List Mgmt. 2025 List Management 📃

Not signing Houston was an error if the club really had confidence in what Voss was doing - compounded by giving up the pick he would have cost and another next to it for an upgrade to a pick 3-4.

what I surmise from all that is that this is a make or break year for Voss - and the club is hedging its bets - after the Fantasia - call 'we are not really interested in your past relationships with past players - buzz orf is a clear message- as was Kennedy's to Voss as well.

getting rid of Marchbank/Cuningham/Martin was very positive along with some dead weight never gunna make it types in vfl - as it makes more room for McGovern/Cerra to become the new always injured types - alongside Fantasia/Durdin short and Durdin tall and /Motlop

Can understand the angst about owies v fantasia- I'd add owies v motlop v durdin to the comparisons - a useless bunch of smalls as you'd ever see assembled in a supposed contending list.

after reflecting on the end to the season - I'm now on the neutral(ish) to negative side of the Voss ledger - his handling of the last few weeks and the elimination finals was just awful - compounded by pushing a solid citizen who cost Carlton nothing and played every game for the year much better than more than half the starting players could manage - out.

Kennedy on top of his elimination finals selections (tdk as sub really I mean really!!) was just too much 'creativity' for me to handle.

would have been much smarter to play all the kids - and not force unfit players to play - this strategy wouldn't have seen a 10-goal-to-nothing start to a final- what an embarrassment we all had to live through.

Only writing this as I am in Melbourne for a few days and happened to be sitting near Harry Mckay and his gf over brunch in sunny Albert Park this morning - what a gentle nice fellow he is in real life - and no I didn't give him my autograph.

not very confident about 2025 tbh - still no decent 2nd tall and lots of questions about the forward line - still.

I doubt that a new fitness person is going to be a magic pill for some of the players who have been on teh list- but if he is an improvement over russell - at least he is starting teh right way - pointing out that fitness is ok but strength isnt Sydney or AFl standards- doh- finally someone at carlton that understands you need some muscle to play contact football - what a relief.

lots of things have to go right in 2025 - to see any improvement in my books - and I am not high on optimism.

As for pick 3 or 4 - couldn't care less- they (too) are only an injury away from being another Walsh or Cerra or a even worse- a dow or SPS.

TLDR - no worries - her is some simple algebra.

Contending Clubs dont reach for pick 3's they reach for players that can help them win a GF- clearly the Club isnt confident about that second idea.
Love the positivity..

Been to some training and looking at how our List sets up. Never seen so many options. It’s great

My gut feel is there will be some surprises and/or changes come Round One or early in season

Some thoughts and who could surprise

O’Keefe: this kid is a man mountain and has the aggression to become a gun ruck who can push forward

Wilson: has leg speed we need and has poise. Hardly got going last year but looks good

B. Camporeale. Lot of excitement around this kid. Certainly doesn’t look out of place against men

Lord: just has the maturity and is a one touch player that isn’t flustered in close

Been to some training and looking at how our List sets up. Never seen so many options. It’s great

My gut feel is there will be some surprises and/or changes come Round One or early in season

Some thoughts and who could surprise

O’Keefe: this kid is a man mountain and has the aggression to become a gun ruck who can push forward

Wilson: has leg speed we need and has poise. Hardly got going last year but looks good

B. Camporeale. Lot of excitement around this kid. Certainly doesn’t look out of place against men

Lord: just has the maturity and is a one touch player that isn’t flustered in close
I wonder if O'Keeffe form will impact TDK negotiations? I want to keep TDK but not at any price. If he wants the big contract he needs to show he can play a full season at AA level. Having an decent alternative might give us more flexibility with that call.

Great to hear on Ben Campo. It's ridiculous how far he slid.

I wonder if O'Keeffe form will impact TDK negotiations? I want to keep TDK but not at any price. If he wants the big contract he needs to show he can play a full season at AA level. Having an decent alternative might give us more flexibility with that call.

O'Keefe hasn't played a game.

Would have zero impact on TDKs contract. We're going to have to pay up big time and I'm almost certain we will.

O'Keefe hasn't played a game.

Would have zero impact on TDKs contract. We're going to have to pay up big time and I'm almost certain we will.
Nobody could replace TDK, but history has proven you don't need gun ruck to win a flag. If HOK comes on, and TDK wants to chase mega money, it might give us more confidence in not matching.

TDK will get a big offer but we can't match the mega offers of others and doubt we wil. Undermines the other guys who have taken unders despite being more accomplished. Plus you've got Wright coming in who's just had to extricate himself from the Grundy contract debacle and Cook who's always been big on not overpaying. I'm confident we hold our nerve.

I reckon we keep him and he takes unders but good to have options.

TDK will stay. No issue. O’Keefe is 2-3 years away from being a full on established AFL ruck and TDK is elite.

I can see O’Keefe playing a support role at times in 2025

Odds on O’Keefe displacing Pitto as the second ruck option by end of 2025?

IMO possible but depends what Voss wants.

TDK is clear No.1 but we could well have O’Keefe Lemmey McMahon Jack or McKay playing fwd/2nd ruck

I reckon Pittonet plays if TDK is out but I don’t like the combination of the two of them in the same side

Nobody could replace TDK, but history has proven you don't need gun ruck to win a flag. If HOK comes on, and TDK wants to chase mega money, it might give us more confidence in not matching.

TDK will get a big offer but we can't match the mega offers of others and doubt we wil. Undermines the other guys who have taken unders despite being more accomplished. Plus you've got Wright coming in who's just had to extricate himself from the Grundy contract debacle and Cook who's always been big on not overpaying. I'm confident we hold our nerve.
You don't need one but it's also been shown that a genuinely elite superstar ruck can make a significant difference in trying to win one.

It's the tier just below that that imo get overpaid for what they provide. The absolute top liners are justified though imo.

Right now, you’d think Sam would rather come up the M1 than Tom go the other way.

I don't see Geelong as a big threat for Tom personally. They don't have a history of offering massive contracts. Whilst I'm sure they'll make an offer and a big one, I doubt it will be the "blow us out of the water" contract that could pry him loose. Our prospects on field are probably better in the short-medium term.

The mega offer will come from St Kilda, but he'd have to accept playing for a small, non-contending club for the rest of his career and sharing ruck duties with Marshall. Doesn't sound that appealing for an extra 300-400k per year half of which he'll have to pay in tax. Plus, all the post career opportunities he'd likely miss out on.

Sydney are the main ones I'd be worried about. Have a history of offering mega contracts and could see them doing so, particularly if Warner leaves. And unlike St Kilda they are actually an appealing destination.

TDK showed his capabilities last year before injury, he is about to hit his prime and is a key part of any premiership challenge.
He will be well compensated to stay.

Okeefe is promising but is another 2-3 years from a senior level ruckman.

You don't need one but it's also been shown that a genuinely elite superstar ruck can make a significant difference in trying to win one.

It's the tier just below that that imo get overpaid for what they provide. The absolute top liners are justified though imo.
Agree with the top liners being justified but I wouldn't call Tom that, yet. He's only done it in patches so far. The other guys we've offered these contracts to have been AA players. They've had multiple elite seasons, not just patches of great games.

If he plays 20+ games and is AA or close, then it'll an easy to call to offer him a big money long term deal. The issue will be if he has another year, where his peak form is awesome, but he misses a lot of games with injury. In that case the mega offers still will come, but it'll be harder to justify doing the same.

I think in Toms case we are actually better off waiting till halfway through the year to sign him. Gives us a chance to confirm whether he is actually worth the big money it'll cost to keep him. It's not going to affect other offers he gets. They'll be high regardless.

Don't get me wrong. I'm not underselling Tom. I think he's a gun and could be the best ruck in the comp. All I'm saying is he needs to actually be that, if we are going to offering him a 6-7 contract for 1.2-1.3 million a year. We are beyond the stage of being able to offer those type of deals on potential.

I’m very confident TDK will be signed up by mid year.

As for Salary Cap we are in a great spot. We have cleared some mature players and brought in draftees.

With increase in Salary Cap allowance we are all good for TDK and to chase needs over next 2-3 years not to mention we can now trade 2 years ahead for picks.

Cook/Austin have set us up well for next few years before Tassie comes in if we are smart

I’m very confident TDK will be signed up by mid year.

As for Salary Cap we are in a great spot. We have cleared some mature players and brought in draftees.

With increase in Salary Cap allowance we are all good for TDK and to chase needs over next 2-3 years not to mention we can now trade 2 years ahead for picks.

Cook/Austin have set us up well for next few years before Tassie comes in if we are smart
Agree with this, don't see any concerns with our cap, and part of our strategy the last two years is to keep our Tier 1 players.
TDK will be priority signing given the next few years we are good shape to be in mix to challenge, $ will not be the sole focus, if it was he probably would have gone before his current contract.

How we go this season will have a significant impact on TDK negotiations

We need a better season and huge contributions from Tom to demonstrate he is worth paying up for in a premiership contender

Premiership winners/contenders frequently prove that you don’t need a high priced Ruck to sustain success

Someone will be prepared to pay him, will we be prepared to match? I don’t think we need to sell the farm for him

If TDK re-signs, then get ready for months of media stories saying that our salary cap is bursting at the seams!
As long as our cap still has space for a quality small forward if ours continue to disappoint then I couldn't care less how much we have left.

Some our senior players will begin fading and retiring as will their contracts over the next few years. We should be well set up to cycle them out as we see some of our youngsters begin to flourish and demand more cash.

Smith will play round one. He will play in a peripheral role either wing, half back pushing up or half forward pushing up with stints starting on the ball. He will fit in well because we have a big mature onball group.

He's too high grade to just expect he has to sit in the VFL for some time. He also fills a role we need with his smarts and pace.

Round one against a weak Richmond side is ideal, I expect us to go out with plenty of youth then and there.

Agree.

Jagga a lock for round 1.Would love to see Moir and Lord as well.Time will tell.

Cook’s list management template is well documented and Austin has cleared the way for TDK to be offered a competitive contract in line with the club’s strategy.
Silvagni will likely offer outrageous numbers but hopefully TDK and his management understand the bigger picture and the longer term benefits sustained success with Carlton offer going forward into the future …

List Mgmt. 2025 List Management 📃