List Mgmt. 2024 Trade & List Management Thread - Part II

I only watched a bit of the footy last night but it was clear that Heeney has a special relationship with Parker. suspect he’s played a mentoring.

I’m not sure how much he will be able to contribute on field but I can think of lots of our players that could use his experience and follow his lead - including Jy and McDonald.
100% Parker’s impact off field will be just as if not more important than on field

Everyone in the afl respects Parker he commands it

Look I love sheez and George and ldu and co.
But to rebuild with 2 decent picks each year solely from the draft almost never happens.
It's not even 2 good picks any more with all the fa and academy garbage pushing out our second.
The best thing the afl could do for equalisation is grant the bottom 4 teams each year a few extra list spots for a couple of years.
That way struggling clubs can take a few vfl guns or speculative picks that others can't.
I doubt anyone would have issue with it and if it decreases how often priority picks are required it's a win for everyone.
This would also make paying 95% of the cap easier
My 2c
I think you need to go harder tbh.

One rule change which would lead to stronger equalisation outcomes is to force every Club to use their first round draft pick every year. No trading allowed. No exceptions. Nada.

It would take a handful of years for the current inequities to wash through but it would more evenly spread the talent base across all Clubs overtime.

It would also slow the rate of bigger Clubs poaching talented players from the other Clubs because they wouldn't have enough draft pick capital to offer. They'd be forced to offer up their own better players in trade deals.

You'd also tighten the rules around free agency.

Clubs are winning premierships off the field because how much the top end of the draft has been rorted over the years.

If you can’t understand how pivotal Parker was tonight, then you have no idea about football. He sacrificed his own game to take out Alir and that is exactly what our club needs.

Parker proved last night he can fulfill the role that darling does
A Small pressure forward who is hard running both ways, tackles and kicks goals. Great kid, humble. Go back and watch the 2022 Vic Country v Vic Metro Grandfinal. After a quiet first quarter, he teamed up with his best mate Bailey Humphrey well and started to have an influence.

Under 18 highlights:

View attachment 2116455

My son played soccer against Jacob - this kid was like Messi with great agility, was banging in 5+ goals most weeks

Darling, Parker, and if we could possibly snag Houston for a F1, and split 2 high-ish first rounders, plus a couple of other quality picks would be a massive result for the club. I think a problem trying to trade out the F1 into a quality player this year, is that along with Parker, and already talented young list, in addition to f/s, academy bids, and fa compo, there is just so much risk around where that F1 actually lands. On form you'd think a top 5 pick, but it could potentially be so much lower even if we were to improve by just a few ladder spots. The draft and whole process is just so compromised these days to the point of being broken. BUT, this draft is crucial for us, we needs to keep quality picks, AND get some experience in,,,,,I'd hate to be continuing (or starting) a rebuild once Tassie gets access.

All true, but and it's a big welcoming (this year) but, there is a kid who is tipped to go 1-3 from SA that both clubs over there want, both clubs need and we sit in a glorious position to **** them sideways in the process. They really want our F1, whatever they currently say.

I don't think we should provide access to that dream scenario for them for a 27 year old who won't help us when we really need him. It beggars belief they want more than that or even said no. They (Port) tapped up our #1 pick who is now a gun prior to us selecting him, he lied to us (on their behest) and we were forced into taking unders to leave. It's time we grew some serious balls and told them we are dealing with the Crows only (if at all), **** right off. Or pay us complete overs, your choice.

Our F1 for Houston for Port's F1 + F2 or FRO would be a good starting point. Those campaigners owe us a decent 1st, at a minimum.

They don’t need to. They are a powerhouse club. One of the OGs. Perennially well funded, run and coached. With huge advantages to recruiting having an affiliated VFL and Coates League team. They have a massive advantage with their home stadium, while halving Victorian hone ground advantage being a proxi Melbourne team. While it may not look like it, they are still milking the cow of having 4 HOF FS players come through their system in the last 25 years.

Star players go there because they always win. They have never finished lower than 13th or something ridiculous like that.

For all their bullshit they have literally 4 flags to our 4 in the last 50 years. Imagine that.

We still owe them for 1994 and 2007. I hope they lose after the siren to Sydney in the GF, **** them and all their headbands and their supporters wearing smelly shit smelling drizabones at their pork barrell stadium (while we are forced to play 5 games per year in Tassie). I genuinely hope they are embarrassed by Brisbane.

The (still mildly upset from 1994) 11 year old in me talking straight from his heart.

All true, but and it's a big welcoming (this year) but, there is a kid who is tipped to go 1-3 from SA that both clubs over there want, both clubs need and we sit in a glorious position to **** them sideways in the process. They really want our F1, whatever they currently say.

I don't think we should provide access to that dream scenario for them for a 27 year old who won't help us when we really need him. It beggars belief they want more than that or even said no. They (Port) tapped up our #1 pick who is now a gun prior to us selecting him, he lied to us (on their behest) and we were forced into taking unders to leave. It's time we grew some serious balls and told them we are dealing with the Crows only (if at all), **** right off. Or pay us complete overs, your choice.

Our F1 for Houston for Port's F1 + F2 or FRO would be a good starting point. Those campaigners owe us a decent 1st, at a minimum.

For all their bullshit they have literally 4 flags to our 4 in the last 50 years. Imagine that.

We still owe them for 1994 and 2007. I hope they lose after the siren to Sydney in the GF, **** them and all their headbands and their supporters wearing smelly shit smelling drizabones at their pork barrell stadium (while we are forced to play 5 games per year in Tassie). I genuinely hope they are embarrassed by Brisbane.

The (still mildly upset from 1994) 11 year old in me talking straight from his heart.
I genuinely hope for a good game, but with Brisbane beating both the cats and Swans next week.

Isn’t there a potential gun kpf from Victoria coming thru in next years draft.
Might be a good idea to hold our f1
Can’t think of a regular bottom 4 club that has traded out a f1
One whose brother plays for us?

Fair bit to play out in terms of us landing Parker me thinks.

The selfless role he played last night though is 100% why he is exactly the type we need to be going after.

There’d be a fair bit less aggro from the supporter base (at least my camp) if the clubs approach to experience was quality over quantity. I don’t mean stars of the comp, I mean guys with that leadership pedigree. Opposed to what appears to be just anyone with a DOB 28+.

Fair bit to play out in terms of us landing Parker me thinks.

The selfless role he played last night though is 100% why he is exactly the type we need to be going after.

There’d be a fair bit less aggro from the supporter base (at least my camp) if the clubs approach to experience was quality over quantity. I don’t mean stars of the comp, I mean guys with that leadership pedigree. Opposed to what appears to be just anyone with a DOB 28+.

Um, that is the club's approach (quality over quantity). So your aggro has probably been misplaced.

What makes you think it’s not?

I would assume North have tried to have conversations with most if not all potentially available and no one wants to come to North.

Remember when this board absolutely shat on idea of getting Melican for not much from Sydney?

He played basically every game for the Swans this year and plays off for a flag next week.