List Mgmt. 2024 Trade Thread - No.2

Yeah nah. Talent spotters bring the info to the list managers.
Who were our talent spotter(s) that flagged xerri and draper as worth looking at?
Are they still at the club?

Looks like I found my own answer-
Looks like it would have likely been Toce who flagged Xerri and Draper.

Sheesh- let's hope Dalrymple is as good at identifing ruck talent as Toce was!

1000010791.jpg

Pretty sure that's correct
Can remember that answer being given for Gresham last year and it eventuated
Gresham wasn’t lodged until the end of free agency period - which only proves clubs know the outcome prior to any lodgement.

Which means this should in theory give us a lot of comfort.

View attachment 2122073
Where in that article does it say Toce identified Draper and Xerri?

Jumping to conclusions considering there are many talent spotters for the club.

Toce is reaching messiah status with some on here.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Gresham wasn’t lodged until the end of free agency period - which only proves clubs know the outcome prior to any lodgement.

Which means this should in theory give us a lot of comfort.

In theory clubs are supposed to know compensation so they can match RFA's if they dont think it is enough so assume they should know in advance. Wouldnt surprise me if the club has been told already but would be one of the few times this info hasnt been leaked if they have been. Always finds its way into the media

C’mon Joff, haven’t you caught on yet?

Everything good that has happened in the last 5 years = Toce.

Everything bad = Gags.

Simples.

It's a shame they weren't identified before they were drafted to other clubs.

Can someone please put Herald Sun article on Nick Riewoldt joining Channel 7 in 2025 please

Seven hiring frenzy lands Nick Riewoldt, Craig Hutchison departs Nine​

Former St Kilda champion Nick Riewoldt will join Kane Cornes and Caroline Wilson on Channel 7 next year, while Craig Hutchison has also parted ways with Channel 9.
Jackie EpsteinJackie EpsteinExclusive
Follow

@jackieheraldsun

less than 2 min read
September 26, 2024 - 9:06AM

2 comments

55ea9299b40ebf8a241901306c7b2d6b

00:40
Kane Cornes clips Luke Darcy again after retirement news

Kane Cornes has taken another dig at Luke Darcy after the news his media foe was stepping away from the industry.

Confidential

Don't miss out on the headlines from Confidential. Followed categories will be added to My News.
Follow
Former St Kilda champion Nick Riewoldt is returning to the media next year and will be the latest name to sign with Channel 7.
In another big media landscape development, Riewoldt is moving back to Melbourne after living in Texas for the past two years.
He joins Kane Cornes and Caroline Wilson, who have jumped ship from Channel 9.
Wilson is set to be challenged by legal action, forecast by Eddie McGuire, with Nine maintaining she’s under contract until December with a restraint clause.
Craig Hutchison whose production company Rainmaker is set to be creating new shows for Seven next year, is also gone from Nine.
Crisis talks were held at Nine on Tuesday morning before Footy Classified went ahead with Cornes, Wilson, Hutchison and Matthew Lloyd – without acknowledging the turmoil.
Former AFL champion Nick Riewoldt will return to Melbourne, and the media, next year. Picture: Sarah Matray

Riewoldt’s addition further fuels the notion that Seven will boost its programming in 2025.
The footy legend left Fox Footy at the end of 2022 and moved with his wife, Catherine, to her home town in Houston, Texas with their three children.
His departure after he’d been a regular contributor since 2018, came as a shock given his rising stature as an analyst and media personality.
It is understood Channel 9 had been keen to secure to Riewoldt for Footy Classified upon his return to media, but missed out again.
Caroline Wilson, Craig Hutchison and Kane Cornes have all left Channel 9. Picture: Supplied

The 336-game forward said in October last year that he had every intention of moving back to Australia.
He had described it as being a phenomenal year abroad.
“Everyone’s integrated really well, the boys have played sport and fit in at school,” he told SEN.
“They’re a bit of a novelty with the Australian accents. It’s been great.
“(It’s been) really great personally as well to be able to live and experience a real-life MBA, being involved in the (PMY Group) business and removed from footy for the first time since I was 17.
“I missed the footy season this year; it was a bizarre experience, not being just totally immersed in it.”
Riewoldt said his sons James, Will and Teddy, had got into baseball but he was intending to win them back over to footy and the Saints.
He has appeared regularly on the Footy Talk podcast with Leigh Montagna.

View attachment 2122073
Xerri goes alright but Draper?

Not sure you have watched him play much. We would be spewing if we gave him that huge deal to get him out of Essendon.

Bombers fans wanted him dropped most of the second half of the season. He is okay but not great.

In theory clubs are supposed to know compensation so they can match RFA's if they dont think it is enough so assume they should know in advance. Wouldnt surprise me if the club has been told already but would be one of the few times this info hasnt been leaked if they have been. Always finds its way into the media
The club was told the day Battle announced that he was leaving for Hawthorn.

yeah not sold at all, did well with Wilkie and Sharman
fell in with Philapou the rest haven't made a mark for 2022 Van Es already gone Hotton no contract
Nas has proven a good pick Owens and Windy were rated NGA picks, Adams and both Rookies already off the list.

regardless he chose to leave

Seven hiring frenzy lands Nick Riewoldt, Craig Hutchison departs Nine​

Former St Kilda champion Nick Riewoldt will join Kane Cornes and Caroline Wilson on Channel 7 next year, while Craig Hutchison has also parted ways with Channel 9.
Jackie EpsteinJackie EpsteinExclusive
Follow
@jackieheraldsun

less than 2 min read
September 26, 2024 - 9:06AM
2 comments
55ea9299b40ebf8a241901306c7b2d6b

00:40
Kane Cornes clips Luke Darcy again after retirement news

Kane Cornes has taken another dig at Luke Darcy after the news his media foe was stepping away from the industry.

Confidential

Don't miss out on the headlines from Confidential. Followed categories will be added to My News.
Follow
Former St Kilda champion Nick Riewoldt is returning to the media next year and will be the latest name to sign with Channel 7.
In another big media landscape development, Riewoldt is moving back to Melbourne after living in Texas for the past two years.
He joins Kane Cornes and Caroline Wilson, who have jumped ship from Channel 9.
Wilson is set to be challenged by legal action, forecast by Eddie McGuire, with Nine maintaining she’s under contract until December with a restraint clause.
Craig Hutchison whose production company Rainmaker is set to be creating new shows for Seven next year, is also gone from Nine.
Crisis talks were held at Nine on Tuesday morning before Footy Classified went ahead with Cornes, Wilson, Hutchison and Matthew Lloyd – without acknowledging the turmoil.

Riewoldt’s addition further fuels the notion that Seven will boost its programming in 2025.
The footy legend left Fox Footy at the end of 2022 and moved with his wife, Catherine, to her home town in Houston, Texas with their three children.
His departure after he’d been a regular contributor since 2018, came as a shock given his rising stature as an analyst and media personality.
It is understood Channel 9 had been keen to secure to Riewoldt for Footy Classified upon his return to media, but missed out again.

The 336-game forward said in October last year that he had every intention of moving back to Australia.
He had described it as being a phenomenal year abroad.
“Everyone’s integrated really well, the boys have played sport and fit in at school,” he told SEN.
“They’re a bit of a novelty with the Australian accents. It’s been great.
“(It’s been) really great personally as well to be able to live and experience a real-life MBA, being involved in the (PMY Group) business and removed from footy for the first time since I was 17.
“I missed the footy season this year; it was a bizarre experience, not being just totally immersed in it.”
Riewoldt said his sons James, Will and Teddy, had got into baseball but he was intending to win them back over to footy and the Saints.
He has appeared regularly on the Footy Talk podcast with Leigh Montagna.
Cheers for that

If we really had identified Draper, we'd have picked him earlier than the rookie draft ( Essendon got him number 1 ) after his SAFL season. Toce was no-where near SA at the time. ( was talent scout NSW/NT/Tas/QLD ).
Once they are at an AFL club, they are on the radar, and surely the list manager, and probably coaches and head of footy would have been involved if we planned to poach him.

However we did rookie RoMa the same time Essendon rookied draper.

yeah not sold at all, did well with Wilkie and Sharman
fell in with Philapou the rest haven't made a mark for 2022 Van Es already gone Hotton no contract
Nas has proven a good pick Owens and Windy were rated NGA picks, Adams and both Rookies already off the list.

regardless he chose to leave
Careful.

Gringo will be lurking ready to tear you apart for the blasphemy you have just spat.

A discussion on Tradies Podcast today suggested Norf aren't desperate to re-sign LDU and that conversations won't start till next year

I feel like with Sheezel, Wardlaw, McKercher, Duursma, Powell, Phillips all on the rise through the mids, Norf would be relatively happy to take a band 1 compo pick for LDU. Parker and Simpkin as the experienced
Why would North want anymore draft picks? They want to keep their established talent, not let it go just to get another first rounder.

Not sure you have watched him play much. We would be spewing if we gave him that huge deal to get him out of Essendon.

Bombers fans wanted him dropped most of the second half of the season. He is okay but not great.
i was hoping to see a comment just like that,thought the world was going mad,i spent some time over at the bombers board enjoying the unravelling,probably just after we beat them & draper was not spared,in fact he was right up there

wading through all the anger i think the most intelligent comment re draper was"we just need a workhorse like pittonet or meek"

When we identified him and (tried to sign him) he had only played about 4 AFL ad-hoc games as a fill in.

He was rated internally at the time by the bombers (that's why they countered our offer and he stayed)

But outside of essendon at the time, no-one else had identified him as a moneyball type target. Our team did well to see an opportunity that other clubs hadn't- like with Xerri.

A lot of Draper's issues are injuries.

Get him full fit and he'd be a pretty combo with RoMa.

In hindsight though; the 2nd round pick for Xerri would have been well worth it.

[emoji6][emoji6][emoji[emoji6]][emoji6]" data-quote="snails" data-source="post: 0" class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeBlock--expandable bbCodeBlock--quote js-expandWatch">
Not that I want Kako I think Bombers will match the bid giving them the pick

I’m not sure. He’s a reach. They may decide there is another player they want who is better.

We would need to really want him because if they don’t match he is our player.

We should seriously consider it. Idk if Lindsay/Trav would be available at 13, but if we get one of Jagga/FOS/Draper, who seem relatively safe prospects, I'd love to take Hotton as a high risk high upside player

So essentially 2 of Langford/Smillie/Reid VS Jagga/FOS/Draper + Lindsay/Travaglia/Hotton. I'm taking option 2 almost every day of the week
But if I understand correctly - if we are able to move in the F1, it’s 7,8, 13 or
2, 13, and (either 14-ish or 22-ish depending on what was meant by the Eagles second pick). Hmm, yeah that’s a toughie.

What about a shuffle of 7 and 8 to 6 and 10 or 11 (let’s say that we get involved in the GC Rich spat over Rioli and that’s how we move the F1 into 13 this year)? I think I would do that. Perhaps a slightly better chance of a slider and then a Travaglia or Lindsay.

Not sure that I am as big on Hotton. Small sample size and I’m not sure he quite has the midfield nouse. He may turn out to be a HFF, albeit a quick and skilful one.