List Mgmt. 2024 Trade Thread

lets hope this is true and the 4th club aint us

The Lobster has 3 touches at half time with 2 coming from free kicks. Pixar studios and Pornhub are now working on a new film called Finding Rory, with North Melbourne next in line to get their world Lobbed.

Attachments

• 447514578_436491309243883_1661392643580817871_n.jpg
    447514578_436491309243883_1661392643580817871_n.jpg
    57.5 KB · Views: 45
We haven’t done that with Nas.
One swallow etc etc.
And let it come back the other way just as quickly cos we would kick it over his head of to short or **** it up some other way, we just don’t have the talent
Oh no, if we did that we might lose a game and slip down the ladder for a higher draft pick that we all acknowledge we need.

Mate we’re losing most of the time with this shit style of footy anyway and even when we win the boys look like they’re considering quitting footy to stack shelves at coles.

Let em play footy a bit, embrace some of their natural flair and see if maybe they can do it. Everyone is so ****ing sure we’ve got 42 blokes who can’t kick a footy and then just Nas, Bonner and Sincs, I find that very ****ing hard to believe.

If you take a deep breath and a step back what are the missteps that you think our football department have made with specific regards to list management since Lyon returned to the club.

I’m genuinely interested in what you think are the actual mistakes.

giphy (22).gif

I think Gringo’s point is that we can make Battle an offer big enough to convince him to stay. But we’re choosing not too in order to chase a midfielder at the draft, and keep our cap in a manageable space.

If we do lose Battle and replace him with a draftee, then the money we used to pay him has to go to somebody. We’re suddenly in danger of doing that thing where we front end contracts and pay overs to players that ended up really not being as good as their wage suggests. Players like Billings and Dunstan.

I try to look at Battle through the same lens as Gresham. Would we have been better off to just give Gresham the money that he wanted? It would mean that we miss out on Collard. But we retain a proven player in the right age demographic.

Gresham has been solid for the Bombers, and is part of the reason why they are improved.

Of course, Battle could still leave because his heart is no longer in the Saints slog.
I think moving gresh was the right option but we just got stiffed in the draft. We wouldn’t have done it if we knew it was going to blow out to pick 28.

At the game last night and this wasn’t and Isn’t my rumour.

But there was a few sitting next to the president and they at half time were saying the clubs belief is that Battle has an offer of $1m per season.
Jesus!
good luck to him if he can get that coin

I think moving gresh was the right option but we just got stiffed in the draft. We wouldn’t have done it if we knew it was going to blow out to pick 28.
We took collard who I believe will go on to become an A grade small forward so I think we’d be pretty happy with how that worked out.

Jesus!
good luck to him if he can get that coin
We have no say in it and that’s fantastic money so all you can say is thanks and good luck. I’m a fan of battle and he played very well again last night but I’m not giving him anymore than the $800 x 6 we’re rumoured to have on the table.

Once we get midfielders. We will be playing finals every year.

That could be 1-2 top end kids this year.

That could mean 6-8th next year and landing LDU.

You can’t quantify when, because we don’t yet have those mids.

And I think everyone thinks we have:

Gun Key forward (King) ✅
Gun forward/mid (Owens) ✅
Gun outside mid (Wilson) ✅
Gun halfback/wing (Nas) ✅
Developing tall (Caminiti) ✅
Developing forward/mid (Hugo) ✅
Developing small forward (collard) ✅
Exciting Half forward/Burst Mid (Henry) ✅ ✅

Potential Gun mid/forward (Pou) ✅
Solid midfielder & Tagger (Windy) ✅

Then the unknowns: Shoenmaker Hastie Hall O’Connell McLennan Heath

Solid citizens: Dow Clark Higgins Cordy

Gun AFL level players who may still be around: Marshall Sinclair Steele Wilkie Hill

Battle ?

It’s nothing like North. But it clearly needs those mids.
But Cornes and Lloyd think we have the worst list in the AFL

But there was a few sitting next to the president and they at half time were saying the clubs belief is that Battle has an offer of $1m per season.
From us?

Given the top marginal tax rate is 45% on earnings over $180K pa - the diff between $800K and $1 million pa isn’t actually that much.

I don't WANT to lose Battle when you think of it as just that alone, but if we did and it was for Band 1 compensation, I would be ok with it so long as we finish bottom ~6. Another top 7 pick in the same draft this year would be pretty ****ing hand with a group of player all in their mid 20's in a few years time, consisting of King, Nas, Owens, Windy, Wilson and possibly others who have shown glimpses and could come on (Garcia, Schoenmaker, Keeler, Collard, Heath etc.).

I know we don't have someone of Battle's capability to come in for him, but one of Keeler, Schoenmaker or Cordy could take his spot next year and be serviceable and if our midfield can get better and provide more pressure on the entries into our backline we can hopefully make up for the loss of quality of Battle a bit there? With Howard out for a month (?) I'd love to see Schoenmaker or Keeler get a game or 2 so they can get a go and some incentive to bust their ass over the summer.

The last three draft picks in the first round we've had we've gone Wilson, Phillipou and Nas. I would call Wilson at 18 a great call, Phillipou at 10 a decent call and Nas at 11 a great call. The last 3 years or so I'm feeling a lot more confident in our drafting so honestly, a second mid to early first round pick is probably short term pain long term gain.

Let's say we finish 13th and Battle goes for 900k a year and we get band 1 compensation for picks 6 and 7. Based on the last couple of drafts we would get:

Josh Rachele and Josh Ward (happy days)
Bailey Humphrey and Cam McKenzie (McKenzie should have been ours anyway, the dirty AFL house dogs..)
Ryley Sanders and Caleb Windsor (yeah alright)

Of those three drafts, I think we can all agree we would take 2021 and 2022 in a heartbeat and probably 2023 even though those blokes are young and haven't shown a heap yet. I think if we finish bottom 6 and Battle DID leave with band 1 compensation, it's a win. The other harder to measure factor is the Tassie AFL team coming in, if it's going to be like the GC and GWS and they get to pick the eyes out of the draft for a few years starting in 2 (?) years time, why not commit to this age demographic of 18 - ~24 year olds with this draft? Remember us trying to half ass our rebuild in the GWS and GC years? **** that, let's make hay while the sun shines now and hope we get this group right. If there's two quality mids around 4-8 that aren't a stretch and we finish around there, I'll take that.

It made no difference.
The Academy picks and F/S were never going to be available.
Inject 100 Academy picks and we still got the 19th available player.

If you take a deep breath and a step back what are the missteps that you think our football department have made with specific regards to list management since Lyon returned to the club.

I’m genuinely interested in what you think are the actual mistakes.

We have needed mids for 15 years and after a year and a half he's just realised. I think his game plan is dated, assistants are not working and he's failed to keep up with the progressions in footy. Put his mates in roles rather than best practice. Probably pushed Walsh out who is an elite operator etc. Gubby is a weird appointment and seems to be the only one not pushed out and given a more responsible role.

if true a knee jerk reaction from the hawks after getting beaten to the punch more than once last season,considering if he chooses to go we cant do a thing about it anyway,we might actually benefit from another clubs red face last year,in that they are making sure they get their man this year & we benefit with what should be certain band 1 compo(if true and not band 1 we should just do the honourable thing and fold)

It’s exactly the same plan we have let journos write about though. Not sure we should comment that other clubs may do similar.