List Mgmt. 2024 Trade Thread - No.2

They were wins once the season was done and dusted. I value wins a lot more in the first half of the season. When the heat is really on. You’re reading too much about the form against dead rubbers for the Saints.
The season was definitely still “on” for the Bombers, Swans, Cats and Blues at that time and they are all still worth 4 points….and I don’t think any of them saw us a easy beats.

The Merrett acquisition is absolutely in the pipeline. I have family connected to Zac who have known for the last 2 weeks but sworn to silence. He's currently in the US avoiding media but has already spoken with RTB and BJ.
For someone who says you have a family connection to him i find it a tad strange that in over 1200 posts this is the first time you have ever mentioned his name

Pretty sure we’ll get Merrett for pick 7, next year’s 1st and Mitch Owens

Mitch will go to the bombers and become a bull midfielder, winning the Brownlow in 3 years

Robert Harvey will say in a footy classified interview “didn’t see it… really thought he was a forward” at which point I’ll shit in my own hand and fling it at the tv.

Pretty sure we’ll get Merrett for pick 7, next year’s 1st and Mitch Owens

Mitch will go to the bombers and become a bull midfielder, winning the Brownlow in 3 years

Robert Harvey will say in a footy classified interview “didn’t see it… really thought he was a forward” at which point I’ll shit in my own hand and fling it at the tv.
At least you'll have a reason this time.

We’re going full norf, somehow we think it’s makes us relevant to be mentioned in connection to every available player and to make bazillion dollar offers. I mean what player manager isn’t having a coffee when a club says name your price.
I actually think many of these are manager or oppo club driven. Media goes with it because it’s St Kilda and we’re seen to have money, picks and a buttload of desperation.

Thanks mate, good to see ya.

It's going to take me too long to go back and look at past posts on this so if anyone has anything to add to why we actually should be confident of landing band one I'd love to hear it.

For me it sounds more unlikely than likely, I'd love to be wrong of course.
In short, arguing the case is going against the tide and very very hard work. I gave it up.
We may as well enjoy the possibilities for now l suppose.

What the hell is it

If it goes ahead we just need to set the price we’re comfortable with and stick to it.
Quite feasibly though, Zac might bring intangible benefits through ufa’s wanting to come to us and become a part of our gold class midfield.
Gold class midfield -eek. People on here saying Macrae becomes our second best mid and Peatling our third (or second if Macrae doesn’t come). We’re dead in the water if that’s the case. Steele may have reached his peak and coming down.

I’m actually quite comfortable with where we’re heading development wise with our current players even if there were no changes. The wins against Sydney Geelong and Carlton were a good indicator of what we are capable of.
We really only need a few tweaks and some consistency.
Maybe pick 7 and Merret might be enough.
But even then, Sydney had (in retrospect) already started their bad patch and we beat Carlton by a kick when they had about 15 players out! Geelong was a huge win.

Saints defeated an injury riddled Carlton team. We get all the claps! Far out some people really overrate our list on here.
I’m interested in how many wins Saints can secure in the first 12 rounds. Not backend wins once the season is gone.
Depends on how many injuries we have pretty much all in the same line.
The minute we got players back and match fit we started to win. If we’d had the majority available for most of the season it would probably have been a different story.

I don't want someone like Zach only to peak at around 6-5th on the ladder for a couple years before going back to no mans land. Would rather build slowly and get us competing in the top 4 for a sustained period.

Unless they come for a cheap I don't want to recruit anyone over 25.
Exactly. Shouldn't be that hard to stick to the plan.

The Merrett acquisition is absolutely in the pipeline. I have family connected to Zac who have known for the last 2 weeks but sworn to silence. He's currently in the US avoiding media but has already spoken with RTB and BJ.
Yet everyone knows …

I don't want someone like Zach only to peak at around 6-5th on the ladder for a couple years before going back to no mans land. Would rather build slowly and get us competing in the top 4 for a sustained period.

Unless they come for a cheap I don't want to recruit anyone over 25.
110%

The opportunity to add another two prime movers to NWM, Pou and Wilson shouldn't be overlooked. The three mentioned have the capacity to be elite for us through the middle third of the ground, and adding two more with that upside could hold us in good stead for a decade.
That's not to mention what Henry, Owens and Windhager can add. I don't think Merrett offers much more than Macrae if he can get back to his best next year.

The fact that all our best players are knocking on the door to 30 and we still sit where are proves how far we genuinely are from a flag.

Topping up to make us slightly more competitive just puts us further away in the long term.

That's a very glass half empty look at the situation.

Glass half full says that we lost a lot of very close games this year- despite having (by anyones standards) a poor midfield.

An extra year or two of improvement into the likes of pou, wilson, nas, king, owens PLUS a couple of guns like merrett and macrae.

Suddenly we look like perennial contenders for the next 5 years until the careers of wilkie, sincs, steele, marshall are done.

2 firsts and ~ a 2nd back (in this years deep draft) for merrett is a winning move for us.

This whole thing about 'selling the future' is a furphy for us.

We don't have a realistic flag window opening 5 years from now- even IF pou etc become A graders.

so paying 2 firsts with a 2nd back for a merrett type guy isn't killing some distant flag window- because it doesn't exist.

But even then, Sydney had (in retrospect) already started their bad patch and we beat Carlton by a kick when they had about 15 players out! Geelong was a huge win.
We can only play from the players we have available against the players they have available.

Merrett for pick 8 and F1 and later pick swaps
Macrae for 43

That still leaves us with pick 7 and 24. Hypothetically, Harvey Langford & Cooper Hynes + Elwood Peckett. I reckon we'll also get another top 40 pick in somehow, which might get us someone like Zak Johnson

That's still a solid trio to add to our future midfield. Phillipou, Windy, Wilson, Garcia, Clark, Dow, Langford, Hynes, Johnson, Peckett all in the age bracket that can stick around for at least another 8-15 years. Can add Nas and Henry to this conversation as well

10 players - 2 of which need to become A-graders and 4 of which need to become above AFL average in quality
Phillipou + Wilson?
Phillipou, Wilson, Windy, Garcia/Langford/Nas?

Current midfield would be Steele, Merrett, Macrae, Phillipou

So essentially, instead of going all in on the future like we've all been obsessing over the past month, we're spreading our chips around to have a shot at success in the short-term, then have enough to confidently set up the future too

Merrett might cost more which would impact this plan, but I can totally understand why SOS and Gubby would be considering this