List Mgmt. 2025 List Management 📃

I see us hitting some strife in about 2028-29 when Weiters, Charlie and Harry would be expected to start to drop away.

Until then all we have to do is continue picking up some quality kids here and there and have some good trades to replace players like Gov, Saad, Newman, Acres etc as they wane.

Cody Walker is a massive massive get if he continues on his projected path. Jagga + Cody paired with Walsh + Cerra means that area is pretty well sorted for a decade.

The KPPs are the only concern for mine. It's going to be extremely hard replacing 3 generational talents there with little draft capital.
That's right, some will put it a year ahead of that but I'm not too sure. Smith and Walker and maybe a few others will be great for us but the ones with the most talent aren't KPPs. I still see TDK as more of a ruckman.

Jagga, Walsh, Dow, Fisher, SPS, LoB, Hollands, Cunners et al. Carlton recruitment arent concerned by size (width/height) as a midfielder.

Haven't had to be with Cripps on the team as well as big bodied mids like Hewett, Kennedy and previously Setters

I think we can do with another larger mid now that Kennedy has gone but not at the expense of pick 3. Would be keen to see us add a future understudy late in the draft or as a rookie.

Mids, wing, rotations for both

Cripps, Hewett, Walsh, Cerra, Smith, Lord, B Campo

Acres, Ollie, Duffy, Binns L Campo

Doc, Cincotta, Cottrell, Elijah

Plus others that will do the occasional chopout

It's a reasonable spread, also when considering we will add Ison, Walker in the next 2 years

It really is time to start focusing on the next wave of spine players

Haven't had to be with Cripps on the team as well as big bodied mids like Hewett, Kennedy and previously Setters

I think we can do with another larger mid now that Kennedy has gone but not at the expense of pick 3. Would be keen to see us add a future understudy late in the draft or as a rookie.

Ben Campo will be quite a large mid when he fills out, we don’t need another mid after Ben/Lucas.
Let’s concentrate on a key big or fast creative small please

Ben Campo will be quite a large mid when he fills out, we don’t need another mid after Ben/Lucas.
Let’s concentrate on a key big or fast creative small please

Brisbane played 2 midfielders 190cm+ in their grand final team.

Collingwood played 3 in their grand final win.

We have two on our entire list. Both turn 30 next year. One of them isn't a true mid (winger/flanker).

Ben is only 186cm.

JSOS has the hundred games now, I’m damn happy with that.

I agree with that article and comments about him, personally I think moving to the backline is the only chance he has getting to 150-200+ games at the club.
Unlike others I just didn’t see it up forward and played many games in 2023 only because he was designated second ruck of which I didn’t think he was overly great at either

Love his tenacity and will to compete, those are traits that make failed forwards into decent backman so if he can make a good fist of that position it will help the team immeasurably.

JSOS has the hundred games now, I’m damn happy with that.

I agree with that article and comments about him, personally I think moving to the backline is the only chance he has getting to 150-200+ games at the club.
Unlike others I just didn’t see it up forward and played many games in 2023 only because he was designated second ruck of which I didn’t think he was overly great at either

Love his tenacity and will to compete, those are traits that make failed forwards into decent backman so if he can make a good fist of that position it will help the team immeasurably.

I will back Jack to make a decent fist of his new position in defence. He is heart and soul, loves the navy blue. He would love

to play out his full career with us and become a premiership player as well. We will already see Dow, Stocker and now

Carroll playing for the aints next season. Jack is a ripper bloke and should never go there.

Plays on the resting ruck or third forward and makes life very difficult for them imo.

I think Jack needs to find a best 22 spot to stay and his best shot is defense. Hes great to have on the list but to good to stay as a depth player for depth money. Although he didnt get many offers last time.

I there will be a few tough calls and surprises over the next year.

Brisbane played 2 midfielders 190cm+ in their grand final team.

Collingwood played 3 in their grand final win.

We have two on our entire list. Both turn 30 next year. One of them isn't a true mid (winger/flanker).

Ben is only 186cm.
Not quite. Brisbane only had 1 in Dunkley and nobody else over 185cm. Sydney their opponents had nobody over 185cm. Pies the previous year only had Pendleburry.

I assume you are including a guy like Berry who plays pure wing now.

I think big mids still have their place but they are definately going out of fashion a bit. I think Ben ends up big enough to take that role. Dont think you can really replace Cripps anyway. That workload will be shared.

Body size probably matters more then height. A bunch of shorter strong mids wont get pushed off the ball but lighter bodied ones might even if they are taller.

Mids, wing, rotations for both

Cripps, Hewett, Walsh, Cerra, Smith, Lord, B Campo

Acres, Ollie, Duffy, Binns L Campo

Doc, Cincotta, Cottrell, Elijah

Plus others that will do the occasional chopout

It's a reasonable spread, also when considering we will add Ison, Walker in the next 2 years

It really is time to start focusing on the next wave of spine players
Would be good to see something from Lemmey and the O'keefe - Ive seen enough of the ruck bloke to say he has something- but Lemmey ...hmmm plays pretty weak.

That's right, some will put it a year ahead of that but I'm not too sure. Smith and Walker and maybe a few others will be great for us but the ones with the most talent aren't KPPs. I still see TDK as more of a ruckman.

Maybe.

Sounding like Tassie are gonna get a raft of draft picks, but will need to trade a bunch of them for established players. Might be a good opportunity for us to cash in on some fringe players for a little list rejuvenation on the run. There's also free agency, so when our expensive KPPs are coming to the end we should have some cash to splash on the FA market, and will hopefully be a very attractive prospect for some quality players.

Not quite. Brisbane only had 1 in Dunkley and nobody else over 185cm. Sydney their opponents had nobody over 185cm. Pies the previous year only had Pendleburry.

I assume you are including a guy like Berry who plays pure wing now.

I think big mids still have their place but they are definately going out of fashion a bit. I think Ben ends up big enough to take that role. Dont think you can really replace Cripps anyway. That workload will be shared.

Body size probably matters more then height. A bunch of shorter strong mids wont get pushed off the ball but lighter bodied ones might even if they are taller.
Dunkley & Berry.
They push numbers to the stoppage with both providing defensive coverage so that others can go forward.
I guess the point is that you can't clog up your midfield with big one paced mids & that you require positional flexibility, something I see us improving.

Edit: expanded my point for clarity, multitasking is not a strong point of mine.. lol

Maybe.

Sounding like Tassie are gonna get a raft of draft picks, but will need to trade a bunch of them for established players. Might be a good opportunity for us to cash in on some fringe players for a little list rejuvenation on the run. There's also free agency, so when our expensive KPPs are coming to the end we should have some cash to splash on the FA market, and will hopefully be a very attractive prospect for some quality players.
Would Tassie trade decent draft picks for 'fringe' players? I would also want our next wave of KPPs to be of a similar generation to our younger mids rather than replacing the old with the slightly less old, as may be the case with free agency.

Would be good to see something from Lemmey and the O'keefe - Ive seen enough of the ruck bloke to say he has something- but Lemmey ...hmmm plays pretty weak.

Expecting HOK to play some games back half of next year. Moves well, naturally aggressive and is reasonable resting forward

Big year for Lemmey, needs to show much much more intent

I see us hitting some strife in about 2028-29 when Weiters, Charlie and Harry would be expected to start to drop away.

Until then all we have to do is continue picking up some quality kids here and there and have some good trades to replace players like Gov, Saad, Newman, Acres etc as they wane.

Cody Walker is a massive massive get if he continues on his projected path. Jagga + Cody paired with Walsh + Cerra means that area is pretty well sorted for a decade.

The KPPs are the only concern for mine. It's going to be extremely hard replacing 3 generational talents there with little draft capital.
Agree with this very much.

You would assume that over the next couple of years we'll be focused on acquiring free agents depending on our cap situation. As for our tall stocks, we need Lemmey/O'Keefe to start showing something and for the KPD we get tonight to develop nicely. It will be difficult for us to top up this area of the ground with limited draft capital, but not impossible.

I think it's going to be hard to replace them even if we had draft capital. Exceptionally rare to have 3 KPP that are that good at the same age.

Luckily you can get good KPD later in the draft so hopefully we develop a good one that replaces Weitering (even if not as good). Getting to 2 KPF comparable to Harry and Charlie will be harder since they are so rare and always go high in the draft. Maybe we cough up for a free agent at some stage or build our future forward line around different types. Role players in the KPF roles accompanied by gun mediums such as Moir and smalls who do the bulk of the goal kicking. Will look different but could be similarly effective. Premiership sides don't all look the same.

Would Tassie trade decent draft picks for 'fringe' players? I would also want our next wave of KPPs to be of a similar generation to our younger mids rather than replacing the old with the slightly less old, as may be the case with free agency.

Who knows...Gold Coast do. I think it'll come down to how much bargaining power they have, and how many players are keen on moving down there to start a new list. They might lure one or two really good Tassie natives, or one or two marquee players who are prepared to take silly money to fritter away 5+ years of their career on a developing side, but by and large I think they're going to be padding out their list with bottom 6 types from other clubs, or blokes on the edge who probably deserve but can't quite crack a regular game. And as we've seen, there's a little bit of a mayo that tends to get added to players from contending sides. A guy on the fringe of Brisbane is different to a guy on the fringe of West Coast.

Looking at our list, I think we'd have a few who might interest them.

Pitto, Hewett, Cincotta will all be 30-ish, and probably surplus to requirements for us but capable of providing good leadership and support for a bunch of kids, and might be tempted by a decent final paycheck and chance to add a few more years to the end of their careers.

Wilson, Binns, Lemmey, Durdin and Lord could all be looking for more opportunity and will have mature enough bodies with scope and time ahead of them.

Not saying we'd get first rounders for all of them - but it's not unreasonable to suggest that Tassie might be in a position where picks have to be traded, and they have shitloads of them, and our fringe players are more attractive than those from other clubs, resulting in us being able to package a few up for a high pick or two, or bring in a handful of second/third rounders which we could use in a number of ways.

What's status of list now?

Anyone know going into tonight how many Senior spots and how many rookie spost we have?
3 of each to keep our current structure (which we are).

So 2 Campos + another ND pick tonight (hopefully #40).
Reckon likely only 1 Rookie pick tomorrow and leave 2 spots open for SSP.

Anyone know going into tonight how many Senior spots and how many rookie spost we have?
I havent counted but Agresta said the other day we had 4 national draft picks and 3 rookie picks. That doesnt mean we use them all.

Im personally expecting campo twins plus 1 other pick tonight then 1 rookie pick, leaving 2 SPP spots.

3 of each to keep our current structure (which we are).

So 2 Campos + another ND pick tonight (hopefully #40).
Reckon likely only 1 Rookie pick tomorrow and leave 2 spots open for SSP.

Thanks. Sounds likely

Only possible change for me is if there are some players that slip through ND that we rate. I still believe we have someone "hidden" for rookie draft

Thanks. Sounds likely

Only possible change for me is if there are some players that slip through ND that we rate. I still believe we have someone "hidden" for rookie draft

A more ruthless take if a bid hasn’t come for Lucas when our 4th pick is up would be to take someone else, and then prelist him as rookie (or in the unlikely worst case if a bid comes even later, match, cut Fantasia and rookie him).
But I think this is really unlikely. It would go against everything we’ve said.

I think there is good will and professionalism involved in guaranteeing a player like Lucas a Senior List spot, which is bigger than trying to eke out any small advantage (say taking a guy in the 60s rather than 11 in the rookie draft) that us supporters would like to see.

As of now:-

33 Senior players
1 Category A Rookies
2 SSP Rookies
0 Category A International Rookie ?
1 Category B International Rookie
0 Category B Rookie

List Mgmt. 2025 List Management 📃