Fixture 2025 Fixture Discussion

Did any Vic team get 6 away games in Melbourne?
Decided to answer my own question.

Carlton, Geelong, Hawthorn, North and Collingwood all play 6 away games in Melbourne.

Essendon, Richmond, the Bulldogs and Melbourne play 5.

St Kilda only plays 4 😬

Always hard to predict who rises or falls significantly.
Personally, I think the Dogs will be much improved next year so to play them during Gather Round and then at home is a nice result. Collingwood I see being less formidable if they suffer a few injuries with an ageing list. Gold Coast twice always happens but will be tougher (surely) than years gone by.
I like the soft start - build some confidence and then hope we are hitting our straps when the season gets tougher in the run home.
Overall, about as good as we could have hoped for.

Always hard to predict who rises or falls significantly.
Personally, I think the Dogs will be much improved next year so to play them during Gather Round and then at home is a nice result. Collingwood I see being less formidable if they suffer a few injuries with an ageing list. Gold Coast twice always happens but will be tougher (surely) than years gone by.
I like the soft start - build some confidence and then hope we are hitting our straps when the season gets tougher in the run home.
Overall, about as good as we could have hoped for.
If the Dogs really are "much improved" next year they will be scary good, given their 2024 % of 125.1 which was #2 in the comp as it was.

How do their midfield beat ours? Assuming our best are fit, Dunks blankets Bont and Ashcroft can handle 6 people tackling him. Rayner 7. They have no chance.

Guessing my normal game-watching ritual of following along with the GameDay Thread on here (so as to get an improved commentary and tactical analysis than what the commentators are saying/not saying) will have to be voided on a few Saturday games then ...
So you want a sync option on BigFooty for Gameday Threads for games in delay?

You must be reading different lice threads to me then!!

Bingo.

Foxtel/Kayo has exclusive live rights to all games played on Saturdays, with a very few exceptions, R1-8 nationally and up to R16 (I think) in Victoria. There won't be any FTA footy on Saturdays in Victoria during those rounds. Between R1 and R8 the only games on FTA in Brisbane will be Lions and Suns games, which will all be delayed by up to 2 hours.

This sucks. In the middle of difficult financial times people who don't have enough money for tickets or pay TV can't/ might not be able watch their team live every week.

Stealing the joy. Going to impact families the most I reckon.

I know it is more money for players etc but how much does the fat cat afl take for their own pay packets and the ever growing support staff.

3 Thursday night (all at home)
2 Friday night (both away)
2 Saturday early (1 at home, 1 away)
4 Saturday twilight (all away)
1 Sunday early (home)
1 Sunday arvo (home)
1 Sunday twilight (away)
1 Sunday night (home)

Looks like we are gonna be kings of the Saturday twilight timeslot, along with Port and Richmond who also have 4. Which I actually quite like... hopefully I'll be able to get in and out of Melbourne on the same day!

The pubs and restaurants around the gabba won't be happy with no friday/ saturday night or twilight games.

Easter Thursday will be ok but nowhere near the same patronage on the other two Thursday nights.

Saturday twilight world have been OK but all away and the Sunday games will be an entertainment precinct washout..

I'd say if they aren't there will be some questions asked - there were already this year. Agree our midfield has theirs covered, but I could see them doing some damage if it clicks like it did this year for longer periods.

I think Port will drop off a cliff, and Adelaide will make finals. AFL doing all they can to make sure the Blues and Cats are well positioned too.

Fixture 2025 Fixture Discussion