on US sports so it's just a matter of time.

The media will have movement in their undies when it happens, because it will give them copious hours of conspiracy theories and 'sources' of why player A has been shipped off to club B and so on..

Agree, but don't think it will happen until the bottom rung of players are payed substantially more, or the AFL pay for relocation expenses.

There are many angles that would look after players better than a FA system that favours the topline players.

Consensual demotion to rookie list without going via draft.

Sabbatical year where player and club can recommit after a season off the list without using the draft.

Conversely, stricter structures to protect clubs in the event of contract breaks. Simply forcing a disinterested player to stay listed isn't proving enough disincentive.

Extreme example - JHFF was allowed to break contract but had to serve a 12 game wait period at the new club.

Sam Day has played 18 games in 4 years.

Unless we see him as a coach and we want to pay salary cap rather than soft cap it has to be a hard no.

1724804200252.png

Sam Day has played 18 games in 4 years.

Unless we see him as a coach and we want to pay salary cap rather than soft cap it has to be a hard no.

View attachment 2094382
Has played a fair bit of VFL in that time. Suns didn't really value him but he's their best contested mark by far.

Had to take the dog into a Melbourne vet around the time it happened, an hour long drive so listened to all sorts of debate about it on SEN. The consensus was without very expensive medical equipment and specialist doctors there was no way of knowing the extent of his injuries other than broken ribs. They had specialists call in and discuss it, and the cost to have all that at a match is unrealistic.

Yes they knew ribs were broken of course, but players have gone back out with that in the past and will in the future. They concluded the Melbourne Doc would've been very much reliant on patient feedback.

Obviously i wasn't a fly on the wall, im just saying what was said on radio, in a pretty in depth discussion about it.
Good points. Wasn't aware that the nature of it was that advanced. Sort of means I lose whatever leg I was standing on. My apologies Sheezel2Wardlaw

Has played a fair bit of VFL in that time. Suns didn't really value him but he's their best contested mark by far.

I went and looked his total game tallies.

21 - 8
22 - 16
23 - 23
24 - 13

one full season in 4 years.

I would still suggest it's buyer beware given the amount of games missed.

Looks like the Suns retracted an offer so he'd be a DFA. Maybe Vic interest but I also wouldn't rule out Brisbane who wanted Gunston for a reason.

I hope we stay away. The age and injury profile doesn't suit our list requirements.

I went and looked his total game tallies.

21 - 8
22 - 16
23 - 23
24 - 13

one full season in 4 years.

I would still suggest it's buyer beware given the amount of games missed.
To buy something you need to pay something.

More like collecting hard rubbish. Might find it serves a purpose for us for a year or two.

Just had a quick scour over other lists and who played little games this year. **** it’s pretty slim pickings to get any of the extra talent that Clarko spoke about being under utilised.

Erasmus
Davies
Spargo (albeit injured)
D Robertson
Binns
A Roberts
Conway
Rosas
D Williams
O Baker

These are realistic options who would be in our side and increase the quality of the bottom 6

List Mgmt. 2024 Trade & List Management Thread - Part II