List Mgmt. 2024 Trade & List Management Thread - Part II

Yeh. That'd be hilarious gluteman..
Sorry mate but I think it would be awesome.
Balta and Houston would be awesome.
Get it done . The answer to our woes is not more 18 year old kids. It's winning some games and making future fas want to come to us.
We have been crap so long all we have had to look forward too has been the next pick 1 or 2. It's time to leave the draft thread and work more in the trade and fa thread.

He is but as I've said multiple times... there won't just be us throwing money at him, whereas this year potentially is only us.... not saying either is right all depends on the situation.... all risk and reward. obviously FA is best if you can guarantee he will choose us but you can't guarantee that and he can't agree a year in advance either as he wouldn't know who would come at him next year...

We already have Logue, Corr, potentially Comben, WDawson developing well and decent depth in KDawson in an area of the ground we seem to be doing ok in. Faced with apparently insurmountable challenges you want us to throw another really awesome pick at Balta a year ahead of FA? I must be going completely mad.

IF we need Balta at the end of 2025, we can still offer him the most or close to the most money (and we're looking ok, he is a North supporter) - it's a no brainer for me, just draft the best young midfielder or split the pick into Armstrong, Gerryn/Hannaford and take risks with remaining selections. Take them all too, no passing. No trading this years picks for anyone, use futures like F3 or F4 for Darling (We should be aiming for something decent back) and Parker.

I'm firmly in the use F2 to attempt to upgrade and see how we go at attracting needs that way school of thought, I don't give a flying about a few meaningless wins, I want us to develop a squad capable of winning flags, multiple flags. I couldn't care less about being in the Brad Scott New Contract assured safe zone of 7-10. **** that, that almost killed my love for the club/game 10 years ago.

Nope, I can I can tell you North have approached Konstanty. So have other clubs. His preference is to stay at the Swans if he can but just wants to play footy so is open to a move. Fits a need and would be great in the Blue and White but will come down to the offer and opportunity presented. I hope we get him but am not sure at this stage.

I’ve heard his name pop up a few times in here, sell me on the kid,
I’ve seen him listed as a defensive forward is he Kayne Turner manic pressure or can he hurt you on the scoreboard?

Hear me out. Can we please move CCJ on for anything, doesn't even need to be kettle or red rock deli chips, just even the homebrand 20 pack for kids school chips and is it not a good idea to bring preuss back in as a rookie (pure back up?), he'll help the VFL lads and work with our two talls who arent ready. Cost us nothing. Yes he is injury prone, but the cost is nothing + we all had a soft spot for pruessy :(

Throw me out. Can we please move CCJ on for anything, doesn't even need to be kettle or red rock deli chips, just even the homebrand 20 pack for kids school chips and is it not a good idea to bring preuss back in as a rookie (pure back up?), he'll help the VFL lads and work with our two talls who arent ready. Cost us nothing. Yes he is injury prone, but the cost is nothing + we all had a soft spot for pruessy :(
EFCE

Sorry mate but I think it would be awesome.
Balta and Houston would be awesome.
Get it done . The answer to our woes is not more 18 year old kids. It's winning some games and making future fas want to come to us.
We have been crap so long all we have had to look forward too has been the next pick 1 or 2. It's time to leave the draft thread and work more in the trade and fa thread.
Too dangerous imo buttman.

Despite all our picks, we still don't have the demonstrated framework of a future talented side in place.

Which kids can we bank on to push us up 2026+ who are demonstrably good enough?

Sheezel
McKercher
Wardlaw
Curtis
Archer
Comben as a defender
Powell

The rest remain speculative. We need to keep stockpiling talent, we need a whole nucleus of genuine Sheezel/LDU quality talent.

That's #2 this year and well likely #2 next year.

Not late 20s guys peaking now who will cost big $ and draft collateral.

What is the use bringing in a 28 year old who’s going to cost us big draft capital? This list build is nowhere near done and there is no way we will be contending within 4 years. Houston’s career will be all but over.

Is the plan to be competitive or to win the thing?
Snap

What is the use bringing in a 28 year old who’s going to cost us big draft capital? This list build is nowhere near done and there is no way we will be contending within 4 years. Houston’s career will be all but over.

Both (of course). You can't win a flag without being competitive.

If we don't get competitive soon we may not exist to win the thing

Darling, Parker, and if we could possibly snag Houston for a F1, and split 2 high-ish first rounders, plus a couple of other quality picks would be a massive result for the club. I think a problem trying to trade out the F1 into a quality player this year, is that along with Parker, and already talented young list, in addition to f/s, academy bids, and fa compo, there is just so much risk around where that F1 actually lands. On form you'd think a top 5 pick, but it could potentially be so much lower even if we were to improve by just a few ladder spots. The draft and whole process is just so compromised these days to the point of being broken. BUT, this draft is crucial for us, we needs to keep quality picks, AND get some experience in,,,,,I'd hate to be continuing (or starting) a rebuild once Tassie gets access.

Melbourne made their last push using the method of investing in established talent and while it affected a draft or two bringing in May and Lever they became very good of using future picks to come back in for high rated youth. We can have it both ways.